1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Add after market inverter under console? help pls

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by togah, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. Apr 11, 2010 at 10:16 PM
    #1
    togah

    togah [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Member:
    #33319
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    garry
    corpus christi tx
    Vehicle:
    2007 tacoma prerunner
    I want to add an after market non toyota inverter under my console....I read a post about the wiring being installed under the console from the factory. how do i identify these leads/wires. i have a non 4wd prerunner. I just want to add a small 400/800 watt unit to run some computer equipt. and possible some small ac tools/tv. i like the idea of having the unit installed out of sight...but have reservations on cooling? my unit has one small fan does anyone have any issues/problems after doing an install of this type? plan to use 6 ga wire off the battery direct to inverter unless the truck has a tie on point for inverter power....add a couple plugs inside the cab and one in the bed. need any help/thought you have thanks!!
     
  2. Apr 11, 2010 at 10:24 PM
    #2
    GWM

    GWM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Member:
    #33097
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Glenn
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Off-Road SR5 4x4
    great idea! i cant help you, but... subscribed!
     
  3. Apr 11, 2010 at 10:28 PM
    #3
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    Search the forums. I recall seeing a thread from someone that installed an 800 Watt one under the passenger seat. They wrote it up in a DIY if I recall...

    As for attempting to use the factory wiring harness for an aftermarket inverter... that sounds more complex then perhaps its worth.
     
  4. Apr 12, 2010 at 6:26 AM
    #4
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,063
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Gotta agree with this. You're talking about pulling 800W from the electrical system. Would you run an 800W amp off of a factory 14-16 guage power wire? I would hope not.

    If I were doing this, I would run a separate power wire from the battery, 4-8 guage, with a remote turn on lead. Then I would mount it to the back wall somewhere, preferably, or under a seat, for best cooling. Remember 800W is going to generate a fair amount of heat.
     
  5. Apr 12, 2010 at 10:04 AM
    #5
    DavidT

    DavidT D

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32301
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma x-runner
  6. Apr 12, 2010 at 10:04 AM
    #6
    togah

    togah [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Member:
    #33319
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    garry
    corpus christi tx
    Vehicle:
    2007 tacoma prerunner
    i plan to run heavy wire to the inverter due to the draw.....smaller wires will cover the ac. would like to see a picture of the factory unit and it mountings as a starting point....wonder how it is vented? safety is a major issue....i sure dont like sparks.....
     
  7. Apr 12, 2010 at 10:18 AM
    #7
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    The factory inverter has two connectors. One is for logic 0n/off, and reports the condition of the transmission shifter position. The other connector has two wires and supplies the necessary current to power the unit. The harness that supplies the current is not hot all the time, only when the unit is activated via the switch.

    That is why I suggest you do not use those harnesses at all.

    Here is what the factory inverter looks like:
    [​IMG]

    Inverter is on the left side of this photo. Auto shifter assembly on the right.
    [​IMG]
    The factory inverter has a fan in the front. The blue wire is +12V, the black/white is ground. Again, the blue wire only has current when the unit has been activated via switch. I verified this with a multimeter.
    [​IMG]

    The factory inverter is vented in the back. (This image is upside down, the auto shifter is at the bottom of the picture.)

    [​IMG]

    The back of the console has horizontal slits which form a vent. This is where the heated air from the inverter can escape into the cabin.

    [​IMG]

    All these pictures were from when I performed the mod to add AC outlets and bring DC to the rear of my double cab.

    [​IMG]
     
    tcBob likes this.
  8. Apr 12, 2010 at 11:17 AM
    #8
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    Here is picture from Oswego's album which shows the inverter:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Apr 13, 2010 at 12:28 AM
    #9
    togah

    togah [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Member:
    #33319
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    garry
    corpus christi tx
    Vehicle:
    2007 tacoma prerunner
    Thanks Crom....great info !! i looked at harbor freight today they have a set of 4 ga inverter leads ....only 6 ft so i'll make my own. ....i have a idea (unless someone has issues or ??) i want to mount inverter under the hood so leads are short....add some type filter pads over the fan intake to keep dust etc out and run ac wiring inside cab and to bed of truck. only thing that come up is the heat problem?? ideas or thoughts?? at this point thinking of adding some watts might move up to a 1000-2000 watt unit
     
  10. Apr 13, 2010 at 9:46 AM
    #10
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    Putting an inverter under the hood might be a bit dicey, but it could be done. A good spot for it would be on the passenger side above the wheel well area there is lots of room.

