1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

alarm help with fortin bypass

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by DavidT, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Mar 22, 2010 at 9:25 AM
    #1
    DavidT

    DavidT [OP] D

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32301
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma x-runner
    I have a viper 5701 and trying to install the alarm myself. I installed alarms on a few cars but never with a keysense.

    I tapped into the lock (purple) and unlock (green/black) wires from the kick panel but when i arm or disarm the locks dont engage.

    I also have a Fortin KEY-OVERRIDE-SL2 box but the instructions that came with it is garbage. where is the data in and data out wires?

    Do our trucks have a data link box?

    Here is the link to the fortin installation instructions.
    http://ifar.ca/download/1846/key-override-sl2_installation_guide.rev-z.pdf

    thanks guys , God bless
     
  2. Mar 22, 2010 at 9:29 AM
    #2
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
  3. Mar 22, 2010 at 10:33 AM
    #3
    DavidT

    DavidT [OP] D

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32301
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma x-runner
    i did check it out. i couldn't find much on the fortin bypass box
     
  4. Mar 22, 2010 at 1:06 PM
    #4
    phd12volt

    phd12volt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33457
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    So-Cal
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Manual 2wd Access Cab 5-Lugger
    Homelink Mirror Autopage Alarm/Remote Start/C3 Tracking Alpine w505 w/P1 Nav
    my 07 doesnt have a transponder in it
     
  5. Mar 22, 2010 at 1:08 PM
    #5
    phd12volt

    phd12volt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33457
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    So-Cal
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Manual 2wd Access Cab 5-Lugger
    Homelink Mirror Autopage Alarm/Remote Start/C3 Tracking Alpine w505 w/P1 Nav
    Power Unlock VIOLET(-)IN HARNEES IN DRIVER KICKPANELTHIS WIRE REQUIRES A DOUBLE PULSE TO UNLOCK ALL DOORS

    PowerLock GREEN/BLACK(-)IN HARNESS IN DRIVER KICKPANEL
     
  6. Mar 22, 2010 at 1:13 PM
    #6
    phd12volt

    phd12volt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33457
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    So-Cal
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Manual 2wd Access Cab 5-Lugger
    Homelink Mirror Autopage Alarm/Remote Start/C3 Tracking Alpine w505 w/P1 Nav
    BatteryWHITE/BLUE(+)IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS
    Ignition 1BLACK/RED(+)IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS
    Ignition 2BLUE/YELLOW(+)IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS
    Accessory 1WHITE/GREEN(+)IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS
    Starter 1GREEN/BLACK(+)IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS
    Starter 2BLACK/WHITE(+)IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS

    Key SenseGREEN/BLACK(-)IGNITION SWITCH HARNESSTHIS WIRE WILL DISARM THE FACTORY ALARM
    TachometerBLACK/WHITE(-)AT ECM MODULE BEHIND GLOVEBOX
    ALSO AT DATA LINK CONNECTOR UNDER DRIVER SIDE DASH PIN #9


    Parking LightsGREEN(+)AT VEHICLE FUSE PANEL
    Brake LightsBLUE(+)AT SWITCH ABOVE BRAKE PEDALALSO AT VEHICLE FUSEBOX IN 11 PIN PLUG PIN #2
    Reverse LightsRED/WHITE(+)IN HARNESS IN DRIVER KICKPANEL
    HornGREEN/RED(-)AT VEHICLE FUSEBOX18 PIN PLUG - PIN #10

    IMO LIGHT GREEN/BLACK(DATA)AT ECM MODULE BEHIND GLOVEBOX
    IMI BLUE/WHITE(DATA)AT ECM MODULE BEHIND GLOVEBOX
     
  7. Mar 22, 2010 at 1:14 PM
    #7
    phd12volt

    phd12volt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33457
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    So-Cal
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Manual 2wd Access Cab 5-Lugger
    Homelink Mirror Autopage Alarm/Remote Start/C3 Tracking Alpine w505 w/P1 Nav
    oh yeah, you might want to wire up your additional starter relay. Alot of people forget that one. I get calls all the time about it.
     
  8. Mar 22, 2010 at 1:22 PM
    #8
    DavidT

    DavidT [OP] D

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32301
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma x-runner
    everywhere i've been looking, it says violet is lock and green/black is unlock but i'll try it your way also.

    Can anyone comment on the fortin bypass? thanks
     
  9. Mar 22, 2010 at 3:23 PM
    #9
    phd12volt

    phd12volt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33457
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    So-Cal
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Manual 2wd Access Cab 5-Lugger
    Homelink Mirror Autopage Alarm/Remote Start/C3 Tracking Alpine w505 w/P1 Nav
    if you try and do the fortin, and it isnt programming, have you verified that you have a transponder in the vehicle yet?
     
  10. Mar 22, 2010 at 3:25 PM
    #10
    DavidT

    DavidT [OP] D

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32301
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma x-runner
    i thought they came standard in all the v6 models. Is there a number you can pm me so i can contact you for additional information if its not to much trouble. thanks bro
     
  11. Mar 22, 2010 at 3:30 PM
    #11
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    go to www.12voltdata.com, that is fortins and idatalinks forum. All you should have to find with the bypass is the TX and RX, it should be in a 5 or 6 pin plug by the ignition cylinder. It prob says to get ignition and ground there also, but the ignition in the ignitions harness and chassis ground are fine.
     
  12. Mar 22, 2010 at 3:31 PM
    #12
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    and phd is right, definitely hook up your second starter.
     
  13. Mar 22, 2010 at 3:41 PM
    #13
    DavidT

    DavidT [OP] D

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32301
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma x-runner
    ok i figured out the rx and tx but where does the data link cable from the fortin go to?
     
  14. Mar 22, 2010 at 7:29 PM
    #14
    phd12volt

    phd12volt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33457
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    So-Cal
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Manual 2wd Access Cab 5-Lugger
    Homelink Mirror Autopage Alarm/Remote Start/C3 Tracking Alpine w505 w/P1 Nav
    i get what you mean now, you cannot hook directly up to the fortin and the DEI. You have to "hardwire" the power, ground, and (-) out when start directly from the fortin to the viper. D2D will only work for compatible models.


    12voltdata forum is strictly for idatalink only. Fortin has their own forum and trust me when i tell you, there are no fortin problems/questions on the idatalink forum.
     
  15. Mar 23, 2010 at 10:14 AM
    #15
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    Really?! I've gotten some good help from people on that forum, I use the directechs forum too but as soon as you start talking about anything not DEI the mods shut it down quick. :rolleyes:

    But you're right, the D2D will only work with some units, mostly compustar i think. Just hardwire them and you'll be fine. All in all it a pretty easy truck to do. Good luck!
     
  16. Mar 28, 2010 at 7:28 PM
    #16
    DavidT

    DavidT [OP] D

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32301
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma x-runner
    phd12volt thanks brother for all your help. Couldn't have done it without you. God bless man
     
  17. Mar 28, 2010 at 8:36 PM
    #17
    phd12volt

    phd12volt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33457
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    So-Cal
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Manual 2wd Access Cab 5-Lugger
    Homelink Mirror Autopage Alarm/Remote Start/C3 Tracking Alpine w505 w/P1 Nav
    not a problem at all. Glad i could help. Let me know what you think about a preharnessed unit set up for the Tacomas.
     
  18. Dec 19, 2010 at 10:41 AM
    #18
    1FSTLS1

    1FSTLS1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Member:
    #39249
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    How does one do that?

    Where did your go?
     
To Top