1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amp Kit wiring help

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Sproulesxrunner, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Jan 4, 2011 at 5:45 PM
    #1
    Sproulesxrunner

    Sproulesxrunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Member:
    #45328
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Xrunner
    Too much for TW to know
  2. Jan 4, 2011 at 5:54 PM
    #2
    Killer

    Killer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Member:
    #37417
    Messages:
    592
    Gender:
    Male
    Mobile, Al.
    Vehicle:
    98 4x4 TRD V6 3.4L SR5 XCab Gold with Tan Int
    19,000 Original Miles, Factory Alarm, Factory Tow Package, Low Profile UWS Black Tool Box, 20ft. of Dynamat Xtreme, Pioneer Double Din DVD 3200BT, IPod Holder, Q Form Kick Panels, 3 Pairs of MB Quart component speakers, JL Audio Stealthbox, Alpine PDX-5 amp, PIAA Foglights, WeatherTech Floor Mats, Maxxis Big Horn Mud Tires 32 x 11.5 R x 15, Wet Okole Seat Cover for 60/40 Bench, 5100's Front & Rear, Wheeler's Single Leaf AAL, Warn 8,000 Winch, Warn Transformer Brush Guard, Stebel Nautilus Compact Horn
    Your link did not work.

    The ground cable should run from your amp any large bolt that connects the frame of the truck. The frame is your negative for the entire truck, so you don't have to run a negative wire all the way back to battery.
     
  3. Jan 4, 2011 at 6:25 PM
    #3
    Dbl Taco

    Dbl Taco Hard Taco

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Member:
    #34034
    Messages:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach,Va
    Vehicle:
    2013 X-Runner Supercharged
    Urd intake Urd stealth pulley Djm 3/4 DTLT headers Urd o2 sim Xii performance stock coils
    find u some flat metal on the truck under carpet take some sandpaper or flathead and scrap paint until bare metal is exposed.put a ring terminal on one end of neg wire take about(3) 1/4 self tap screws and screw the neg wire down to the bare metal thats your ground
     
  4. Jan 4, 2011 at 6:35 PM
    #4
    Sproulesxrunner

    Sproulesxrunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Member:
    #45328
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Xrunner
    Too much for TW to know
  5. Jan 4, 2011 at 6:44 PM
    #5
    JLink

    JLink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36795
    Messages:
    11,333
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    The "Big Nig"
    Lifted, Locked, Armored. Ready To Wheel.
    what do you mean you cant use it? why is it too thick? you could run two separate grounds.. one for each amp.
     
  6. Jan 4, 2011 at 6:49 PM
    #6
    mrmumbels

    mrmumbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46331
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    Land O Lakes, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    none
    Run 1/0 to a dis block then run something a little smaller to your amps.
     
  7. Jan 4, 2011 at 7:03 PM
    #7
    silvr07taco

    silvr07taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Member:
    #47947
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    07 prerunner Access Cab
    K&N air filter, Dual XDMA6415, Sound Ordnance™ M-1350, Infinity 1252w, Custom 12" sub box.
    :thumbsup:
     
  8. Jan 4, 2011 at 7:15 PM
    #8
    Sproulesxrunner

    Sproulesxrunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Member:
    #45328
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Xrunner
    Too much for TW to know
    Okay sorry for the vague info. I thought I posted my build here but it was on xr-u. I am running the amps underneath the seats. I was planning on using a 4-8 gauge ground wire for each amp. There are plenty of good ground connections in that area and there is no need for me to use a power distributor to make them into 1 large ground. Also I am no audio expert but I think 0 gauge for a ground is kind of over kill. I am using 4-8 gauge for my power inputs to the amps.
     
  9. Jan 4, 2011 at 7:27 PM
    #9
    mrmumbels

    mrmumbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46331
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    Land O Lakes, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    none
    4 guage is fine for power on the jl1000 up to 12 ft. You can get away with 12ga for the jl1000 at a 2ft length

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Jan 4, 2011 at 8:03 PM
    #10
    silvr07taco

    silvr07taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Member:
    #47947
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    07 prerunner Access Cab
    K&N air filter, Dual XDMA6415, Sound Ordnance™ M-1350, Infinity 1252w, Custom 12" sub box.

    Typically whatever gauge you use for the 12v input to the amp, you should also use for the amp ground. For example, for 12v in you use a 4 gauge, use a 4 gauge wire for the ground. i would not use a 4 gauge 12v input, and use a 8 gauge ground wire.
     
  11. Jan 4, 2011 at 8:14 PM
    #11
    Sproulesxrunner

    Sproulesxrunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Member:
    #45328
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Xrunner
    Too much for TW to know
    Just for the info for the power from the battery I am running a 0 gauge to a power distributer and from there to the amps is less than 2 feet. From the power distributer I am running a 4 gauge to the 1000/1 and 8 gauge for the 450/4. The grounds I am planning to use are less than 2 feet away. I am going to do each amp individually and going to run a 4 gauge for the 1000/1 and 8 gauge for the 450/4. Thanks for the input guys and girls
     
  12. Jan 4, 2011 at 8:28 PM
    #12
    silvr07taco

    silvr07taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Member:
    #47947
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    07 prerunner Access Cab
    K&N air filter, Dual XDMA6415, Sound Ordnance™ M-1350, Infinity 1252w, Custom 12" sub box.
    :thumbsup: sounds like your well on your way! cant wait to see it when its done! :D

    :EDIT: do you have the 0 gauge fused or with a breaker?
     
  13. Jan 4, 2011 at 8:37 PM
    #13
    Sproulesxrunner

    Sproulesxrunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Member:
    #45328
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Xrunner
    Too much for TW to know
    Sorry man... little confused? I have a 250 amp fuse right by the two yellow tops batteries. When I get all of it set up I will post lots of pics.
     
To Top