1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

aftermarket sub with stock deck?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by waldo, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. Jan 11, 2010 at 10:27 PM
    #1
    waldo

    waldo [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Member:
    #28996
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma SR5
    Rough Country 3" lift, 285/75 BFG all-terrains, Moto Metal 951 chrome rims, fog lights, wet okole seat covers
    Hey everyone, I was wondering if it was possible to wire up an aftermarket subwoofer to the factory stereo. Has anyone done it?
     
  2. Jan 12, 2010 at 9:30 AM
    #2
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    You would need a Line Output Converter to get signal for the amp.
     
  3. Jan 12, 2010 at 9:32 AM
    #3
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    x2
     
  4. Jan 12, 2010 at 9:37 AM
    #4
    hendooman

    hendooman The Stroker Ace

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14421
    Messages:
    3,040
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO 4Runner
    I have researched it and while it is possible and will work, stepping up to a new head unit is going to be light years ahead as compared to using the stock unit. There is a product made by JL Audio called the clean sweep. It will send a vastly improved signal to the amps.

    http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_cleansweep_pages.php?page_id=94
     
  5. Jan 12, 2010 at 9:38 AM
    #5
    Yota_dvl

    Yota_dvl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Member:
    #16066
    Messages:
    362
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jesse
    Central Utah
    Vehicle:
    03' Ext cab 4x4
    SAS KIT - trail-gear 5" lift alcan springs greasable shackels gears front 410 rear 411 Kicker subs 3,000 mile drive to Alaska, 3,000 back "Mod" rear diff breather
    X3 [​IMG]
    you can pick them up at audio places or best buy for about 30$
    -in sense you tap into your rear speaker wires then this runs the RCA's to the amp then off a aux power you run a remote wire so your amp turns off with your truck from there you've got a workin sub
     
  6. Jan 12, 2010 at 9:43 AM
    #6
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    JL Audio CleanSweep is better than a LOC but you have to use the JL's volume knob...not my cup o tea. I suggest a aftermarket deck cause they are cheap these days and most come with MP3, iPod, Bluetooth, Sirus/XM options...
     
  7. Jan 12, 2010 at 10:26 AM
    #7
    rossk35

    rossk35 Do Work Son!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Member:
    #15197
    Messages:
    945
    Gender:
    Male
    hawaii
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport Supercharged
    TRD S/C/TRD Intake/TRD Boost Gauge/DT Headers/OEM TL/ZKW retro/Pioneer DVD w/Ipod/Magnaflow/20% Tint/BHLM/JL 10" sub, JL VR components, JL 450/4 amp/Helwig Sway bar/Viper 791/ 18" limited 4runner rims
    Powering a sub off the stock deck won't sound very good. I had a friend install one in his dub cab and shortly after he just ended up buying a double din. Just do it right the first time around.
     
  8. Jan 12, 2010 at 10:45 AM
    #8
    calfire88

    calfire88 WHITE TACO

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Member:
    #8426
    Messages:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    so cal
    Vehicle:
    09 trd SPORT long bed
    BHLM, satoshi grille with K/C long range daylighters behind, 2 1/2'' procomp spacer lift on front, multiple aux lights, yellow fogs, black stock trd sport rims
    how bout an 09 with the jbl package? i have the amp and sub from the factory. im lookin to put in a new and anp sub but not sure if the hu would support it...and ideas??
     
  9. Jan 12, 2010 at 10:58 AM
    #9
    sioux_hockey_guy

    sioux_hockey_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Member:
    #21751
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Bismarck, ND
    Vehicle:
    Black '08 TRD OR 2" Leveled
    Eibach front springs, Billstein 5100's set at .85" Rear blocks (1.5"?) w, TSB. To be replaced w/ AAL
    I've been wondering the same thing. If you unplug the amp that is hooked to the plastic subwoofer enclosure you lose power to all speakers. With my custom box there is no room for that amp unless I could somehow get an extension adapter which I would assume is impossible to get a hold of. I will probably end up buying a new HU and just rewiring everything.
     
  10. Jan 12, 2010 at 12:06 PM
    #10
    SportyTuRD

    SportyTuRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Member:
    #25973
    Messages:
    254
    Gender:
    Male


    This is always fun...Most likely your JBL head unit already sends a low output signal to the factory amp...So adding a low pass converter wont work it just makes it really low...

    Test it 1st!! but...
    ...One way you can do it is to cut the ends off one side of the RCA's and tag those into the the rear speaker outputs and then plug the other end directly into the amp's RCA input...
    Each side of the RCA has a Single positive and a single negative... so you have to make sure to splice all 4 speaker wires into the 2 RCA wires.

    I had to do this in an Explorer once that had the factory amp.
     
  11. Jan 12, 2010 at 12:10 PM
    #11
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    I have a sub running off the factory HU. Naturally not as good as the setup in my previous vehicle with an aftermarket HU, it fits my needs fine. I didn't even bother getting a LOC. I just used the speaker level inputs on my amp. Haven't had any problems yet.
     
  12. Jan 12, 2010 at 12:14 PM
    #12
    sachou

    sachou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Member:
    #23554
    Messages:
    664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Richland, Washington
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD Sport Acc Cab 4x4 V6 6spd
    x2

    I had a sony headunit in my old car and even it did not have a rca low level out for an amp, but my amp had speaker level inputs (high level), and I just wired the rear speakers to that. You can also still use the rear speakers powered off the head unit.

    TECHNICALLY it won't sound as good as everything aftermarket, but I'm by no means an audiophile, and when it comes to car sound systems, the road noise and car rattle is going to cover up any sound perfections anyways, IMHO.
     
