1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Adding a sub w/ new amp to another amp?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by CUtigerfan, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. Dec 8, 2010 at 1:24 PM
    #1
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    EDIT: Bumping old thread. New question posed in post 13. Please ignore red post and link below this. I am only leaving it to alleviate confusion for posts 3-12.

    OK guys I recently put new speakers in my doors and a small 2 channel Boss amp to power them. For Christmas I was wanting to add a sub b/c my systems hurting bad for some bass. I found this box with the sub and amp included. I'm sure some of you will say its crap but its really all i can afford so if it will thump ok and save my speakers I'll live. Problem is i'm not sure how to add this to what I've got now. I've heard about distributor blocks but don't know anything about them.

    Can somebody tell me how to do this and what I need?

    http://www.hifisoundconnection.com/Shop/Control/Product/fp/vpid/7737303/vpcsid/11568821/SFV/30046?utm_source=google&utm_medium=base&utm_campaign=GoogleBaseFeed
     
  2. Dec 8, 2010 at 3:45 PM
    #2
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
  3. Dec 9, 2010 at 9:42 AM
    #3
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    Depending on what size wire you used for your Boss amp you could add a distribution block (takes one wire in and splits it to 2 wires out) however since it looks like that package already comes with a wiring kit for the amp you could save the dough on the distro block and just run a second wire all the way back to the battery like you did with the first amp. BTW, if that wiring kit doesn't come with an RCA interconnect cable you will need one of those and be sure to fuse the second power wire at the battery.
     
  4. Dec 9, 2010 at 11:26 AM
    #4
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    What do I plug the subs RCA cables into? I've already got an RCA cable running from my headunit to the sub I have now. There aren't enough plugs to hook 2 sets RCA cables to my headunit are there?
     
  5. Dec 9, 2010 at 11:32 AM
    #5
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    Can you post a link to the specs for your exact headunit?
     
  6. Dec 9, 2010 at 1:30 PM
    #6
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
  7. Dec 9, 2010 at 4:14 PM
    #7
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    I found the installation manual online and it appears this unit has a single RCA output that can be switched to a sub output. If this is in fact the case you have a few possible options....

    First is to check the Boss amp to see if it has a through RCA output. If so you can connect the second amp to the output however you won't have separate control of the sub unless the second amp comes with a remote level control knob (if not you could add an inline bass remote)

    If the Boss amp does not have a through output you will need to use RCA Y connectors to tap into the signal from the RCA going into the Boss amp (you would also need the inline remote to control the sub level if the new amp doesn't have one)

    Another option if the headunit does in fact only have one output is to use a line out converter to the Boss amp for the front speakers and wire the single output from the deck to the sub amp. This will allow you to have fader capability as well as control of the sub level directly from the headunit (you won't need to add a remote bass knob)
     
  8. Dec 10, 2010 at 12:49 AM
    #8
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    OK i think i want to do the line out converter. So with that method would bass be blocked from the coaxials in the door if I used the subwoofer mode on the headunit? I guess thats what I'm trying to achieve. If I can't turn the base off on the door speakers I might as well not add a sub b/c i still won't be able to turn the volume up without it sounding like crap

    Edit: I found some bass blockers for $15 if the headunit won't.
     
  9. Dec 10, 2010 at 1:14 AM
    #9
    Taco4Fish

    Taco4Fish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Member:
    #46977
    Messages:
    162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    j
    The bass going to your door speakers will be blocked from the setting on your deck by, whatever you set your HPF "high pass filter" to I'd set it at 80-100hz. This means your deck will cut out any lower frequencies going to your doors.

    For wiring in your sub you can get a "maxxlink" which will let you run the one rca from your deck into the maxlink then it will have many outputs where you can hook up another rca and run it to your sub amp.

    looks like-

    Deck rca----->maxlink----->4chnl amp & Sub amp


    pretty much to keep bass from going to the door speakers set the HPF on the amp OR deck to about 80-100hz, I wouldnt suggest going lower your sub should be playing those hz
     
  10. Dec 10, 2010 at 6:58 AM
    #10
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    Taco, his head unit only has 1 set of RCA outs. Even if it does have HPF he can't use it or it will block the signal he would use for sub. To set HPF at all, he needs to use the HPF on his door speaker amplifier if it has one. It is likely to only have LPF though, if it does have anything.

