1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amateur (Ham) Radio BS and Callsign Thread!

Discussion in 'Sports, Hobbies & Interests' started by The Traveler, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Apr 24, 2013 at 10:53 AM
    #181
    The Traveler

    The Traveler [OP] Desert Chief

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Member:
    #75806
    Messages:
    6,828
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    1991 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Prerunner
    That's the repeater offset. The repeater receives the signal from one freq. and sends it out on another, allowing for simultaneous TX/RX.

    Where abouts do you live? And which freq. are you on?
     
  2. Apr 24, 2013 at 11:00 AM
    #182
    carcharias

    carcharias Giggiddy what what

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48988
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 AC MGM OR
    Kings all-around w/ 700lb coils, Dakar leaf pack, TC uca's, DO single hoop bumper, BAMF bolt-on sliders w/ kickouts, Rigid 20" e-series spot/flood, aFe pro-dry, BFG KM2 255/85/16, silver TRD FJ wheels, WARN M8000-s, Access LE, Grillcraft, BAMF lightbar, BAMF rear dif skid, BAMF LCA skids, window tint, Wet Okoles, WeatherTech floorliners, Silverstar lights, led dome lights, Redline Tuning hood struts, center console lock mod, mag-lite mod, extra d-rings, re-routed exhaust, ATO skids, ATO Hi-Lift mounts, pipe tailgate lock, seatbelt alarm delete, wheel/spare locks, Viper 5901, LoJack... WISHLIST: a golden canary that poops platinum
    I live in Studio City, and will have to check freqs later. I think one channel I was listening is 147.350, but it would transmit on 147.900. How the heck could anyone ever hear me if it transmits on a different freq?? I need to study more.... grrrr....
     
  3. Apr 24, 2013 at 11:06 AM
    #183
    The Traveler

    The Traveler [OP] Desert Chief

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Member:
    #75806
    Messages:
    6,828
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    1991 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Prerunner
    LOL stay off 147.350 and 147.500...that's renegade radio and those guys will block your freq. and rip you to shreds. The FCC literally denies their existence.

    Try 147.090. That's the Catalina repeater, and if you're licensed just state your callsign and ask for a signal report. Somebody will usually come back and give you a report. I usually monitor that repeater.

    2 meter repeater offset is 600kHz, so the freq that shows up when you key up is usually 600kHz off from the freq. you're listening on.
     
  4. Apr 24, 2013 at 11:10 AM
    #184
    carcharias

    carcharias Giggiddy what what

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48988
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 AC MGM OR
    Kings all-around w/ 700lb coils, Dakar leaf pack, TC uca's, DO single hoop bumper, BAMF bolt-on sliders w/ kickouts, Rigid 20" e-series spot/flood, aFe pro-dry, BFG KM2 255/85/16, silver TRD FJ wheels, WARN M8000-s, Access LE, Grillcraft, BAMF lightbar, BAMF rear dif skid, BAMF LCA skids, window tint, Wet Okoles, WeatherTech floorliners, Silverstar lights, led dome lights, Redline Tuning hood struts, center console lock mod, mag-lite mod, extra d-rings, re-routed exhaust, ATO skids, ATO Hi-Lift mounts, pipe tailgate lock, seatbelt alarm delete, wheel/spare locks, Viper 5901, LoJack... WISHLIST: a golden canary that poops platinum
    Ha! I forgot about 147.350!! That's why I left it on... dang. They're pretty hilarious!

    So the offset isn't what's doing it at all then, huh? Seems like it's automatic.

    I'll try 147.090 at lunch since I'm down in Santa Monica.
     
