1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

amp turns on then immediately off

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by JoshLV, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. Feb 3, 2011 at 7:36 PM
    #1
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
    So you've probably noticed I've made a few threads asking for help on my audio installation. Bare with me, first time and I've searched.
    So everything is hooked up and I readily turn my truck on, ready for this shit to hit hard. Nothing.... my amp blinked once and went off. Tightened all the connections but still nothing. I thought maybe it was the remote wire not fully spliced into the receiver, but its tight. Help lol.
     
  2. Feb 4, 2011 at 6:55 AM
    #2
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    Is the remote wire spliced into the correct wire? i.e. ignition wire? Sounds like your amp is going into protect mode to me, is it brand new? What make is it? Have you checked your ground wire?
     
  3. Feb 4, 2011 at 7:07 AM
    #3
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Make sure nothing is grounding out.

    I had this happen recently when I was installing a stereo in my sister's car, it turned out I had accidentally tightened a bolt down on the remote wire and broken the shielding so it was grounding out causing the amp to go into protect.
     
  4. Feb 4, 2011 at 8:10 AM
    #4
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
  5. Feb 4, 2011 at 8:27 AM
    #5
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Did you sand the paint off of the chassis under the ground? How long is your ground? It needs to be as short as possible.

    Also, trace all your wires from front to back and make sure nothing is grounding out.

    How are you sending audio signal? RCA's or speaker level input?
     
  6. Feb 4, 2011 at 9:43 AM
    #6
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
    No I didn't sand the paint. There is a bolt that does down into the frame it sits about where the front door meets the back door, on the floor under the paneling. I have the ground bolted to that. The ground is MAYBE 12 inches. I have RCA cables running from the receiver to amp, blue and white.
     
  7. Feb 4, 2011 at 9:48 AM
    #7
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Sand the paint off the chassis around the screw/bolt down to the bare metal so you get a good ground connection. there could be paint/primer in the threads of that hole that are preventing the amp from getting a good connection.

    It's also usually best to make your own new ground. Sometimes it's hard to tell that the factory bolt hole is a good metal to metal connection.
     
  8. Feb 4, 2011 at 9:54 AM
    #8
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
    Ill try that. Thanks. Also, my sub has 2 positive and 2 negative terminals. If it was hooked up wrong to the sub would this cause the problem?
     
  9. Feb 4, 2011 at 9:58 AM
    #9
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Yes, you could have it wired so the Impedance (Ohms) are too low for the amp to remain stable.

    Is your amp mono/2ch/4ch?

    What Ohms is your amp rated to be stable down to?

    You could potentially wire the voice coil down to 2ohm.

    Post your model# of your sub and the model# of your amp and I can tell you how you need to wire it.
     
  10. Feb 4, 2011 at 10:14 AM
    #10
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
  11. Feb 4, 2011 at 10:43 AM
    #11
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    If the model # you listed is right, you have Dual 4 ohm Voice coils which leaves you a two methods. One is @ 8ohms or @2 ohms. The amp is rated at 900 watts rms @ 2 ohms so I'm kinda leary about wiring it that way because the sub is only rated at 800 watts RMS maximum.

    I'm sure someone else could chime in on this, but I personally would wire at 8ohms since that puts you in "safe" range. The only downside to this is that you aren't giving it it's full power potential at 8ohms.

    If you had purchased the dual 2ohm voice coil version of that sub, you could wire it at 4ohms and be giving it 500 watts of power which is within range.


    I personally only run about 180 watts to my 10" sub @ 4ohms. My sub is rated up to 300 watts rms.

    Your amp is stable down to 1 ohm so the amp is ok...
     
  12. Feb 4, 2011 at 11:01 AM
    #12
    mikracer

    mikracer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Member:
    #45664
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 RC | 4x4 | 2.7 | 5 speed
    I would wire it down to 2ohm. You'll most likely not run into any problems at any level other than cranked to the max. Your amp appears to be 1 ohm stable, so it shouldnt be going into safe mode due to ohm stability. I would check the fuses in the amp and your ground. It could also be that your amp was damaged in shipping and something internal got knocked loose.
     
  13. Feb 4, 2011 at 11:05 AM
    #13
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
    Actually I think it is the dual 2 ohm version. If I remember correctly that's what it has on the box. How would I wire it as such? I have it wired as left positive and left negative.
     
  14. Feb 4, 2011 at 11:10 AM
    #14
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    This is straight from the owners manual
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Feb 4, 2011 at 11:26 AM
    #15
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
    Which one's which lol? should I go with the center ones?
     
  16. Feb 4, 2011 at 11:52 AM
    #16
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Basically take one wire and run it from (+) to (-) ...you are essentially connecting the two voice coils together. Then run your (+) from the amp to the (+) that's left and your (-) from the amp to the (-) thats left.

    I think the picture pretty much explains itself lol
     
  17. Feb 4, 2011 at 12:35 PM
    #17
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
    I know that part. But there are 2 negs and 2 pos on the sub. Does it matter which? How to I make it 4 ohm as opposed to 2 ohm? Probably idiotic question.
     
  18. Feb 4, 2011 at 12:37 PM
    #18
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    The way you wire it determines the impedance.

    Do the terminals on your sub look like the picture above?
     
  19. Feb 4, 2011 at 3:47 PM
    #19
    JoshLV

    JoshLV [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Member:
    #49457
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Hanford, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma SR5
    Yeah it lloks like the pic but has only pos and neg markings, with 2ohm over the top of each pair.
     
  20. Feb 4, 2011 at 4:28 PM
    #20
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Ok so wire it just like the picture then.

    Run a wire bridging the two middle connectors (+) and (-). then hook your speaker wire from the amp up to the other two.

    This will wire you at 4ohms which according to your amp specs will give you 500 watts RMS.
     
To Top