1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

AFE stage 2 si install pics

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by SilverSeven, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. Oct 5, 2010 at 2:21 PM
    #1
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    Can anyone please post pics of their afe stage 2 si box installed? I need to know if itd fit with my setup. Also, how able am i to move the placement of the box?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Oct 5, 2010 at 5:41 PM
    #2
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,830
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
    [​IMG]

    Not sure what you mean about moving your box.

    What is your setup???
     
  3. Oct 5, 2010 at 5:59 PM
    #3
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    this is my setup. I dont think the box will fit in the designed location, so I would have to move some things around.

    DSCN0589.jpg
     
  4. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:07 PM
    #4
    ktmrider

    ktmrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Member:
    #19933
    Messages:
    4,973
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB 4x4 Sport S/C
    Junk
    I think you would have to modify the box, but I believe the intake tube wouldn't hit on your engine cage.

    Also for your info I think you have a coilover growing into your engine bay :D
     
  5. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:09 PM
    #5
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,830
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
    Wow, that's interesting.

    Hmmm, where is your stock intake getting its air from now? Maybe you can run an inlet tube to the fender, and just run an AFE pro dry filter in the stock location. This way you get cooler air, and the benefits of a dry filter.
     
  6. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:17 PM
    #6
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    thats not possible, it would have to be extremely pinched and restrict flow
     
  7. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:26 PM
    #7
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    yeah I hear that. I will probably end up doing a full custom enclosure. But I'll still need a CAI to build it around.
     
  8. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:28 PM
    #8
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    what about rotating the box so it sits up and down? would it clear the hood?
     
  9. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:30 PM
    #9
    ktmrider

    ktmrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Member:
    #19933
    Messages:
    4,973
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB 4x4 Sport S/C
    Junk
    I dont think so unless you cut the box and remade it, even then you would have no access to the filter unless you take the box out.
     
  10. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:34 PM
    #10
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,830
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
    I would go this route. After looking at that pic for a while, you will never really be able to run an aftermarket CAI, I.e. TRD/AFE/Volant, without hacking it all up and deleting the effects of a CAI.

    The URD TCAI is routed toward the grille. This will be your best bet. Only reason I did not go this route was because I didn't want to hack into my grille area... But you on the other hand need to fab anyways. Soo, I say go for it. It's Cheaper than AFE, and lots of Taco owners stand by it's performance gains.

    Contact Gadget at URD, you wont regret it:cool:
     
  11. Oct 5, 2010 at 6:39 PM
    #11
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    problem is its in the grill, and will suck up water all day. I need something that goes to the fender. A standard CAI will hook up to my throttle body and run past my strut tower and end up right by the fender, then its just a matter of boxing it in. Ideally the AFE would fit some way some how (on its side?) and then its plug and play. Otherwise I have to fab up a box, which in the end will be cleaner, and more water tight, but more work and more $$.

    fuck it
     
  12. Oct 5, 2010 at 8:14 PM
    #12
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,665
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Scottsdale
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma XtraCab 2.7L 4x4
    Make a custom snorkel... If you get creative... That would probably fit you best...
     
  13. Oct 6, 2010 at 8:04 AM
    #13
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    9,905
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Might consider running a duct to the fender, then attach a cone filter to the duct inside the fender itself. Not sure how much room is in the fender for a filter though. Just a thought
     
To Top