1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

A few bumps

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by TacoRover, Aug 28, 2016.

1. Aug 28, 2016 at 4:55 PM
    TacoRover

TacoRover [OP] Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma TRD
    Hi everyone,

I'm new to Tacoma World as I've just recently purchased my first (2012) Tacoma TRD v6 automatic. It has 137000km on it (approx 90,000miles).

I have only owned it for less than a month, but test drove a few to get a feel for them.

I'm fairly light on the gas pedal and it seems to favour a heavier foot when accelerating. I feel like I press the pedal in a third of the way and it's sucking more gas but the output isn't there. It does slowly come, but seems to lack responsiveness. Also, mainly when the transmission shifts from first to second, but sometimes in higher gears as well, there is a slight bump/jerk to the truck.

I brought it back to the dealership and let the mechanic drive it to see if he noticed it and he was heavier on the foot than I was including some heavy acceleration from stop to see if there were any issues. Driven the way he did, with heavy accretion, the truck knew what to do and accelerated beautifully! So I didn't question this bump/jerk anymore as he showed me it does what it should and at that point I hadn't studied the fact of a lighter foot seems to be where that thump occurs.

I still feel like it's a bit under powered SOME of the time for no reason. Like I feel I'm pushing on the throttle heavy with not a great amount of response.