1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amp mounting with eBay dual 10" sub box?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by CrazyDiamond, Apr 7, 2013.

  1. Apr 7, 2013 at 10:39 AM
    #1
    CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Member:
    #98956
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 TRD / DC / SB
    I'm looking at a dual 10" sub box online (1/2 price audio) for my '11 double cab. I'm trying to determine if I can mount my 4 channel amp vertically between the subs. Specifically, I'm curious about the thickness of the amp and the ability to latch the seats.

    Can anybody comment? Got pics?
     
  2. Apr 8, 2013 at 7:41 AM
    #2
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    4,396
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Need the amp measurements before I could even guess. I have a Kenwood XR-5S mounted horizontally, but I did attach some wood to fill in the lower part of the amp board "step", such that I could attach the amp using all 4 mount points.
     
  3. Apr 8, 2013 at 9:19 AM
    #3
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    11,625
    Gender:
    Male
    Was able to fit a Alpine 5 channel amp just fine on that box. Used thread through bolts/nuts and mounted it that way. Worked great.
     
  4. Apr 8, 2013 at 9:37 AM
    #4
    tacomatrdod

    tacomatrdod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Member:
    #101352
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    Mud Country
    Vehicle:
    2010 tacoma trd offroad
    Toolbox, stereo upgraded a tad
    AN alpine 1700w, class d block
    and a something or other smaller 4 channel probobally a kenwood, i just picked the most popular 4 channel for my speakers.
    I had to cut into one of the boxes for the class d, but alls well that ends with it thumping still, i just put allot of wadding where i had cut and am having no issues whatsoever.
     
  5. Apr 12, 2013 at 5:39 AM
    #5
    CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Member:
    #98956
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 TRD / DC / SB
    The box came yesterday. For the $$$, it's not too bad. The carpeting job was a little weak (a couple ripples where it wasn't smoothed out after gluing), but overall it is fairly well made.

    Here is the tight spot:
    [​IMG]

    My amp is just too thick. Cutting the box out in the center won't give me enough to clear the amp - this amp is just too long and too tall:
    [​IMG]

    I guess I'll look into putting the amp under the seat. It may be too long for that, too. This amp has inputs on both ends - which doesn't help. :( An old school Fosgate punch would be perfect here...
     
  6. Apr 12, 2013 at 6:13 AM
    #6
    CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Member:
    #98956
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 TRD / DC / SB
    Was this the JL Audio G1700 ?

    EDIT: Never mind - I measured the box and found a monoblock that should fit well enough. Looks like I'm running my subs mono in parallel now...
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013
To Top