    This is all assuming he can use RCA inputs for this sub package too. I took a look at what he is getting and I saw no mention of RCA inputs. All I saw was a harness for speaker level inputs. I can't find a manual on it to see if it has anything else.

    This being the case, it would be smart to just wait until he gets it so he can see what his options are. There's no point in sending him to the store to get adapters and wire until we know for sure he can use them.
     
  11. Dec 10, 2010 at 9:20 AM
    #11
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    "Typically" when a headunit has a subwoofer output it will low pass the sub and high pass the front channels however as mentioned in this case it's best not to assume anything since the specs given are not very detailed. In any case if it does not have a high pass filter on the deck or Boss amp the bass blockers will be fine.

    I didn't notice until now that they don't even mention what kind of amp it is much less give any real specs for it so I agree to not "assume" it even has RCA input and wait until you get it (or call and ask them).

    From what I understand the Maxxlink is designed to bridge numerous "mono" amps together combining all that power into one "large amp" so I'm not sure how it would help :confused: (it also costs more than this entire package)
     
  12. Dec 10, 2010 at 11:18 AM
    #12
    Taco4Fish

    Taco4Fish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Member:
    #46977
    Messages:
    162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    j
    sell everything you got and get a new deck pioneer deh-4200 is a very good deck about $200 3sets rca out.
     
  13. Oct 18, 2011 at 4:42 PM
    #13
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    Well I'm bumping an old thread. I still want base and have come to the conclusion that for my truck a custom box is needed. Here's the link for a vehicle specific box for 2 10" subs.
    http://www.halfpricecaraudio.com/Toyota-Tacoma-Regular-Cab-1995-2004-Dual-10-Subwoofer-Enclosure-Black.htm

    Problem discussed in this thread still exists. I need advice on subs and an amp to buy and a way to connect said amp to what I have now. Just to clarify is there a set of RCA cables that splits into 2 or an adapter that has plug ins for 2 sets of cables to run out the back of the head unit? Could those be bought at Radio Shack? My logic for that is that I can simply tune the amp for the subs to control my bass and pull off my door panels and install some inline bass blockers for the coaxials in the door.

    I could pick out subs and and amp myself but I want opinions from guys who have researched audio much more than I have and have personal experience with brands. Mounting depth for the box is in the link and I am looking to spend less than 200 for subs and amp together (150 or so would be ideal). I would buy a used amp if someone has one.
     
  14. Oct 18, 2011 at 4:52 PM
    #14
    lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
  15. Oct 18, 2011 at 5:18 PM
    #15
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
  16. Oct 18, 2011 at 7:15 PM
    #16
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
  17. Oct 18, 2011 at 7:39 PM
    #17
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    Hopefully this will get a response eventually. What about this? I just need an amp for about $100 to match up with it. Any suggestions?

    http://www.hifisoundconnection.com/Shop/Control/Product/fp/vpid/8588516/vpcsid/14259589/SFV/30046

    Edit: Found this amp that has the same RMS #s. Would this be a better setup than the Kenwood combo? Or maybe more reliable? I know none of the setups I've suggested are going to be that great. I just need some bass to even out my components

    http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_22133_Lanzar-MXA234.html
     
  18. Oct 19, 2011 at 4:27 AM
    #18
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    1. Yes, cables are available. RS should carry them.
    2. Make sure the amp has a low pass filter in order to send the correct frequencies to the sub.

    3. Make sure the subs recommended air space matches the box.
    4. buy something like this rather than the Lanzar you linked: http://6ave.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=PIOGMD7500M
     
  19. Oct 19, 2011 at 8:43 AM
    #19
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    I'm open to suggestions. The Lanzar was just the first amp I found that put out 150w RMS on 2 channels. That Pioneer you posted is only 1 channel.
     
  20. Oct 19, 2011 at 8:58 AM
    #20
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    You only need 1 channel to power both subs in mono so that amp mattg posted would be good IMO. :)
     
To Top