1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

802.11 n to g or B

Discussion in 'Technology' started by coffeesnob, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. Feb 9, 2011 at 3:22 AM
    #1
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,054
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    Is there any way to change settings to make a wireless N card into a g or b? The reason I am asking this dumb question is because verizon and virgin mobile mifi's are only compatible with the g and b cards. I have N cards, another question is are there any usb type cards where I could diasble the n and plug the other type card in the usb port and connect from it? Any suggestions? Thanks
     
  2. Feb 9, 2011 at 3:26 AM
    #2
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    11,923
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
  3. Feb 9, 2011 at 9:57 AM
    #3
    asphaltpilot

    asphaltpilot CAPS CAPS CAPS!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Member:
    #29194
    Messages:
    618
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    South Florida
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner SR5
    Most N cards are already compatible to transmit in a/b/g. Are you sure it doesn't?
     
  4. Feb 9, 2011 at 10:55 AM
    #4
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    11,923
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    I was thinkin this too. Should be able to go in and change the flava somewhere.
     
  5. Feb 9, 2011 at 3:36 PM
    #5
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,054
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    I don't know how to check, my skills are limited to turn the computer on and hit mozzila, but anyways I am moving to a rural area where my options will be dial up or mobile wifi. I read the system requirements and it says (because it only transmits in 3g) that you need a b or g card in order to receive the signal from the mifi box. I just hate to sign up for the service and then realize I need to buy something else...
     
  6. Feb 9, 2011 at 3:37 PM
    #6
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,054
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    I don't need mine to transmit but to receive.
     
  7. Feb 9, 2011 at 3:50 PM
    #7
    vinnyvavoom

    vinnyvavoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Member:
    #22613
    Messages:
    361
    Gender:
    Male
    CT
    Vehicle:
    09 Black Access Cab 4x2
    Some stuff
    Seriously, an 802.11 N card will transmit and recieve 802.11 A,B,G and N.

    I see however that you mentioned 3g which is an entirely different communication standard than 802.11.

    802.11 is generally used when connecting to a LAN. A wireless home router, which is connected to a DSL or Cable modem will allow for 802.11 connectivity.

    3g or 4g are standards for cell phone connectivity. Iphones, blacberry's or droids employ this communication to connect to cell towers and tranmit or recieve data. Also, you can purchase a 3g/4g card that allows you to connect a laptop or PC to connect to the internet.

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. Feb 9, 2011 at 3:59 PM
    #8
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,054
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    thanks, this is what I have intel wifi link 5100 agn

    if you go to verizon, sprint, or virgin mobile and check out the mifi site, it says you need a 802.11 b or g card because the signal to it is 3 G I guess you receive the internet signal the same way you receive a cell phone signal, right?
     
  9. Feb 11, 2011 at 9:04 AM
    #9
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    It would be automatic. The access point usually controls which standard is transmitted.

    No, you need both. Not getting into details, the basic jist is that your network card transmits a request and the access point receives, which more or less keeps going up the chain until your information is found and comes back your way, at which point the network card receives.

    DON'T ASSUME.
    Many cards leave off 802.11/A. You typically don't have to worry because an A network is very rare. This is because A was expensive,didn't transmit very well, and is incompatible with other formats. If you had an A network, it would be the first I've seen.

    On D-Link cards, their upper end N cards are dropping B support.


    OP, you should be OK with what you have. Worst case is it doesn't work and you drive to the store for something new. Note that it may also be beneficial to check into any DSL service that may operate in the area, which might be a cheaper solution.
     
  10. Feb 11, 2011 at 4:28 PM
    #10
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,054
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    dsl is available but it is on a first come first serve basis. the guy who owns the house i am buying has it and you would think i would get his connection but it doesn't work that way, you have to be put on a waiting list regardless. If he were to cancel his service today and tommorow he changed his mind they would tell him he has to wait until his name came back up
     
  11. Feb 12, 2011 at 5:20 AM
    #11
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,054
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    Anybody use netstat? I need to know if there results are accurate or not..It seems like it might be what little time I have had it downloaded
     
  12. Feb 12, 2011 at 6:14 AM
    #12
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    Yes it was fairly accurate for me- I used it (and a few other programs) for baseline comparisons and network testing and it worked just fine.
     
To Top