1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amateur (Ham) Radio BS and Callsign Thread!

Discussion in 'Sports, Hobbies & Interests' started by The Traveler, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Jul 7, 2020 at 12:12 PM
    #7601
    PilotMM

    PilotMM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Member:
    #316078
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    '17 TRDOR DCSB
    RLD Canopy, Icon Stage 4 plus RXT leaf
    This is whats happening. Thanks for the clarification. I have only had my call sign about a week and a half. Other than the rote knowledge for the test I am still learning all the different modes. I mainly want to use APRS so my family can track me and send me messages. I have a Garmin InReach but the messaging portion gets costly, especially if you don't go one month out into the sticks. Personally I would like to use the InReach on its most basic plan for SOS options and APRS to send messages home.

    -M
     
  2. Jul 7, 2020 at 12:23 PM
    #7602
    PilotMM

    PilotMM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Member:
    #316078
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    '17 TRDOR DCSB
    RLD Canopy, Icon Stage 4 plus RXT leaf

    Is the 6x2 a Btech? I feel like using this as my primary Tx/Rx will be limited because its still only 5 watts. The reason I want to get a Mobile system is to have a little more power at my disposal so I can hit distant repeaters.

    Again, pardon my n00b.
    -M
     
  3. Jul 7, 2020 at 12:39 PM
    #7603
    joshuajayg

    joshuajayg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Member:
    #313511
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Moab
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Off-Road MT
    Asking questions is what it takes. The tests don't teach you how to use a radio or what to look for, that's what we are for.

    Speaking of, what would be a good HF mobile mount? I plan to use Shark Hamsticks. Should I get a lip mount for the hood or build a bracket for the bed? The bed is mainly plastic so that seems problematic.
     
    PilotMM likes this.
  4. Jul 7, 2020 at 1:37 PM
    #7604
    medic2230

    medic2230 @Koditten Pirate Radio member #002

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    63,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Bama! Roll Tide
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB 2019 TRD PRO 4runner
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper, Air Flow Snorkel, Ham comms, Tech Deck

    You do realize the letters on the keypad of the mic are there for typing messages, right?

    0D2BED28-2220-4DE5-A96E-C03DE6F9CEA0.jpg
     
  5. Jul 7, 2020 at 1:39 PM
    #7605
    joshuajayg

    joshuajayg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Member:
    #313511
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Moab
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Off-Road MT
    Hadn't used one of those radios but... duh! Haha. I use that to key in memory names in the past. Didn't think about that with radios that do APRS.
     
  6. Jul 7, 2020 at 2:56 PM
    #7606
    foy1der

    foy1der Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Member:
    #197597
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    W1FOY
    Vehicle:
    2017 OR DCLB
    No worries. We all start somewhere. The reason that I suggest an ht over the mobile dmr is that the mobile dmr is... How to put it lightly. It's garbage. I despise using it for anything but dmr. It's just junk. Get a real mobile unit like the v71a and get a dedicated dmr ht to use on dmr with a hotspot. Please accept this advice from someone who has all these radios and has them because mistakes were made.
     
  7. Jul 7, 2020 at 3:06 PM
    #7607
    medic2230

    medic2230 @Koditten Pirate Radio member #002

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    63,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Bama! Roll Tide
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB 2019 TRD PRO 4runner
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper, Air Flow Snorkel, Ham comms, Tech Deck

    That’s on my d710g so the v71a should do the same thing.
     
  8. Jul 7, 2020 at 3:19 PM
    #7608
    medic2230

    medic2230 @Koditten Pirate Radio member #002

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    63,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Bama! Roll Tide
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB 2019 TRD PRO 4runner
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper, Air Flow Snorkel, Ham comms, Tech Deck

    I use DMR locally and can’t get out of the truck on the ht. If I’m outside I’m on the edge of coverage. Have you tried using a bigger antenna on the ht? The ones that come with them are lacking to say the least. In the truck if I want to use DMR mobile I have a magnetic dual band antenna I’ll throw on top and screw the sma connection On the ht. My D710 is on a NMO Mount on the roof. You can also use the hotspot Connected to your phones WiFi like Foy1der said. I usually use mine like that camping when there’s no DMR repeaters around. For DMR I’m using a Alinco DJ-MD5GP.


