1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

? About Dealership - Service Department

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by 96Taco, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. Jun 10, 2011 at 12:15 PM
    #1
    96Taco

    96Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48827
    Messages:
    763
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    '04 V8 4Runner
    ..stay tuned
    Brought my truck in to the Toyota dealership mechanic. Finally I gave up on not being able to fix my high idle. I have tried EVERYTHING. And sick of throwing money at parts.

    -Anyway they just called me and have been diagnosing for 2 hours (@ $115/hr) and cannot find the problem.

    If a dealership cannot diagnose the problem do you still have to pay for the service work they did?

    Im not rich (hence why don't own a 2011 trd) but they said I might have to leave it in next week for them to tinker with. I don't know if thats as good idea or I should just live with it, or find a new mechanic.
     
  2. Jun 10, 2011 at 12:17 PM
    #2
    ds46000

    ds46000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Member:
    #51206
    Messages:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner TRD Sport
    you should call them and ask them?
     
  3. Jun 10, 2011 at 12:25 PM
    #3
    96Taco

    96Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48827
    Messages:
    763
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    '04 V8 4Runner
    ..stay tuned
    I'm scared.. I want them to give it their best effort before pissing anyone off
     
  4. Jun 10, 2011 at 12:45 PM
    #4
    ds46000

    ds46000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Member:
    #51206
    Messages:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner TRD Sport
    haha i understand...and i wasn't trying to be a smartass w/ that comment, although as i look at it now it may have come off that way.

    i was just saying that it might vary by dealership or whatever...so your best bet is to ask them at the particular one you're going to. other than that i can't help ya much.

    keep in mind though, if they DO charge even if they can't diagnose the problem, then you may NOT want them to give it their best effort first.

    good luck with it. keep us updated on the progress.
     
  5. Jun 10, 2011 at 12:49 PM
    #5
    horwitzs

    horwitzs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Member:
    #57097
    Messages:
    680
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Dayton, WA
    Vehicle:
    TX Pro
    Supercharger, OME lift w/ LR UCAs, running boards, toolbox, extinguisher mount, skidplate, N-Fab light bar, 40" R.I. LED bar, WO seat covers, TRD intake, Weathertech mats and visors, stubby antenna, hood struts, LED interior lighting, Hella Supertones, and other stuff I'm forgetting.
    Typically yes.
    They still spent time working on your truck that could have been spent making money on another task.

    Smaller shops are usually more forgiving. It may just come down to that service manager and if he will give you a break.
     
  6. Jun 10, 2011 at 1:11 PM
    #6
    96Taco

    96Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48827
    Messages:
    763
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    '04 V8 4Runner
    ..stay tuned
    Thanks. Will have to wait and see how forgiving they are I guess. I went thru the FSM and troubleshot everything that could possibley cause high idle. I don't want to have to pay them to do that all over again.. the only possible thing I can think of is somehow the ECU is getting a different voltage due to grounding/wiring so its telling the IAC to be as high as it is. Frustrating as hell ..

    in my minds eye the toyota mechanics are like gods who could sniff a problem us common folk couldnt figure out. Im learning this is not the case
     
  7. Jun 13, 2011 at 9:50 AM
    #7
    96Taco

    96Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48827
    Messages:
    763
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    '04 V8 4Runner
    ..stay tuned
    I guess leaving the mechanic that 12 pack of beer on the in the passenger side seat worked. They only charged an hour for labor and had 2 techs working on it all afternoon. Toyota is back in my good books :)
     
  8. Jun 13, 2011 at 10:22 AM
    #8
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    25,184
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Bumper, CBI Sliders, Icon Coilovers, BudBuilt Skids, aFe Intake, Icon VS Rear Shocks, Timbren Bumpstops, All-Pro UCAs, JDM Steering Wheel, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps
    Toyota has nothing to do with it. Patronize the specific dealer if you have other problems in the future.
     
  9. Jun 14, 2011 at 4:29 AM
    #9
    Rozz

    Rozz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Member:
    #29748
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Sturgis, SD
    Vehicle:
    '98 TRD SR5
    Toytec/Eibach 3" coils, 5100's front shocks, Light Racing UCA's, Allpro 3" leaf springs minus 2 leaves, 7100 SB rear shocks, 15x10 slots, Yokohama Geolanders 32x11.5 tires, 4 runner seats
    Try turning the throttle linkage by hand to see if your idle will come down. I had an unusually high idle on mine, but it would come down if I physically pulled the linkage back. Somehow, my throttle body had warped. I bought a used one on EBAY, which solved the problem.
     
  10. Jun 14, 2011 at 5:11 AM
    #10
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Has the IAC been cleaned yet?
     
  11. Jun 14, 2011 at 8:43 AM
    #11
    96Taco

    96Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48827
    Messages:
    763
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    '04 V8 4Runner
    ..stay tuned
    -Yes throttle body linkage has been turned back by hand. I even took the air hose off the TB inlet to ensure the butterfly was fully closed.
    -Put in Brand new IAC. Also swapped out TB from another one at the wreckers with a different TPS on it. Changed PCV. Changed ECT. Cleaned MAF and tested ok.

    We found that the vaccuum line to the power steering pump when disconnected and blocked off reduces idle to 1000 RPMs. So threw a plug on it. Still have to kick throttle for it to come down. But way better than it was. Guess I can live with it like this. Thanks guys.
     
  12. Jun 14, 2011 at 8:53 AM
    #12
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Did you replace the temperature sensor?
     
  13. Jun 15, 2011 at 10:44 AM
    #13
    96Taco

    96Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48827
    Messages:
    763
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    '04 V8 4Runner
    ..stay tuned
    By tempererature sensor do you mean the coolant temp sensor? Yes I did. Changed that when i flushed my radiator and changed the thermostat.

    Didn't change the one which runs to the interior temp gauge.
     
  14. Jun 15, 2011 at 10:51 AM
    #14
    rbeezy

    rbeezy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Member:
    #43325
    Messages:
    3,328
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma SR5
    get a free diagnostics check at Auto Zone or your local auto parts store, rather than bringing it to the dealership. most likely the dealership did a diagnistic that only took them a few min and charged you 2 hours

    do the free diagnostic and go from there
     
  15. Jun 15, 2011 at 11:11 PM
    #15
    SCSPerformance

    SCSPerformance Stealth Custom Series™ Vendor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57195
    Messages:
    3,975
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Vin
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma
    Camburg LT kit DMZ SUA kit SCS wheels Matte Black custom paint
    have you checked for codes on it? i would also do a thorough check for vacuum leaks. by plugging up that hose and the idle dropping, i would think that you have a few more vacuum leak lurking around.
     
  16. Jun 16, 2011 at 9:37 AM
    #16
    96Taco

    96Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48827
    Messages:
    763
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    '04 V8 4Runner
    ..stay tuned
    Most likely is vac leaks. So hard to find though. Its just a mystery to me why i have to kick the throttle for it to come down in to normal idle range now. Wondering if its TB adjustment or something like that. Might just wind the dashpot all the way out.

    Diagnostic tool would be handy, thats for sure.
     
To Top