1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Adding cruise control to 2010.

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by bigvw, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Aug 5, 2010 at 5:16 PM
    #1
    bigvw

    bigvw [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Member:
    #41204
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    St. Louis
    Vehicle:
    2010 silver
    Hello all I still love my new tacoma but I sit on this site and read read read. Well I was reading about someone adding cruise to the gen2 taco. Well it seems toyota changed it so we can not add cruise so easy to the new tacos. My questions is has any one on this forum added the cruise to the 09 or 10 taco. It looks crazy I just downloaded and printed the installation how to, and wow not sure but I think I can do it, I just want to see if anyone has done it and how bad it really was. Just worries me doing this to my new truck.
    Thanks all.
     
  2. Aug 20, 2010 at 6:29 PM
    #2
    cjd141985

    cjd141985 Coonass

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Member:
    #39332
    Messages:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christopher
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    Toyota Tacoma Prerunner
    OEM Fog Lights, Towing Package, 1.5" Leveling Kit, Black Badges Mod, OEM Curise Control
    Where are you looking for the cruise control?? I trying to do the same thing, but I'm not sure if my truck is already pre wired for cruise control. I know when I put on my fog lights it was already pre wired and all I had to do was put on the fog lights and buy a relay.
     
  3. Aug 20, 2010 at 7:00 PM
    #3
    df4iguy

    df4iguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Member:
    #19934
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Chicago
    its drive by wire throttle....the hardest part is going to be setting up the ecu for it.
     
  4. Aug 21, 2010 at 6:59 AM
    #4
    bigvw

    bigvw [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Member:
    #41204
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    St. Louis
    Vehicle:
    2010 silver
    Well I did it. I have the 2010 standard cab. I added the intermittent wipers first and was cool this is to easy. Well the cruise was not as easy. But can be done. I ordered the kit but they left out the black ground wire so I had to make one. Check the package first before you take the truck apart. I didn't and was going crazy but it's done and I'm happy now.
     
  5. Aug 21, 2010 at 9:01 AM
    #5
    demnemisis

    demnemisis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Member:
    #39859
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Dahlonega, GA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Base 4X4
    I also did it to my 2010 DC and had no issues, it tool all of 10 min and works great.
     
  6. Nov 26, 2010 at 6:40 PM
    #6
    OUG13

    OUG13 Active on 3 Forums, with nothing in common.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Member:
    #46748
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2009, Reguler Cab 4 X 4
    Could you post the kit part# & where to get it?
    All I can find is a part number for 2000 -2004
    Thanks
     
To Top