1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Air compressor question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Mademan925, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. Oct 21, 2013 at 11:55 AM
    #1
    Mademan925

    Mademan925 [OP] Senor Taco

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Member:
    #90668
    Messages:
    7,623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 4x4 TRD OFFROAD DCSB
    enough to go over stuff
  2. Oct 21, 2013 at 12:25 PM
    #2
    eazyrider711

    eazyrider711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Member:
    #107568
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Northern, CO
    Vehicle:
    Black DCSB T|X Baja
    I doubt its an issue with your power. It sounds more like an issue with CFM. The Amazon link listed a number as SCFM, so that's probably some fudged math to make it sound better than it is.

    I know I've been looking and have settled on this one.

    http://www.amazon.com/VIAIR-Automat...1382383409&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=viair+450p

    Its pricey which is why I don't have it yet :D but I think it will be really nice once I get it. If you're looking for speed, check out the CFM chart on Viair's website. Porter-Cable will probably have some similar charts on their site. It gives you the best measure of how much air a compressor can push.

    I think. ;)
     
  3. Oct 21, 2013 at 12:31 PM
    #3
    AR15xAR10

    AR15xAR10 #blackriflesmatter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102024
    Messages:
    54,430
    Gender:
    Male
    Heh, wouldn't you like to know
    Vehicle:
    08 SR5 4x4 V6 IndigoInkPearl ACLBFTMFW
    Please refer to my build thread (click signature picture)
    I still use the biggest slime brand compressor that walmart sells. It works fine. It is slow but for $60, who cares?
     
  4. Oct 21, 2013 at 12:48 PM
    #4
    Mademan925

    Mademan925 [OP] Senor Taco

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Member:
    #90668
    Messages:
    7,623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 4x4 TRD OFFROAD DCSB
    enough to go over stuff
    My compressor is 120v at 10 amps so I need 1200w to run it. Is that correct? My bed outlet is only 400. what will I damage using something that needs more power than what will be supplied. I mean it worked so I just need to know what I would be hurting.
     
  5. Oct 21, 2013 at 12:53 PM
    #5
    lemons

    lemons LOCO 4X4

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Member:
    #103567
    Messages:
    932
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD DC Offroad 4X4
    Icon coil overs W/King 14 inch 700lb springs and super bump bump stops, Allpro Expo leaf springs, Allpro Ubolt kit W/timbren Bump stops, Dif Drop Kit, Magnaflow Cat-Back Exhaust, Badges painted Rust-Oleum bed liner, Color Matched TRD Sport Grill W/Grille Craft Insert, TRD seat covers, Weather Tech Floor Mats, Flyzeye's , fog light anytime mod, ABS Off mod, ATO skid plates, ATO rear H/C bumper, BAMF sliders w/kick out, CBI front bumper, Engo 10000lb winch, Rigid D2 foglights, Piaa 510 fog lights, cobra CB w/firestix antenna, AFE snorkel
    I have tried pluging stuff in that I knew would be too much for the bed outlet and all it does is not work. As soon as you plug something else in that is sucking the right power it works fine.
     
  6. Oct 21, 2013 at 3:02 PM
    #6
    jw1983

    jw1983 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Member:
    #63738
    Messages:
    2,999
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    13' Tacoma Access 4x4 OR
    x2
     
  7. Oct 21, 2013 at 3:11 PM
    #7
    Mademan925

    Mademan925 [OP] Senor Taco

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Member:
    #90668
    Messages:
    7,623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 4x4 TRD OFFROAD DCSB
    enough to go over stuff
    So because it works does that mean its ok?
     
  8. Oct 21, 2013 at 4:21 PM
    #8
    Wattapunk

    Wattapunk Stay lifted my friends !

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Member:
    #30098
    Messages:
    4,019
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Uncle K
    TX
    Vehicle:
    2005 DCLB 4WD
    Why would even try if it clearly exceeds the output of the outlet? More than likely, it will blow the fuse. The compressors that seems to work are the smaller 1 gallon tanks that only draws about 3 amps or less at 120v.
     
