1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

add on lights with high beams

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by feltsphoto, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. Sep 5, 2011 at 12:51 PM
    #1
    feltsphoto

    feltsphoto [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Member:
    #61636
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    NKY
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD off road pkg 4x4
    As of now... completely stock, but hopefully not for long
    I looked, but couldn't find any info on this. Can someone tell me how to link up my hella driving lights to come on when I hit my high beams?
     
  2. Sep 5, 2011 at 1:18 PM
    #2
    Murman

    Murman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Member:
    #62369
    Messages:
    758
    Gender:
    Male
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prerunner SR5 Access Cab 4cyl auto
    Undercover hard tonneau WeatherTech Floor Liners
    just tap the switch wire on your relay to one of the high beam light wires. I'm sure someone here will post a link with photos or something.
     
  3. Sep 5, 2011 at 1:29 PM
    #3
    YFZ450MOE

    YFZ450MOE When you blow off steam you get an eyepatch

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Member:
    #51261
    Messages:
    1,271
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Moe
    Auburn, WA / Roseburg, OR
    Vehicle:
    09 white DCSB TRD (it's getting there)
    Icon Extended Travel 2.5" Coil Overs All-Pro U-Bolt Flip Kit Bilstien Rear Shocks Fabtech Add-a-Leaf Icon Upper Control Arms All-Pro Rear Bumper w/ Wrap Arounds & Hitch with custom LED plate light BHLM and Morimoto III D2S retrofit Satoshi Grill 2 Hella Black Magics behind Grill Bestop Supertop BAMF sliders
    I would be a litle concerned with just "tapping in" to the stock lights. Those lights you are puting on are going to be pulling a lot of power and the stock wires might not be able to handle the load for all those lights you wanna run. I would run seperate power from the battery then tie that into your "highbeam" relay switch. Safer and your not going to melt your stock wiring harness from the inside.
     
  4. Sep 5, 2011 at 1:32 PM
    #4
    elblako91

    elblako91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34937
    Messages:
    504
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Lubbock/Houston/Katy
    Vehicle:
    1992 Toyo Pickup
    Try this

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Sep 5, 2011 at 1:32 PM
    #5
    4Wheelin4Banger

    4Wheelin4Banger Longtime Toyman

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Member:
    #58306
    Messages:
    6,711
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Ferntucky, NV Halfway between Reno & Falabama
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 Access Cab Silver State Edition
    3" OME lift 885s & Dakars riding on 33" KM2s Click the sig pic to see the build thread .
    This mod is for fogs but just tap the high beam wire instead of the running lights. Connect to pin 86 on relay.
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lighting/170129-auto-oem-fogs-2nd-gen-tacos-without-fogs.html

    Not a problem because you are just using it for the relay switch not drawing power for the lights
     
  6. Sep 5, 2011 at 1:34 PM
    #6
    elblako91

    elblako91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34937
    Messages:
    504
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Lubbock/Houston/Katy
    Vehicle:
    1992 Toyo Pickup
    From your switch you have one that goes to your ground (blue) another wire that goes to your relay (yellow wire) and a green wire that you will want to tap into the positive (+) wire that goes to you high beams. Use a volt meter to test which wire is your positive high beam and tap the green wire coming from your switch into it. Good luck

    -Blake
     
  7. Sep 5, 2011 at 1:40 PM
    #7
    feltsphoto

    feltsphoto [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Member:
    #61636
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    NKY
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD off road pkg 4x4
    As of now... completely stock, but hopefully not for long
    Thank you guys! Much appreciated!
     
  8. Sep 5, 2011 at 1:42 PM
    #8
    David K

    David K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18969
    Messages:
    9,946
    Gender:
    Male
    San Marcos, Alta California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 2 Hella 4000 HID, 1 Cibie Halogen. Bilstein 5100s Ride Rite Air Bags
    You should never ever flash an oncoming motorist if they don't lower their lights... with the Hellas on too... Expect a heavy fine from la policia!
     
  9. Sep 9, 2011 at 4:21 PM
    #9
    feltsphoto

    feltsphoto [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Member:
    #61636
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    NKY
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD off road pkg 4x4
    As of now... completely stock, but hopefully not for long
    OKAY, finally got my lights and I think I understand how to do this, BUT where the heck is the connection board at? under the hood or behind the dash? I looked under the hood in the connection box, but didn't see this... I apologize in advance for being green and totally ignorant in this department.
     
  10. Dec 12, 2012 at 11:03 AM
    #10
    AllanJackson

    AllanJackson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Member:
    #92927
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Allan
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma X-Runner
    Bull Bar, KC off road lights
    i have searched all over the internet and no one gives a straight answer. i went onto paint and made a quick sketch of my circuit for my KC off road lights. for the switch on the relay, i attempted to hook it to the ground of the high beams, but the relay flips and my off road lights are on regardless if my headlights are on, headlights are off, and if my car is off; the off road lights never turn off so instead i spliced it into the low beams of the 12v power, not the ground. That way, the lights come on with my high beams and turn themselves off when i flip to the low beams. The lights also stay on with parking lights and if my headlights are off completely.. That's why i added the switch under my dash. Also, if my switch is on and my car is off, the lights will stay on so i thought about hooking something to the acc power of either the cig outlet or radio so it would only activate the switch with the car on. There has to be an easier way i just can't figure it out. Any advice?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Dec 12, 2012 at 11:06 AM
    #11
    AllanJackson

    AllanJackson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Member:
    #92927
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Allan
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma X-Runner
    Bull Bar, KC off road lights
    The haven't done what is in red, just need to know everyone's input on it. Bottom line is, how can i make it simpler? All i want, is it to turn on with my high beams.
     
  12. Dec 12, 2012 at 11:11 AM
    #12
    AllanJackson

    AllanJackson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Member:
    #92927
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Allan
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma X-Runner
    Bull Bar, KC off road lights
    i just realized i left my switch out. Thanks in advance for any help![​IMG]
     
  13. Dec 12, 2012 at 1:55 PM
    #13
    vicali

    vicali tirekicker

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    242
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2005 TRD Sport 1E7
    Caribe shows you how to do it, Pugga give you a slightly different alternative.
    Both are excellent ways to set up driving lights, your diagram isn't.

    I used the add-a-fuse to get the highbeam switched power input> then through the switch in the cab> back to 86 on the relay. 85 out to ground (used the mounting bolt of the relay). You should be able to hear the relay click now when you turn on your highbeams.

    Then to power the lights: Battery(+) to inline fuse to 30 on the relay. From 87 out to your lights. Ground the lights and you're ready to go out and aim them.
     
  14. Dec 12, 2012 at 2:02 PM
    #14
    StickShifty

    StickShifty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Member:
    #68267
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC 4WD 6SPD
    make sure the stock relay is capable of controlling the amperage of the stock high beams and the off road lights. even if you get the power from the battery or from somewhere else your still pushing more amps thru the relay.
     
  15. Dec 12, 2012 at 4:22 PM
    #15
    AllanJackson

    AllanJackson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Member:
    #92927
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Allan
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma X-Runner
    Bull Bar, KC off road lights
    Thanks! Just the forum I was looking for!
     
To Top