  5. Apr 24, 2013 at 11:15 AM
    #185
    Chipskip

    Chipskip N7MCS

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42519
    Messages:
    9,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chip
    Phoenix / Payson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma Limited
    Deck Plate, '17 rims, Tundra Brake Upgrade, All-Pro Expo Leaf Packs, 01-04 Center Console, Ultragauge, LED interior lights, HO alternator...
    Make sure you have the right PL/CTCSS tone set otherwise the repeater wont pick you up. DO you have ability to program the radio via software? That is the best way to make sure you have everything configured properly. I got my repeater list from a 4x4ham.com for my area, someone had uploaded all the info and I was able to just tweak it for my immediate area and upload it to my radio.
     
  6. Apr 24, 2013 at 11:17 AM
    #186
    The Traveler

    The Traveler [OP] Desert Chief

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Member:
    #75806
    Messages:
    6,828
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    1991 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Prerunner
    Just PM'ed you my cell phone number. Text me when you're gonna go out and try, and I'll get on my radio to see if I hear ya. :thumbsup:
     
  7. Apr 24, 2013 at 11:19 AM
    #187
    The Traveler

    The Traveler [OP] Desert Chief

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Member:
    #75806
    Messages:
    6,828
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    1991 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Prerunner
    Most radios come out of the box ready to use on the local repeaters here...at least mine and 3 other people I know with hams were like that.
     
  8. Apr 24, 2013 at 11:30 AM
    #188
    carcharias

    carcharias Giggiddy what what

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48988
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 AC MGM OR
    Kings all-around w/ 700lb coils, Dakar leaf pack, TC uca's, DO single hoop bumper, BAMF bolt-on sliders w/ kickouts, Rigid 20" e-series spot/flood, aFe pro-dry, BFG KM2 255/85/16, silver TRD FJ wheels, WARN M8000-s, Access LE, Grillcraft, BAMF lightbar, BAMF rear dif skid, BAMF LCA skids, window tint, Wet Okoles, WeatherTech floorliners, Silverstar lights, led dome lights, Redline Tuning hood struts, center console lock mod, mag-lite mod, extra d-rings, re-routed exhaust, ATO skids, ATO Hi-Lift mounts, pipe tailgate lock, seatbelt alarm delete, wheel/spare locks, Viper 5901, LoJack... WISHLIST: a golden canary that poops platinum
    I do NOT have the software since it's PC only. :( Folks at HRO said it was a lot easier to program w/ software, and looked at me cross-eyed when I said I don't have a PC. My ham is Yaesu ft-8900r. What's yours? I'll check out the manual when I get home, but is setting PL/CTCSS easy? Wouldn't I simply be able to tune in a frequency and go car-to-car, or does everything have to go through a repeater?


    Alright, will do! Thanks!
     
  9. Apr 24, 2013 at 11:39 AM
    #189
    The Traveler

    The Traveler [OP] Desert Chief

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Member:
    #75806
    Messages:
    6,828
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    1991 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Prerunner
    I have the Yaesu FT2900-R, so the only difference is mine is a single band, and yours is quad band.

    You can use just radio to radio communication called "simplex". But your range will be dependent on how much power the radios are putting out, and the signal strength and location of the antennas. My setup will operate on simplex with a range of about 20 miles if the conditions are right.

    But I can hit the Catalina repeater from the desert.
     
  10. Apr 24, 2013 at 12:01 PM
    #190
    Chipskip

    Chipskip N7MCS

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42519
    Messages:
    9,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chip
    Phoenix / Payson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma Limited
    Deck Plate, '17 rims, Tundra Brake Upgrade, All-Pro Expo Leaf Packs, 01-04 Center Console, Ultragauge, LED interior lights, HO alternator...
    DO you have a Mac or Linux machine or are you living computer free?
     
