1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

96 rough ride

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by carylin, Feb 3, 2012.

1. Feb 3, 2012 at 6:33 AM
    carylin

carylin [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    bob
    raymond, ca.
    Vehicle:
    1996 tacoma stock
    Hi -new guy here. You've probably had this one a lot, but this is my first time. My 96 rides real rough. Heard they all do. Its a stock truck, base model, 2w drive, 4 cyl, short wheel base, man trans, with 140,000 miles. I've tried different shocks to no avail and nothing else. Anything I can do?
    Thanks

2. Feb 3, 2012 at 7:35 AM
    misterdmac

misterdmac Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Doostin
    In or around the truck
    Vehicle:
    '97 2.7L DLX
    Indeed. Welcome to TW! I'm still relatively new myself, but can already say I haven't found a better online community than this one. Top notch.

Most of the time folks around here re-do their suspension with lift in mind. Don't imagine you're going there on a 2wd truck, but you can still improve your situation. Main thing being, shocks control the rebound of your suspension (leaf springs or coil), replacing them will not affect ride height, or do much at all for quality unless paired with a better set of springs.