    I’ve never had the need for a tablet running APRS on the d710G. If I want a visual I can run the app on my iPhone. And see who’s around or find the repeaters in the area on it.
     
    m603holden likes this.
  9. Jul 7, 2020 at 3:40 PM
    #7609
    m603holden

    m603holden @Koditten Pirate Radio member #063

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Member:
    #140581
    Messages:
    11,457
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marteeen
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma DCSB OR MT
    Lots of sail boat fuel
    Yeah I think any of them would be nice. In terms of looks I'd rank them ftm400, d710 and the ftm-300 last.


    Function wise they'll all do the same thing, with the yaesu having wires-x as an additional feature.

    I'd probably read some reviews. I think the review ham radio 2.0 in YouTube did noted the face plate pops off with light force. Only an issue if you don't run it remote, which sounds like you will.

    Personally for a strict aprs rig I still like the d710 specifically for the fact of having buttons. Far more buttons to achieve what you would have to scroll through a menu to do with the yaesu. That'll be a personal thing really.

    I'd probably Opt up to the ftm400 if you're thinking about off the 300. I'm assuming you'll want the size. Good luck @PilotMM
     
  10. Jul 7, 2020 at 6:11 PM
    #7610
    joshuajayg

    joshuajayg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Member:
    #313511
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Moab
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Off-Road MT
    The V71A has the same mic and I have used it to enter memory names. I just hadn't used a D710G so using the mic to text hadn't come across my mind. Reminds me of the beginning days of texting when teenage girls could text at 50wpm with those buttons.
     
    m603holden and medic2230 like this.
  11. Jul 7, 2020 at 8:28 PM
    #7611
    Newlife

    Newlife Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Member:
    #106845
    Messages:
    8,541
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Knoxville TN
    Vehicle:
    2020 t4r orp
    Bone f’n stock for now
    FWIW I can run APRS on my 400atm and type limited text with the mic. But you can also if you’re not driving (safety first) type on the 400 touch screen. It pulls up a full QWERTY keyboard. I had the d710 for about 3 weeks before I decided I didn’t like it. Nothing wrong with it. I just really liked the 400 more.
     
    m603holden and Old Marine Cal like this.
  12. Jul 8, 2020 at 4:18 AM
    #7612
    krandolp

    krandolp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Member:
    #196875
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kent
    Tristate AZ, CA, NV
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Expedition Essentials TPAM with wiring cover. Warm White LED Hood Lights (Matt Gecko) Warm White LED Under Bed Rail Lights Red LED Under Bed Rail Lights Overland Equipped Auxiliary Power Box (Aluminum mount, 100 amp Breaker, Blue Sea Systems 12-circuit fuse block, Positive and Negative Battery Leads) DiamondBack HD Tonneau Bed Cover
    *** GMRS license required, easy to obtain (SAME DAY). The GMRS-50X1 operates on GMRS (General Mobile Radio Service) frequencies, which require an FCC (Federal Communications Commission) license. You must be licensed prior to transmitting.
     
    m603holden likes this.
  13. Jul 8, 2020 at 8:34 AM
    #7613
    demo243

    demo243 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Member:
    #69298
    Messages:
    554
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Devon
    Topsfield MA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCLB TRD 4x4
    Havent been very active recently... super busy... but just popped in and saw this.

    Things may have changed since I last paid attention to this, but there is one big draw back to the Yaesu and that is there is no way to connect it directly to aprs droid - I am running the 100dr and while yes it has a built in TNC it cannot be accessed by a 3rd party program- it is one way only per say. I believe the 400dr is the same, not sure on the 300dr, but I would definitely check on it... Also check that the 300rd is able to monitor radio traffic and APRS at the same time - the 100dr has a dual watch function, but when the APRS beacon is turned on it will transmit on what ever frequency you are on, so it is not functional to do both at the same time.

    For my purposes the 100dr has been fine. I preset a few APRS messages in memory so it is easy to send them quickly - I basically use it to text via APRS when there is no service and let my wife know I made it to camp and send a google map link - Check out SMSGTE for that info.

    If you are serious about APRS or want to use it extensively the Kenwood is supposed to be the best and is the most open and accessible via 3rd party software/hardware.
     
    PilotMM and m603holden like this.
  14. Jul 8, 2020 at 8:46 AM
    #7614
    m603holden

    m603holden @Koditten Pirate Radio member #063

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Member:
    #140581
    Messages:
    11,457
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marteeen
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma DCSB OR MT
    Lots of sail boat fuel
    K400 mount tends to be the staple
     
  15. Jul 8, 2020 at 9:27 AM
    #7615
    PilotMM

    PilotMM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Member:
    #316078
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    '17 TRDOR DCSB
    RLD Canopy, Icon Stage 4 plus RXT leaf
    I appreciate your input. To get APRS on the V71A do I sacrifice a channel for dedicated function? I haven't considered anything other than the FTM or the D7XX series because they have APRS function built in. I feel like you are telling me to get an HT that has dedicated DMR just to use that mode. I don't know the benefits of DMR while way out off the grid. Care to elaborate?