  11. Apr 24, 2013 at 12:17 PM
    #191
    carcharias

    carcharias Giggiddy what what

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48988
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 AC MGM OR
    Kings all-around w/ 700lb coils, Dakar leaf pack, TC uca's, DO single hoop bumper, BAMF bolt-on sliders w/ kickouts, Rigid 20" e-series spot/flood, aFe pro-dry, BFG KM2 255/85/16, silver TRD FJ wheels, WARN M8000-s, Access LE, Grillcraft, BAMF lightbar, BAMF rear dif skid, BAMF LCA skids, window tint, Wet Okoles, WeatherTech floorliners, Silverstar lights, led dome lights, Redline Tuning hood struts, center console lock mod, mag-lite mod, extra d-rings, re-routed exhaust, ATO skids, ATO Hi-Lift mounts, pipe tailgate lock, seatbelt alarm delete, wheel/spare locks, Viper 5901, LoJack... WISHLIST: a golden canary that poops platinum
    lol Mac. Is there software? I haven't checked, but I could see the HRO folks not mentioning that tidbit since they were definitely about making $$ off me yet didn't have Mac software...
     
  12. Apr 24, 2013 at 12:23 PM
    #192
    Chipskip

    Chipskip N7MCS

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42519
    Messages:
    9,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chip
    Phoenix / Payson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma Limited
    Deck Plate, '17 rims, Tundra Brake Upgrade, All-Pro Expo Leaf Packs, 01-04 Center Console, Ultragauge, LED interior lights, HO alternator...
    I use a Mac too.

    Chirps is free and considered one of the best software out there (win/OSX/Tux). They support a metric butt load of radios. So you can continue to use it as you expand your radio collection. I recently got a 8800 and it worked perfectly.

    I got this cable from Amazon because it has an FTDI chip, just google for the drivers and you will be all set.: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0035DSVW8/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


    Also, if you are trying to hit a repeater you need to know what the PL tone is, each repeater sets this for their repeater and it wont pickup your signal without it. The 8800 and 8900 have the ability to listen to a channel and pickup the PL tone, so if you don't know it, that is a really cool feature.

    I paid the $18 for the quick reference guide from HRO, it has helped me out a lot.
     
  13. Apr 24, 2013 at 12:26 PM
    #193
    Chipskip

    Chipskip N7MCS

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42519
    Messages:
    9,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chip
    Phoenix / Payson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma Limited
    Deck Plate, '17 rims, Tundra Brake Upgrade, All-Pro Expo Leaf Packs, 01-04 Center Console, Ultragauge, LED interior lights, HO alternator...
  14. Apr 24, 2013 at 12:51 PM
    #194
    carcharias

    carcharias Giggiddy what what

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48988
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 AC MGM OR
    Kings all-around w/ 700lb coils, Dakar leaf pack, TC uca's, DO single hoop bumper, BAMF bolt-on sliders w/ kickouts, Rigid 20" e-series spot/flood, aFe pro-dry, BFG KM2 255/85/16, silver TRD FJ wheels, WARN M8000-s, Access LE, Grillcraft, BAMF lightbar, BAMF rear dif skid, BAMF LCA skids, window tint, Wet Okoles, WeatherTech floorliners, Silverstar lights, led dome lights, Redline Tuning hood struts, center console lock mod, mag-lite mod, extra d-rings, re-routed exhaust, ATO skids, ATO Hi-Lift mounts, pipe tailgate lock, seatbelt alarm delete, wheel/spare locks, Viper 5901, LoJack... WISHLIST: a golden canary that poops platinum
    AWESOME!!! Thank you! Think that cable works w/ the 8900r? Am trying to find the store's email to ask them... Yeah, I got the HRO quick guide, too, and will check it out during lunch.
     
  15. Apr 24, 2013 at 1:04 PM
    #195
    Chipskip

    Chipskip N7MCS

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42519
    Messages:
    9,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chip
    Phoenix / Payson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma Limited
    Deck Plate, '17 rims, Tundra Brake Upgrade, All-Pro Expo Leaf Packs, 01-04 Center Console, Ultragauge, LED interior lights, HO alternator...
    I know the Amazon page for that cable says 7900/8800, but every where else I look says 7900/8800/8900 for the same cables. You can search "FTDI chip usb cable ft-8900" and might find something you can be more confident in buying.

