1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ABS/Slip Indicator lights wont go off

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Sawick, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. Apr 22, 2011 at 10:08 AM
    #1
    Sawick

    Sawick [OP] Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    JB MDL, NJ
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport
    T4R TRD Pro Wheels, LED lights, Tonneau Cover, ICI running boards, AVS window/bug
    I reciently had my lift installed, and ended up with an unfortunate outcome. The ABS and Slip indicator warning lights have now decided to stay on. Anyone have any ideas why this might be?
    I had 5100s put all around, Toytec TSB AAL, and Eibach coils. (5100s@.85)
    I checked the brake fluid, seems to be fine and I checked all the plugs that run into the brakes to make sure they were snug.


    [​IMG]
     
    HBMurphy likes this.
  2. Apr 22, 2011 at 10:16 AM
    #2
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    You have an 09 meaning you may have damaged the sensors. I found out the hard way about the vsc/abs/trac systems decided to do some odd things to me. Here is what I would suggest. Take your truck in to a dealer and ask them to do the alignment and also make sure you request to have your yaw and vsc sensors reset. This is required when toyota does alignment on the newer trucks but sometimes the mechanics forget. It does not cost anything extra. When they reset the system they basically just 0 out the values for each sensor. If a sensor was messed up it will register as error or will register as un-readable. If its error then they can just reset and your good to go. If its un-readable it means you damaged it and it will need to be replaced. The reason I suggest this is it avoids you having to go and pay them to do tons and tons of testing when this will either be a fix or tell them right away the actual problem. I faced weeks of dealership visits to fix a similar problem and that was that my computer just decided to take a vacation.

    The other thing I would try is taking out your battery for a night and re-installing the next day.
     
  3. Apr 22, 2011 at 10:37 AM
    #3
    Sawick

    Sawick [OP] Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    JB MDL, NJ
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport
    T4R TRD Pro Wheels, LED lights, Tonneau Cover, ICI running boards, AVS window/bug
    Well, I guess its possible they damaged one of the sensors when they installed the lift. I'm not positive what exactly I'm looking for when we are talking about the sensors though.

    Is getting this checked something that I should do immediately, or can this wait a bit? (I know.. the lights are there for a reason.......)
     
  4. Apr 22, 2011 at 10:42 AM
    #4
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    Who did the lift?

    Did you unplug the abs/vsc/trac sensor turn the car off, then on, then off and re-plug it in?

    Are you getting any kind of error when shifting in to 4-lo and back out?
     
  5. Apr 22, 2011 at 10:59 AM
    #5
    Sawick

    Sawick [OP] Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    JB MDL, NJ
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport
    T4R TRD Pro Wheels, LED lights, Tonneau Cover, ICI running boards, AVS window/bug
    R&D Custom Exhaust did the lift.
    I did not unplug any of the wires from the brakes, and I do not believe they did either.
    No problems when shifting to either 4H or 4L (L while in neutral anyhow)
     
  6. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:00 AM
    #6
    Sawick

    Sawick [OP] Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    JB MDL, NJ
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport
    T4R TRD Pro Wheels, LED lights, Tonneau Cover, ICI running boards, AVS window/bug
  7. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:03 AM
    #7
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    Try pulling the vsc/abs/trac plug from your master cyl and turn the truck on. You should have all the light turned on. Then shut your truck off and plug it back it. If nothing is wrong then your truck will have all the lights off again. If the sensor is messed up or something is wrong they will stay on. Then your going to want to have the numbers 0'd out.

    As far as getting it fixed, if your abs is out just be aware that your running without abs and may be only just one tire that is the issue. This could cause somesafety problems so I would be cautious. And when you do a lift you have to do alignment anyways so get it done.
     
  8. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:12 AM
    #8
    Sawick

    Sawick [OP] Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    JB MDL, NJ
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport
    T4R TRD Pro Wheels, LED lights, Tonneau Cover, ICI running boards, AVS window/bug

    The vsc/abs/trac plug I'm looking for is the plug/wires that run into each breaking system correct?
     
  9. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:14 AM
    #9
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
  10. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:15 AM
    #10
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    [​IMG]

    Pull this and start truck
     
  11. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:16 AM
    #11
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    It should then look like this

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:18 AM
    #12
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    Turn truck off. plug back in. Start truck. Should look like this

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:45 AM
    #13
    Sawick

    Sawick [OP] Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    JB MDL, NJ
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport
    T4R TRD Pro Wheels, LED lights, Tonneau Cover, ICI running boards, AVS window/bug
    I dont quite have the same set up as you pictured, but I unplugged the wire shown and tried it. (break reservoir) No luck unfortunately
    I also unplugged the Battery for about a minute, and it also didnt help. Probably need to unplug it for a bit longer if I wanted that to help though I would imagine.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:47 AM
    #14
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    ^ So I would say at this point is sounds like your going to need to have them calibrate your sensors and if in the process they throw codes then you know what happened. I would prob be on the shop that did this though because they must have done some damage somehow. Make them pay for it
     
  15. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:58 AM
    #15
    Sawick

    Sawick [OP] Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    JB MDL, NJ
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport
    T4R TRD Pro Wheels, LED lights, Tonneau Cover, ICI running boards, AVS window/bug
    Thanks for your help, hopefully this doesn't turn out to be an epic battle to fix....
     
  16. Apr 21, 2012 at 3:36 PM
    #16
    1raptor

    1raptor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Member:
    #52960
    Messages:
    308
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada
    Vehicle:
    wife has sport I have offroad
    stereo
    So did you ever get this fixed???
     
  17. Sep 27, 2015 at 1:23 PM
    #17
    vrod671

    vrod671 The Okayest Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Member:
    #91817
    Messages:
    10,492
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012 Regular Cab
    Stock
    i got the same problem now..
     
  18. Aug 1, 2016 at 2:52 PM
    #18
    Mcdees84

    Mcdees84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Member:
    #131922
    Messages:
    749
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    San Diego (originally from FL)
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB-TRD O/R
    Bump to the OP @Sawick. Anyone get this fixed yet? I have the same problem as well.
     
  19. Dec 8, 2016 at 12:08 PM
    #19
    mreen428

    mreen428 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Member:
    #144275
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shmatty
    Queens, NY
    Vehicle:
    11 DCSB TRD Spt
    I got same lift setup. No warning lights. Couldn't get alignment after bc my lower control arms were seized. Got them replaced today and slip indicator came on. Could an alignment fix this or the sensor has to be reset?
     
  20. Dec 8, 2016 at 1:43 PM
    #20
    Mcdees84

    Mcdees84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Member:
    #131922
    Messages:
    749
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    San Diego (originally from FL)
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB-TRD O/R
    You may have to do a zero point calibration after the alignment. I would also get underneath and check the abs wires. That is what ended up being my problem. The wire runs from the breaks, up into the hood where it connects to another wire. That's where mine pulled out. I just resoldered the wire and did a recalibration and it fixed the problem.
     
    mreen428 likes this.
To Top