  13. Jan 12, 2010 at 12:15 PM
    #13
    rberumen2

    rberumen2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25084
    Messages:
    284
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ralph
    California
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4 DCSB
    I would just sacrifice for a while instead of wasting your money on the hi low converter and wait for the aftermarket deck. thats what i did. i had the converter for a few days and realized i needed more. so i just ordered my double din and returned my converter. make sure you also have aftermarket speakers. the stock ones SUCK!!!
     
  14. Jan 12, 2010 at 8:58 PM
    #14
    Pyrite FD

    Pyrite FD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Member:
    #24330
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD Off Road
    I did in my old vehicle. Just get an amp that has a high level input. No convertor needed. Most sub amps have this. My alpine that I had did, so did my MTX before that. Some have the plug for it, you just have to buy the adapter which plugs into that..its cheap too.

    Anyways, just splice in the high level inputs to your rear speakers. Run power, ground, and remote. Done.

    Its not bad. It still sounds like the stock stereo, but with a real sub to it. You wont win an award but it sounds better without spending a lot, and if you do get a new head unit you can then wire it to that directly. No wasted money.
     
  15. Jan 12, 2010 at 9:47 PM
    #15
    ROCKSLINGER

    ROCKSLINGER Zombie Response Team

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Member:
    #15439
    Messages:
    591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Reno Nv
    Vehicle:
    14 MGM DBL CAB 6 SPEED
    Fox Coilover with reservoir, Fox Remote Rear reservoir, Wheeler's 3 pack AAL, Grillcraft Grille color matched, Rampage 50" LED Light Bar, Relentless 1/4" IFS-Mid and Transfer case Skids, Relentless High Clearance Rear Bumper, Kenwood 1800 watt Amp, 12" Rockford Fosgate P3 Shallow Sub, 1 Farad Capacitor, Redline Hood Struts, Weathertech Floor Mats, Doug Thorley Long Tube Headers, Flowmaster Delta 40, URD MAF Calibrator, URD Short Shifter, CST Black Leather W/Red Stich, On Board Air, Train Horns,
    I have just done the same thing. I put the rca converter in and ran my amp wires like normal and mine sounds great. It all depends on the equipment you use. I have 1800 watt kenwood amp running at 4 ohms for my 12" Rockford Fosgate P3 slim. And also a 1 farad Fosgate capacitor. Since my dc is limited to space it doesnt give it the low thump you would get from a larger bandpass or sealed box. But for how small it is im impressed.

    Just double check your wires cause if I remember correctly either the acc or power was wrong on my truck. I can also take pics of my setup if needed.

    Not sure if these links will work but got them from here http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/ Best of luck


    Here is a link to the wiring for a seperate amplifier.
    http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/ileaf/06toyewd/06toypdf/ewd/2006/tacoma/h/em01d43.pdf

    and the one for the built in amplifer

    http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/ileaf/06toyewd/06toypdf/ewd/2006/tacoma/h/em01d44.pdf
     
  16. Jan 12, 2010 at 9:59 PM
    #16
    b168

    b168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20532
    Messages:
    108
    Gender:
    Male
    South Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma DC TRD Off Road
    6" Pro Comp Lift 35" Xtreme A/T Pro Comp Tires 4.56 Gears
    The best way is to do it the right way the first time as one of our buddies had posted here. I learned the hard way first i changed my components and added an amp but the converter they installed sucks big time. i had static issues and the sound that i was looking for wasnt there.

    I ended up changing the whole thing from the HU down to the amps, spkrs and subs. got a good deal for the polks. it was buy 1 take 1. and those kicker amps were on sale at fry's.
     
  17. Jan 12, 2010 at 10:00 PM
    #17
    b168

    b168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20532
    Messages:
    108
    Gender:
    Male
    South Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma DC TRD Off Road
    6" Pro Comp Lift 35" Xtreme A/T Pro Comp Tires 4.56 Gears
    Never never never do a stock Hu with any aftermarket subs, amps and spkrs.
    always have it changed...........
     
  18. Jan 12, 2010 at 10:34 PM
    #18
    waldo

    waldo [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Member:
    #28996
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma SR5
    Rough Country 3" lift, 285/75 BFG all-terrains, Moto Metal 951 chrome rims, fog lights, wet okole seat covers
    Well I'm gonna give it a try, I just think the stock deck looks a lot cleaner and the single din units with the space under it looks ugly.
     
  19. Jan 12, 2010 at 10:51 PM
    #19
    ROCKSLINGER

    ROCKSLINGER Zombie Response Team

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Member:
    #15439
    Messages:
    591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Reno Nv
    Vehicle:
    14 MGM DBL CAB 6 SPEED
    Fox Coilover with reservoir, Fox Remote Rear reservoir, Wheeler's 3 pack AAL, Grillcraft Grille color matched, Rampage 50" LED Light Bar, Relentless 1/4" IFS-Mid and Transfer case Skids, Relentless High Clearance Rear Bumper, Kenwood 1800 watt Amp, 12" Rockford Fosgate P3 Shallow Sub, 1 Farad Capacitor, Redline Hood Struts, Weathertech Floor Mats, Doug Thorley Long Tube Headers, Flowmaster Delta 40, URD MAF Calibrator, URD Short Shifter, CST Black Leather W/Red Stich, On Board Air, Train Horns,
    Do you already have your system ready for install? Are you doing it yourself or taking it to a shop?
     
  20. Jan 12, 2010 at 11:07 PM
    #20
    militaco

    militaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17501
    Messages:
    476
    Gender:
    Male
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Double Cab, '99 Regular Cab


    x2
     
To Top