1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amp Setup Question?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by flyby08, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. flyby08

    flyby08 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Member:
    #7233
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    san francisco
    Vehicle:
    2008 TRD sport 4x4 short bed
    TRD Catback exhaust, Topdeck tonnaeu cover, locking gas cap, all weather floor mats, Pop-n-lock tailgate, painted black rims, volant CAI with RAM air scoop, 10" MTX thunder sub with 2ch amp, Alpine SPS-609 and 600, Pioneer AVHP-3200BT HU
    Hello everyone in TW land i was having a thought that I wanted to see if anyone could help me out with their part experiences.

    Currently in my taco I am running pioneer AVH -3200BT head unit with 4 Alpine type S speakers (6x9 in the front and 6-1/2" in the rear); and the speakers are running off of the head unit. I also have and 10" MTX sub running off a ch2 MTX amp that I have bridged at 280 RMS (this is a sub i had from a older subaru that i had)

    Now i have been thinking about amplifying the 4 four doors speakers as well; what my questions is would it be better to get a new 4ch amp for the speakers and have to 2 amps? or to replace the 2ch amp with a 5ch amp and run the whole system off one amp? I not sure the pros or cons from either setup any insight you guys would be able to provide would be much appreciated.

    thanks

    ps. please let me know if you need more info on the system that would help you answer the question.
     
  2. lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
    It will probably be cheaper to get another amp. The sound quality should be the same either way. Getting a 5-channel amp should result in a cleaner/simpler installation.
     
  3. 06SR5canada

    06SR5canada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Member:
    #60338
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    06 dblcab SR5
    2ndary air filter removed, flowmaster 40
    ^^ agree'd

    i guess it depends if you want to spend more cash or not.
     
  4. loganlangley

    loganlangley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Member:
    #64028
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    logan
    south alabama
    Vehicle:
    2011 trd sport 4x4
    Full JL Audio speaker swap with stealthbox, hid headlight and foglight conversion, weathertech floormats, UWS low profile black toolbox, 5100 billies with eibachs in the front and 5100 billies with 1.5 icon leaf pack in the rear.
    i have two amps in mine with a clean setup. mine sounds awesome.
     
  5. dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    Careful to not buy a 4 channel amp that overpowers your 280 watts worth of sub. Of course, I'm not sure how well those Alpine door speakers hold up when you start pushing them with a little bit of sack either. Just be careful to get something that integrates well with what you already have.

    I personally went with a 5 channel amp, but that's ultimately less flexible in the event you wish to upgrade to biamping components or something later on.
     
  6. 06SR5canada

    06SR5canada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Member:
    #60338
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    06 dblcab SR5
    2ndary air filter removed, flowmaster 40
    something like 75x4@ 4 ohm would work fine

    what i would do, personally, is buy something like 150x2 ditch the rear speakers and buy some nice components for up front
     
  7. Linelock4

    Linelock4 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Member:
    #59616
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jared
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    04 Extra-cab V6 5-speed 4x4 Limited TRD
    Spectra intake and Air-Raid throttle body spacer.
    You can add an Alipine 4-channel V-power MRP-F300 to you SS series speakers and land the amp under your drivers front seat. I say this because I have done it for a customer I had. Just keep in mind there is a bracket under the seat that has a plug cliped to it. You are going to have to bend the bracket up out of the way. The reason is to allow the seat to move back and forth without getting hung up on the amp. I have used this exact amp with those exact speakers and as long as the cross overs are set right your good. Also you can just level make the gain on the amp to blend perfect with the sub.
     
  8. flyby08

    flyby08 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Member:
    #7233
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    san francisco
    Vehicle:
    2008 TRD sport 4x4 short bed
    TRD Catback exhaust, Topdeck tonnaeu cover, locking gas cap, all weather floor mats, Pop-n-lock tailgate, painted black rims, volant CAI with RAM air scoop, 10" MTX thunder sub with 2ch amp, Alpine SPS-609 and 600, Pioneer AVHP-3200BT HU
    that is the actual setup that I was thinking about. I was just thinking that the two amps would be messy, but is sounds like it can be done cleanly. I am currently running a 8guage power cable from the battery, if i switch to the two amps would I need to upgrade to a 4 gauge to a distribution block?

    thanks for all the input everyone.
     
  9. 06SR5canada

    06SR5canada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Member:
    #60338
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    06 dblcab SR5
    2ndary air filter removed, flowmaster 40
    8 might be small for both amps, id just do another run to the battery with 8 or 4
     
  10. mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    Do this. If you run 2 amps, either will be fine.

    If you go to a 5 channel, still want to upgrade to a 4ga.
     
To Top