    I just ordered a signal stick for my HT but it is a Baofeng so I haven't heard great things about it because of the noise the HT puts out. It worked better with my Nagoya but I dropped it on the antenna and it broke. New whip will be here in a few days. What iPhone app are you using? I have hard that apple doesn't have great connectivity with any BT head unit.


    So another vote for Kenwood. or the larger of the of the FTM's

    To me it seems the 300 and the 400 are identical in terms of function. If the 300 was out when you bought the 400 would you have opted for the smaller form factor?

    I have considered getting a used FTM-100 if I could find one for the right price. They pop up on eHam and QRZ from time to time for $200-$250. Would it be worth the savings? I don't have a problem paying nearly $500 for a radio but I also have to consider an antenna and hardware/wiring which I imagine will be at least 10% of my total cost. Have you considered the Mobilinkd TNC3 for the FTM-100? Ultimately it brings the cost to get in up and adds another variable.


    This is tough guys, I was just about sold on the Yaesu and looking for the little price break over the Kenwood. Now it looks like Kenwood will do what I want more efficiently. I will just keep putting pennies in the Piggy Bank until I have enough lol :spending:

    -M
     
    m603holden likes this.
  16. Jul 8, 2020 at 9:35 AM
    #7616
    PilotMM

    PilotMM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Member:
    #316078
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    '17 TRDOR DCSB
    RLD Canopy, Icon Stage 4 plus RXT leaf
    To the APRS Elmers that are already helping me so far. What would I need to convert a Kenwood TM-V71A into an APRS unit? A GPS input and an external TNC? Since its dual band could I have it continuously broadcasting on APRS on channel 2 while using channel 1? IIRC I though I saw that the Yaesu actually won't let you do that, it will either drop a packet on APRS or not let you TX on the alternate frequency. Can anyone confirm?


    If there is a savings in getting a V71A with the associated extras that is a route I would consider because looking at the basic specs on Gigaparts, the V71A looks like a great unit.

    -M
     
  17. Jul 8, 2020 at 9:40 AM
    #7617
    medic2230

    medic2230 @Koditten Pirate Radio member #002

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    63,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Bama! Roll Tide
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB 2019 TRD PRO 4runner
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper, Air Flow Snorkel, Ham comms, Tech Deck

    I’m running MyAPRS. It runs independent of the radio.


    To me the d710 offers plenty of info on the screen.


    CB0BB285-16E0-475D-83A1-34E1CB5D55B4.jpg 3CC2DDD2-EC07-4198-BA47-EDCA71DE5F77.jpg 33BDB03C-7883-43DE-B9BF-591693D6466B.jpg
     
    PilotMM likes this.
  18. Jul 8, 2020 at 9:41 AM
    #7618
    Newlife

    Newlife Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Member:
    #106845
    Messages:
    8,541
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Knoxville TN
    Vehicle:
    2020 t4r orp
    Bone f’n stock for now
  19. Jul 8, 2020 at 9:42 AM
    #7619
    m603holden

    m603holden @Koditten Pirate Radio member #063

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Member:
    #140581
    Messages:
    11,457
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marteeen
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma DCSB OR MT
    Lots of sail boat fuel
    • A tnc device. You can either make one or buy one.
    https://store.mobilinkd.com/products/mobilinkd-tnc2-2

    • Ideally a tablet or Droid phone for display. Reportedly you can get an upgraded tnc that runs with an apple phone, but I've heard mixed reviews.

    I'll find my writeup for you
     
    PilotMM likes this.
  20. Jul 8, 2020 at 9:43 AM
    #7620
    medic2230

    medic2230 @Koditten Pirate Radio member #002

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    63,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Bama! Roll Tide
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB 2019 TRD PRO 4runner
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper, Air Flow Snorkel, Ham comms, Tech Deck

    I run APRS on the right side and run repeaters on the left side. To me by time you buy a V71a and add all the stuff to it you’re pretty much paid for a d710. Other option is putting a d710g head in a v71a making it a d710g. I don’t believe they are making those replacement heads anymore.
     
    PilotMM likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top