1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

a question for an electrician

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Hambone155, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. Mar 14, 2011 at 10:06 PM
    #1
    Hambone155

    Hambone155 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Member:
    #7844
    Messages:
    709
    Gender:
    Male
    omaha
    Vehicle:
    Causing Butthurt is my job
    port and polish intake manifold, supercharger, pulley for charger, lifted, tires, deckplate, (doing full engine build)
    ok i have a 30 amp oven. and a 23 amp 240v

    ok this oven has a stove top on it. if im not using the stove top. is it running 30 amp? or is it running less? i would assume that it uses less because it isnt constantly running.

    if anyone can help with this that would be great. i need to wire it up to a 23 amp generator outlet.
    i just wanna know if i can do it.
     
  2. Mar 14, 2011 at 10:59 PM
    #2
    gooberpeas

    gooberpeas Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Member:
    #35871
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner SR5
    30a seems low for an electric range.....we always pulled a 60a circuit to them...

    I've never seen a 23a circuit...maybe you mean 20a?

    if you hook that range up with a 20a circuit it will trip the breaker when the amp draw exceeds 20 (actually, they can hold up to about 23 or so, but it's not good for them and will eventually ruin the breaker).

    I suggest you get an electrician out to run the proper sized circuit, which will greatly reduce the chance of you burning down the house from undersized wiring/improper breakers.
     
  3. Mar 14, 2011 at 11:17 PM
    #3
    Hambone155

    Hambone155 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Member:
    #7844
    Messages:
    709
    Gender:
    Male
    omaha
    Vehicle:
    Causing Butthurt is my job
    port and polish intake manifold, supercharger, pulley for charger, lifted, tires, deckplate, (doing full engine build)
    well its going to get run off a generator
     
  4. Mar 15, 2011 at 10:48 PM
    #4
    gooberpeas

    gooberpeas Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Member:
    #35871
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner SR5
    well you might be able to run the oven part on 20a.....you can give it a try.
    I guess the worst it can do is trip the breaker on the generator...(make sure you are using at least a 12 guage cord to carry the amperage)
     
  5. Mar 16, 2011 at 1:20 AM
    #5
    surfsupl

    surfsupl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4161
    Messages:
    8,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gregg
    WestCoast
    Vehicle:
    I DONT CARE IF IT'S A RE-POST
    Rear Diff Breather~ 5100's ~Fog Light Anytime~Tint~TRD Seat Covers~Weather Tech's~Pioneer H.U.~Lift~Eibach Springs~LED's......blah...blah...blah
    I've never heard of a 23amp 240v.....I have ran a 50 amp circuit with #6 gauge wire for a range before. Look for a sticker or a plate (on the range )with the specs on it or if you have the instructions that came with it they should have a section with specs as well.
     
  6. Mar 16, 2011 at 1:22 AM
    #6
    surfsupl

    surfsupl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4161
    Messages:
    8,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gregg
    WestCoast
    Vehicle:
    I DONT CARE IF IT'S A RE-POST
    Rear Diff Breather~ 5100's ~Fog Light Anytime~Tint~TRD Seat Covers~Weather Tech's~Pioneer H.U.~Lift~Eibach Springs~LED's......blah...blah...blah
    I agree.........find a licensed electrician^^^^
     
  7. Mar 16, 2011 at 1:40 AM
    #7
    burtonboards32

    burtonboards32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Member:
    #21380
    Messages:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Well, OP is saying he has a 23a generator...possibly 5.5KV? Also if the range is draws 30a I would say run no smaller than a 10/3. #12 is not large enough for 23a feed if you are saying that the generator is running 23a, or approx a 5.5KV.

    I almost forgot, if you have to question any of these things I would say you are NOT an electrician so I'd hire one before you burn down a building and kill someone.
     
To Top