  9. Oct 21, 2013 at 4:26 PM
    #9
    Mademan925

    Mademan925 [OP] Senor Taco

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Member:
    #90668
    Messages:
    7,623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 4x4 TRD OFFROAD DCSB
    enough to go over stuff
    I tried it because it's what I had. It didn't blow fuse. But I'll look into a one gallon one.
     
  10. Oct 21, 2013 at 4:36 PM
    #10
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy my dog shits counter clockwise

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    6,112
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Offroad DCSB AT- VSC,TRAC,HAC, & DAC
    Icon Stage 8, ECGS Bushing, Piaa Lights, Weathertech Mats, Westin light bar, OEM bed mat, AVS visors, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extension & reroute, front windows tint, Cat Security, tailgate clamp mod, XPEL headlight/fog light protectors, OEM block heater, BFG 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, RCBS illuminated 4X4 switch mod, spare tire lowering mod, Timbren offroad bump stops, Crown braided/extended brake lines, Wet Okole seat covers, Step nerf bars, Overland Custom Design sway bar links.
    I did alot of research on this and settled on the Viair 300P... works great and airs up fast. The only issue i had was the battery clamps were small and it was a stretch to get to the passenger rear... fixed that by splicing in a section of jumper cables. http://www.amazon.com/Viair-30033-VIAIR-Portable-Compressor/dp/B000X90YUO
     
  11. Oct 21, 2013 at 4:38 PM
    #11
    Mademan925

    Mademan925 [OP] Senor Taco

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Member:
    #90668
    Messages:
    7,623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 4x4 TRD OFFROAD DCSB
    enough to go over stuff
  12. Oct 21, 2013 at 4:52 PM
    #12
    maineah

    maineah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53641
    Messages:
    5,884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    4X4 SR5 V6 6spd
    Yes, it will cook the compressor motor those small compressors need RPM to make air. Surprised the inverter ran it.
     
  13. Oct 21, 2013 at 4:55 PM
    #13
    KenLyns

    KenLyns 8.75" Third Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    29,368
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off-Road Full-Auto
    LED Headlights, Volant CAI, 32" Duratracs
    SCFM means flow rate at standard atmo pressure, corresponding to the 0 psi rating on Viair's web site. 2.6 CFM at 0 psi is better than most Viair pumps, actually. It is possible the Porter Cable pump may not be running at full speed due to the 400W limit. One way around it is to buy a bigger inverter that requires direct connection to the battery, like this 1600W unit: http://www.amazon.com/Whistler-Pro-1600W-Watt-Power-Inverter/dp/B003R7AJ4K/

    The 450P is rated for 1.66 CFM at 0 psi, but is designed to run constant-duty. For inflating tires on the trail, the 440P is more appropriate, being faster at 3.00 CFM at 0 psi: http://www.amazon.com/Viair-44043-VIAIR-Portable-Compressor/dp/B000X9BXQS/

    Me? I have a Viair 85P that plugs into the 12V outlet. It draws just over 15A, however, and blew my 15A fuse. I changed out the fuse to a 20A. :D http://www.amazon.com/VIAIR-85P-Portable-Air-Compressor/dp/B0036E9VB6/
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2013
  14. Oct 21, 2013 at 4:58 PM
    #14
    maineah

    maineah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53641
    Messages:
    5,884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    4X4 SR5 V6 6spd
    348 watts but that is not start current may trip the inverter on start up. I know the DC ones are slow why not buy an inverter you can hook to your battery and run your pan cake one? Probably close to the same price.
     
  15. Oct 21, 2013 at 5:48 PM
    #15
    Mademan925

    Mademan925 [OP] Senor Taco

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Member:
    #90668
    Messages:
    7,623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 4x4 TRD OFFROAD DCSB
    enough to go over stuff
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2013
  16. Oct 23, 2013 at 9:30 AM
    #16
    eazyrider711

    eazyrider711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Member:
    #107568
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Northern, CO
    Vehicle:
    Black DCSB T|X Baja
    You're right, it was the 440P I meant to link. Still saving, LOL.
     
To Top