1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Add Inverter to Stock Location

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by lsocoee, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. Oct 7, 2008 at 9:14 AM
    #1
    lsocoee

    lsocoee [OP] My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    Does anyone know of an inverter that fits in the stock location? I'd rather not install the inverter under the seat.

    I want to say that it was an 800 watt Coleman, but I can't seem to find that anywhere.
     
  2. Oct 7, 2008 at 12:05 PM
    #2
    longbow

    longbow I see you now..................

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Member:
    #7586
    Messages:
    4,041
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma Silver Mica TRD 4 Door
    Toy-tec Coil over lift, Eibach 700 lb springs, Sway bar relocate, Total Chaos UCA's, Moto metal wheels, BFG mudterrians, HID, custom 3 piece grill, Highlift jack w/custom mount, Highlift jack cover, bed matt, de-badged 100%, storage box lock mod, using defrost w/o AC mod, short antenna mod, horn re-locate, Tire Gate flat spare tire mount, engine cover painted, bed light (1) mod, wreck bar carrier, Blue Sea 5026 fuse block, center console outlet, flash light mod, Blue Sea inline fuse, Shrockworks sliders, All-Pro front bumper, Piaa 510 driving lights, Warn shackles front, Kennesaw rear bumper, "Tag Boltz" plate lights, Warn shackles rear, Warn M8000 winch, devil horns, BHLM, weathech liners front and rear.....T.W. sticker of course. Custom Sock bed decal for Michele
    I may be off base on this, but are you looking for the outlet in the bed of the truck?

    I did locate the Coleman 800 watt inverter (has PMP in title). It looks some what large in the pic's that why I asked the other question.

    I also did some looking at my truck, since I have the double cab. Under the seat at the jack location. Now I did not remove the plastic liner in the storage compartment, but I believe there is a way to do a mod their, or on the other side. Matter of fact I may do one, when the time comes and I find a inverter.

    Like I said, I have the idea in my head, just the fact of doing it.
     
  3. Oct 7, 2008 at 12:17 PM
    #3
    lsocoee

    lsocoee [OP] My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    Thanks. I was referring to the stock inverter. It is located in the center console. Inverters generate a lot of heat so they cannot be enclosed like under the back seats or in the storage area behind the back seats. I'd like to find an inverter that fits in the vented stock location, but I may end up installing it under one of the front seats.
     
  4. Oct 7, 2008 at 12:34 PM
    #4
    longbow

    longbow I see you now..................

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Member:
    #7586
    Messages:
    4,041
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma Silver Mica TRD 4 Door
    Toy-tec Coil over lift, Eibach 700 lb springs, Sway bar relocate, Total Chaos UCA's, Moto metal wheels, BFG mudterrians, HID, custom 3 piece grill, Highlift jack w/custom mount, Highlift jack cover, bed matt, de-badged 100%, storage box lock mod, using defrost w/o AC mod, short antenna mod, horn re-locate, Tire Gate flat spare tire mount, engine cover painted, bed light (1) mod, wreck bar carrier, Blue Sea 5026 fuse block, center console outlet, flash light mod, Blue Sea inline fuse, Shrockworks sliders, All-Pro front bumper, Piaa 510 driving lights, Warn shackles front, Kennesaw rear bumper, "Tag Boltz" plate lights, Warn shackles rear, Warn M8000 winch, devil horns, BHLM, weathech liners front and rear.....T.W. sticker of course. Custom Sock bed decal for Michele
    Now thats a new one for me, to be honest this is the first time I have heard of it, and still have not seen it.

    Please keep me updated if you get any response to the post. I would like to see it before and after install.

    Thanks also for the update on the heat issue, heck fire, with frying a few things already I don't want to toast anything else.
     
  5. Oct 7, 2008 at 1:59 PM
    #5
    RoyB

    RoyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Member:
    #9708
    Messages:
    1,646
    Gender:
    Male
    Chicago burbs
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD DC Sport
    is the outlet wiring made to handle twice the load? I would guess probably not. 3 amps vs 6 amps. Pretty easy to change though. Although running a table saw or hammer drill out of the bed of the truck would be pretty sweet....I may have to look into this.
     
  6. Oct 7, 2008 at 2:06 PM
    #6
    lsocoee

    lsocoee [OP] My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I don't have any current wiring. I would have to run everything else myself. I am planning on installing an outdoor outlet box in the cubby hole.
     
  7. Oct 7, 2008 at 2:23 PM
    #7
    lsocoee

    lsocoee [OP] My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    prepare to spend get some wire as big around as that coke can. :p
     
  8. Oct 7, 2008 at 2:24 PM
    #8
    RoyB

    RoyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Member:
    #9708
    Messages:
    1,646
    Gender:
    Male
    Chicago burbs
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD DC Sport
    wow, that sucker is huge. make sure you run atleast #12 awg wire for it :) you plug a microwave and fridge into that damn thing! how much was it?
     
  9. Oct 7, 2008 at 2:44 PM
    #9
    Zebra

    Zebra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Member:
    #3981
    Messages:
    241
    Gender:
    Male
    Millington, TN
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma 2.7L 4x2 Reg. Cab 5-speed
    Volant ram air and CAI setup, Fumoto oil drain valve, Pioneer DEH-3900MP

    i have a vector 1200 watt and i run 8 ga
     
  10. Oct 7, 2008 at 3:44 PM
    #10
    RoyB

    RoyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Member:
    #9708
    Messages:
    1,646
    Gender:
    Male
    Chicago burbs
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD DC Sport
    well, to feed the unit, i have no idea. you have to read the specs. Since it's drawing on 12 volts dc, you will need a pretty big wire- On the 110/120v side, number 12s for the 20 amp feed. 14s are good for 15 amps ;)
     
  11. Oct 7, 2008 at 3:59 PM
    #11
    scottiem

    scottiem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6846
    Messages:
    61
    Oklahoma City
    Vehicle:
    '07 PreRunner TRD Sport
    Here's a link to a thread on TN website where PB put a inverter in with plugs inside the cab. http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/showthread.php?t=87182
     
  12. May 23, 2009 at 10:37 PM
    #12
    DanGer

    DanGer Avatar approved by 98tacomav6

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Member:
    #7155
    Messages:
    5,494
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Virginia & Blacksburg
    Vehicle:
    07 Base 4Cyl 4x4 Manual
    White Head Light mod, White shorty antennae, Doug Thorley Long Tube headers, AFE Drop in air filter, Secondary Air Filter Removed,
    Sorry for the revival, but is the TN thread replacing the factory inverter? I want to put one in my base model
     
  13. May 24, 2009 at 2:00 AM
    #13
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    They put it under the seat so no...

    The factory inverter isn't really useless, it's just useless unless you're in park lol... I'd like to run a bigger inverter with some outlets in the cab.... been toying with the idea of just having the inverter in the engine bay since there's so much ungodly room in there. Only thing I'd be slightly worried about is having to come up with some type of splash guard...
     
To Top