    I don't remember what the other chipset is (PCLI or something), but avoid it at all cost!! I have it for my wuoxun and most cables come with a chinese knock off version of that chipset that is a royal PITA to get to work with macs (or windows 8). Ask me how I know! You need the FTDI chipset to get it to work.

    Edit:
    In the product description for the cable I linked it says:
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013
  16. Apr 24, 2013 at 1:12 PM
    #196
    MonkeyProof

    MonkeyProof Power Top

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Member:
    #9774
    Messages:
    9,896
    SoCal- SGV
    I would suggest the programming software and cable from RTsystems..you can also find free software available from two sources but you will still have to buy the programming cable. When i get home later tonight I'll post the links to the free software sources. :cookiemonster:
     
  17. Apr 24, 2013 at 1:17 PM
    #197
    Chipskip

    Chipskip N7MCS

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42519
    Messages:
    9,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chip
    Phoenix / Payson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma Limited
    Deck Plate, '17 rims, Tundra Brake Upgrade, All-Pro Expo Leaf Packs, 01-04 Center Console, Ultragauge, LED interior lights, HO alternator...
    From RT Systems website:
    The RT Systems programmers are Windows based. There are no plans in the works currently to move them to native MAC operations.

    So unless he is planning on running some form of vmware, it wont work for him (which can be it's a whole different headache...ask me how I know!). Also, the newest cables for v4 of RT, will only work with RT. I like having the option of using a $30 (sale price at HRO right now) cable on what every I want. $25 for a cable that will work with RT's software OR any of the other ones out there, is more practicably. You can always buy the RT software without the cable for $20.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013
  18. Apr 24, 2013 at 1:18 PM
    #198
    MonkeyProof

    MonkeyProof Power Top

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Member:
    #9774
    Messages:
    9,896
    SoCal- SGV
  19. Apr 24, 2013 at 1:28 PM
    #199
    carcharias

    carcharias Giggiddy what what

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48988
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 AC MGM OR
    Kings all-around w/ 700lb coils, Dakar leaf pack, TC uca's, DO single hoop bumper, BAMF bolt-on sliders w/ kickouts, Rigid 20" e-series spot/flood, aFe pro-dry, BFG KM2 255/85/16, silver TRD FJ wheels, WARN M8000-s, Access LE, Grillcraft, BAMF lightbar, BAMF rear dif skid, BAMF LCA skids, window tint, Wet Okoles, WeatherTech floorliners, Silverstar lights, led dome lights, Redline Tuning hood struts, center console lock mod, mag-lite mod, extra d-rings, re-routed exhaust, ATO skids, ATO Hi-Lift mounts, pipe tailgate lock, seatbelt alarm delete, wheel/spare locks, Viper 5901, LoJack... WISHLIST: a golden canary that poops platinum
    lol Mac FTW!!! :wink:

    Thanks, guys!
     
  20. Apr 24, 2013 at 1:34 PM
    #200
    Chipskip

    Chipskip N7MCS

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42519
    Messages:
    9,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chip
    Phoenix / Payson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma Limited
    Deck Plate, '17 rims, Tundra Brake Upgrade, All-Pro Expo Leaf Packs, 01-04 Center Console, Ultragauge, LED interior lights, HO alternator...
    I had a major programming SNAFU with my wuoxun, couldn't hit any repeaters, but could listen all day long. This was getting really annoying. When I dug deeper into the issue, I was not surprised it was 100% user error. I switched from the software I was using and tried and to get it working with a windows only software through VMware. Two days later and several emails back and forth between my ham guru and I finally got chirps and a good repeater list from the local repeater association. So, when I got the 8800r, I didn't mess with it, I got the new cable and copy and pasted the repeater list into chirps. Both radios hit the repeaters without issue and my drive time is much more entertaining.
     

Products Discussed in this Thread

To Top