1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Aftermarket Navigation Options

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TwoTacos, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. Feb 12, 2013 at 10:12 PM
    #61
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,406
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    It's the dash mount.

    They sit level in the mount so they are flush at the top of the opening, but recessed at the bottom, so there's no space below the face for the plate to pivot.
     
  2. Feb 12, 2013 at 10:16 PM
    #62
    AbominableSnowman

    AbominableSnowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Member:
    #97340
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB TRD OR
    See signature for mods...
    Okay, thanks for the heads up.
     
  3. Feb 13, 2013 at 6:24 AM
    #63
    XPOTRPR

    XPOTRPR [[[[[[EXPOtrooper]]]]]] IG: xpotrpr

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Member:
    #57449
    Messages:
    21,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Moose
    Chandler, AZ
    Vehicle:
    SUPERCHARGED MID TRAVEL 2009 DCSB TRD O/R 4X4 AUTO
    CHECK BUILD
    Nice write up Rich. :thumbsup: I've always wanted an honest solid real world comparison between the OEM look units and name brand. I have a pioneer avh p4400 so my mind is already made up. Just good to know.

    Also.. I haven't had an issue with either my avh p4300 or p4400 with the flip down screen not working in my truck. Pics are in my build. Those mounting brackets have multiple positions as well as using the stock vs metal brackets will charge the angle.
     
  4. Feb 13, 2013 at 8:36 AM
    #64
    AbominableSnowman

    AbominableSnowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Member:
    #97340
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB TRD OR
    See signature for mods...
    Josh that is good to hear about your Pioneer. I am really hoping I can make my Eclipse work. I had it installed in my Tundra and pulled it out before trading it on my Tacoma. I am really hoping I don't have to pay for a new unit.
     
  5. Feb 13, 2013 at 8:44 AM
    #65
    XPOTRPR

    XPOTRPR [[[[[[EXPOtrooper]]]]]] IG: xpotrpr

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Member:
    #57449
    Messages:
    21,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Moose
    Chandler, AZ
    Vehicle:
    SUPERCHARGED MID TRAVEL 2009 DCSB TRD O/R 4X4 AUTO
    CHECK BUILD
    You should be fine honestly. A local member here in Az had an eclipse in his Taco. No issues either.
     
  6. Feb 13, 2013 at 9:04 AM
    #66
    AbominableSnowman

    AbominableSnowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Member:
    #97340
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB TRD OR
    See signature for mods...
    Nice. I suppose I could always modify the opening in the dash kit to make it work if it is a problem. That would be cheaper than a new unit.

    I know I am giving up a bunch of features compared to the newer units, but I am used to the Eclipse and O/S interface matches the OEM nav my wife has in her Lexus.
     
  7. Feb 13, 2013 at 8:39 PM
    #67
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,406
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    I think Crutchfield is being cautious.
    If the HU door design ONLY moves forward and doesn't extend below the perimeter of the closed face, then there's no reason that it wouldn't work.

    The face on the Toyota OEM unit in my Tundra (it was a Solara unit) could change it's angle for use, but opening the door caused the bottom to extend straight out and the top slid down, so it never violated the space around the unit itself and you could mount it deep into a shoebox and it would work.

    I suspect that many units open like this, but I have seen some that operate like they are on a simple hinge, and if the face is 1/2" thick, then they end up extending 1/2" below the frame when open.

    There may be other dash kits that will work. The caution is on the Metra, which seems to be a cleaner looking install than the Schosce (sp?)
     
  8. Feb 14, 2013 at 6:33 AM
    #68
    XPOTRPR

    XPOTRPR [[[[[[EXPOtrooper]]]]]] IG: xpotrpr

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Member:
    #57449
    Messages:
    21,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Moose
    Chandler, AZ
    Vehicle:
    SUPERCHARGED MID TRAVEL 2009 DCSB TRD O/R 4X4 AUTO
    CHECK BUILD
    Got ya. :thumbsup:

    I had the Metra dash kit on my 06... even tho it was textured to match the stock stereo.. it never fit right. Always had issues.

    I tried the Scosche kit this time around, and although it isn't textured.. its a much better fit and I would recommend the scosche over the metra.
     
  9. Feb 15, 2013 at 3:27 PM
    #69
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,406
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Oh ya... something I forgot to mention on my Rosen unit.

    You can't turn it off.

    Tapping the volume knob only adjusts the screen brightness and can blacken the screen.
    But the radio plays any time the vehicle is on.

    There is a Mute button, and it works, but the thing self-mutes for BT phone use anyways, and if you use the mute, then shut the truck down, when you restart, the HU comes in at full volume.

    So the only way to turn the radio "off" is to simply turn it down.
     
  10. Feb 15, 2013 at 3:28 PM
    #70
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,406
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    That's odd... the reviews I saw here on TW indicated the opposite, and the pictures of the Metra installations looked nice.

    I guess if I get a Metra and don't like it, it's only another $20 to replace it.
     