    If I were going to do that I would seal every body seam of the inverter with silicon to make it air tight and install quality filters front and rear so when it does move air, dust and debris does not kill it.

    Heat will be a major concern if you're using the unit on hot days. My advice on that is to read the operating specifications for the aftermarket inverter. Let's say that it has a maximum operating temperature of 140°F. Well you could determine how hot it will be under your hood given the hottest day of the year.

    If you're within tolerance it will live. If you're borderline or over, don't expect your inverter to live long.

    EDIT: I forgot about water. Haha. Don't put it under the hood. Water from rain will kill it first.

    I see you have a double cab. Why not just put it behind one of the seats back there? It would live the longest inside the cab.
     
  11. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:57 AM
    #11
    testedone

    testedone Speak English..it's America

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Member:
    #20476
    Messages:
    816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    U.S.A.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Weathertec Mats, Pioneer AVIC-X930BT, Pioneer GEX-P920XM (SAT), Pioneer Premier TS-D602P 6.2, Blaupunkt THb 200A Sub, Trimmed Mud Flaps, BF Goodrich AT/KO 285/70/17 ... Toytec Ultimate Lift, Tuffy Bed Box, A.R.E. Cover, Pop-n-Lock, TRD Exhaust
    Necropost...

    Crom.. I am thinking of running my factory harness from the bed back to the location you have in the pictures. I have not taken it apart yet just wondering how bad it would be, I would use the factory plug with cover from the bed in the cab..
     
  12. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:35 PM
    #12
    payrow

    payrow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20858
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pete
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Off Road
    Hey Crom, I would like to add a few 110V in cab outlets, like you did, but I am not sure about how to wire them into the existing inverter. Can you tell me which wires you used and how you connected them into the existing 110V out? I would appreciate any help. :)
     
  13. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:37 PM
    #13
    S.B.

    S.B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Member:
    #18838
    Messages:
    3,566
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    SD, CA Now in Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco 4x4 TRD OffRoad Rugged Trail
    SAW 2.0s, Wheeler's 3-leaf AAL, On Board Air, 255/85/16 Cooper Discover S/T, CBI Sliders, Built right UCAs, 6" Harbor Freight Lights (converted to HIDs), KC Slim Lights.
    I put a cobra 800W under my passenger seat. Under the carpet and cut the carpet for venting.
     
  14. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:49 PM
    #14
    SoCalR

    SoCalR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Member:
    #27311
    Messages:
    301
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rand
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Sport PreRunner
  15. Oct 5, 2010 at 8:29 PM
    #15
    testedone

    testedone Speak English..it's America

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Member:
    #20476
    Messages:
    816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    U.S.A.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Weathertec Mats, Pioneer AVIC-X930BT, Pioneer GEX-P920XM (SAT), Pioneer Premier TS-D602P 6.2, Blaupunkt THb 200A Sub, Trimmed Mud Flaps, BF Goodrich AT/KO 285/70/17 ... Toytec Ultimate Lift, Tuffy Bed Box, A.R.E. Cover, Pop-n-Lock, TRD Exhaust
    Thanks, i went a different direction.


    • I used the factory receptacle from the bed (I have tuffy boxes in there so the factory outlet and box were in the attic.
    • I cut the factory cable from under the bed & reused it in the center console.
    • Spliced the factory harness from under the bed into the connector on the inverter.
    • Made a template and dremeled the rear of the center console to fit the factory outlet
    It worked out great and took about 1 hour to do. Works fine and now I have an outlet in my cab, never saw the use (I know why they did it) of one in the bed..

    One of the benefits of reusing the factory outlet is that it has a cover over it so no spills from the cup holders above can get in..
     
  16. Oct 5, 2010 at 10:11 PM
    #16
    payrow

    payrow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20858
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pete
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Off Road
To Top