1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Advice on rearview/backup systems?

Discussion in 'Towing' started by SWRockhound, Aug 22, 2018.

1. Aug 22, 2018 at 10:29 AM
    SWRockhound

SWRockhound [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Sue
    Vehicle:
    2013 Navy TRD
    Leer camper back
    Hi, Everyone - newbie here. I have a 2013 Tacoma TRD 4WD 6-speed manual tranny. I lurked for a bit as a nonmember as we're taking the plunge and getting a camper. We settled on a Starcraft Autumn Breeze 19BH, a little under 3600# dry weight, WD hitch w/ sway bar, and of course brake controller. Also getting a Hayes anti-sway unit as we're in the desert SW and getting hit by wind gusts and dust devils while towing is a guaranteed event. We have a set of clip-on towing mirrors, but are thinking a rearview camera system will be a good addition or even replacement for those. Soooo... the camera system we're looking at is the Tadi Brothers wireless system with a monitor that clips on to the rearview mirror. Anyone have any experience with it? One thing I'm wondering about is whether the clip-on monitor would interfere with the microphone on the Tacoma rearview mirror as I want to stay hands-free when answering calls should one come in while on the road and I don't want to give up using the control on the steering wheel for this.