  11. Feb 15, 2013 at 3:32 PM
    #71
    XPOTRPR

    XPOTRPR [[[[[[EXPOtrooper]]]]]] IG: xpotrpr

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Member:
    #57449
    Messages:
    21,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Moose
    Chandler, AZ
    Vehicle:
    SUPERCHARGED MID TRAVEL 2009 DCSB TRD O/R 4X4 AUTO
    CHECK BUILD
    Maybe I got a bad Metra... but it was off and looked like crap. Im just goin off what I have dealt with. Post up what yours looks like with whatever you decide on
     
  12. Feb 16, 2013 at 11:20 AM
    #72
    Brookerbass

    Brookerbass Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Member:
    #93720
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    coastal NC
    Vehicle:
    11' PreRunner SR5
    Clazzio seat covers, heated seats, tonneau pro cover, Caska in dash nav
    Did you try and hold in the left knob to turn it off? That's how mine works
     
  13. Feb 16, 2013 at 3:09 PM
    #73
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,406
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Ya... it ended up initiating a system reset. Lost everything except for the Sirius presets (I assume they are stored in the Sirius receiver).
     
  14. Jul 13, 2014 at 7:39 AM
    #74
    TRDh4vok

    TRDh4vok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Member:
    #131462
    Messages:
    134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gil
    Palm Beach County
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD PreRunner Sport
    -4" MaxTrac Spindle lift -5100 RCD Bilstein's -1/2" Strut Spacer driver's side (Taco Lean fix) -1/4" Strut Spacer passenger side (Taco Lean fix) -4" Tapered Blocks -Extended length U bolts -Front Skid Plate -Exhaust Tip -Tube Steps - Silver -Bed Extender -LEER Tonneau Cover -Rampage Roof Cab Lights -Rampage Tailgate Light Bar Six Function SUPERBRITE with Reverse Lights, Running Lights, Brake lights, Emergency Hazard and L & R turn signals -exLED Toyota Tacoma Custom interior LED Light Kit -PIAA Xtreme White Plus head lights and fog lights -NITTO Terra Grapplers 285-70-17 -30" Avec CR-Series Led Light Bar in bumper grill -Two 6.5" Led light bar's attached to the A pillars -Hood hinge bracket mounts from Famous Fabrications -Exhaust muffler Aero Turbine AT2525XL -OEM Roof Racks -OTTRAW Rocker switch -Stant locking gas cap -Large T emblem and mid mount bracket from Diaz Fabrications
  15. Jul 13, 2014 at 8:44 AM
    #75
    TRDh4vok

    TRDh4vok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Member:
    #131462
    Messages:
    134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gil
    Palm Beach County
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD PreRunner Sport
    -4" MaxTrac Spindle lift -5100 RCD Bilstein's -1/2" Strut Spacer driver's side (Taco Lean fix) -1/4" Strut Spacer passenger side (Taco Lean fix) -4" Tapered Blocks -Extended length U bolts -Front Skid Plate -Exhaust Tip -Tube Steps - Silver -Bed Extender -LEER Tonneau Cover -Rampage Roof Cab Lights -Rampage Tailgate Light Bar Six Function SUPERBRITE with Reverse Lights, Running Lights, Brake lights, Emergency Hazard and L & R turn signals -exLED Toyota Tacoma Custom interior LED Light Kit -PIAA Xtreme White Plus head lights and fog lights -NITTO Terra Grapplers 285-70-17 -30" Avec CR-Series Led Light Bar in bumper grill -Two 6.5" Led light bar's attached to the A pillars -Hood hinge bracket mounts from Famous Fabrications -Exhaust muffler Aero Turbine AT2525XL -OEM Roof Racks -OTTRAW Rocker switch -Stant locking gas cap -Large T emblem and mid mount bracket from Diaz Fabrications
  16. Jul 13, 2014 at 9:03 AM
    #76
    anethema

    anethema Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Member:
    #51833
    Messages:
    998
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Dawson Creek,BC
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD OR Access cab 4x4
    ARB Bumper,OEM Roof rack modded for access cab, Allpro Rock Sliders,Icon Adjustable coilovers,More Tie Downs in bed, Firestone Airbags in rear,Block heater
    Yeah didn't go through all 4 pages but not sure if this mentioned.

    Basically, if your unit isn't specifically using Garmin software, or maybe TomTom, the Navi is crap.

    The POI database will be super outdated, the mapping software will be subpar, and just overall it sucks.

    Get something with actual Garmin software in it so you can put the latest City Navigator or whatever their thing is now. Pretty much guaranteed to regret it otherwise if Nav is one of your main desires.
     
  17. Jul 13, 2014 at 9:45 AM
    #77
    jboudreaux1965

    jboudreaux1965 ragin cajun

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Member:
    #131162
    Messages:
    628
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    joseph
    abbeville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Pre-Runner TRD Sport
    3" coil-overs, AAL
    another option is look at the hi end 'eclipse' navigation and a/v systems. they do all of that and more, way more! those eclipse units are actually toshiba rebranded as eclipse in the US and the actual manufacturer is fujitsu who makes some of the best computers and electronics in the world! o and lexus uses them too!

    i put one in my 2006 like 30 minutes after i bought it new off the lot because i liked the NAV in my lexus. so its an older one of course. but still works 100%, never a hint of a problem! and they have completely seperate controls for voltage to youramps and hi/mid/low range etc, an audiofiles wet dream! you control everything! the physical box it came in said Fujitsu

    good stuff, worth looking into!

    and yes ALL systems are module systems, meaning if you want sat radio you plug in a module, if you want weather satelite you add a module, etc... all are like that even OEM
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2014
To Top