1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Air Conditioner bypass

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by tshu44, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. Jul 29, 2011 at 5:26 AM
    #1
    tshu44

    tshu44 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Member:
    #60752
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ga
    Vehicle:
    SR5
    Hey guys. I would like to say hi and let you know that I am new to this forum and appreciate any help that I may get. I have wanted a taco for many years and happy that I just bought a '01 6 cyl. She's a beaut! Upon purchase tho did not second guess a toggle switch under the dash and thought that it was for fog lights. Just a few days after buying her I was playing with the switch going down the road and thought I noticed that I had more power going down the road with it switched off. Later a check engine light came on and my air conditioning stopped working! I freaked! Took it to Auto Zone and the code was for some general heat and air trouble.:confused: So they were little help there. Long story short the toggle switch was a by-pass for the air conditioner. There used to be a box mounted on the back side of the passengers fender. It is gone now and I noticed a wire running from the air conditioner to the toggle switch under my dash.:mad: Where the missing box (?) is there is now just a plug tapped off with a plug for it that is oval. This must be for the controls to turn the air on and off? And what is it called so I can look into getting it put back the way it was suppose to be. Auto Zone had no clue.:confused: One last thing, is it hurting anything with it continuously running on or off from the toggle switch? I think that is what set off my check engine light, but it has not done it since. Thanks for your help guys!! Rock on Yota lovers!
     
  2. Jul 29, 2011 at 2:38 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,148
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Welcome! Can you post a pic of the locatiopn you are describing?
     
  3. Jul 31, 2011 at 8:02 AM
    #3
    tshu44

    tshu44 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Member:
    #60752
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ga
    Vehicle:
    SR5
    S5000896.jpgThe plug and missing box is on the passenger side near the firewall. If I could get a part number from someone that would be great!
     
  4. Jul 31, 2011 at 8:15 AM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,148
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Thats where the ABS system goes......looks like the whole thing is missing.
     
To Top