1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amps installed but no power to speakers

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by lonzorizo, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:06 PM
    #1
    lonzorizo

    lonzorizo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Member:
    #42784
    Messages:
    1,073
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lonnie
    Chester, Ca
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD Tacoma
    Deck Plate Mod, AFE Pro Dry-S Filter, Gray Wire Mod, Wicked Flows Max Muffler, Nitrochargers & 882's w/10mm spacer, 10" 5125's & 3" standard all-pro leafs, AP Shackles, 33x12.50 mtr kevlars, projector retrofit...etc etc.
    Driving me crazy. I have a 4ch amp and a mono amp. The 4ch amp is wired to my front door speakers via speakers wires i ran. Mono amp wired to sub. I'm using a pioneer avh-p2300 headunit which has 2 rca outputs (fl,fr) and (swl,swr). Have everything wired up both amps have power/14 volts running to them. But i Cant get sound to my sub or speakers!! Using a mulitimeter i get no power out of either amp's speaker outputs. What gives???
     
  2. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:09 PM
    #2
    ttran

    ttran Expert Mallcrawler

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48975
    Messages:
    787
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    06 DCLB Prerunner Sport
    TRD Sport Prerunner
    I had the same problem with my amp. Went back and checked all my connections and ended up removing it from the truck. Put the amp back in a half hour later and it's been fine since then. :confused:
     
  3. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:38 PM
    #3
    lonzorizo

    lonzorizo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Member:
    #42784
    Messages:
    1,073
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lonnie
    Chester, Ca
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD Tacoma
    Deck Plate Mod, AFE Pro Dry-S Filter, Gray Wire Mod, Wicked Flows Max Muffler, Nitrochargers & 882's w/10mm spacer, 10" 5125's & 3" standard all-pro leafs, AP Shackles, 33x12.50 mtr kevlars, projector retrofit...etc etc.
    That's weird..i've like re-checked everything 5 times...still nothing from either amp. Only sound i get is from the stock rear speakers. Ruined my night :mad:
     
  4. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:44 PM
    #4
    Warhorseforever

    Warhorseforever Will The Thrill

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Member:
    #56023
    Messages:
    4,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Sand Lapper
    Vehicle:
    2001 Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner SR5
    Kenwood KDC-348U HU Kicker DS65 Front Doors Only 2 Polk Audio MM840 Kenwood KAC 8105D for subs SuperCrewSound.com behind rear seat sub box
    Have you checked your power sources, or your fuses? How is your grounding point, did you ground to bare metal? Power to the amp via wire hooked to the battery? Are the wires hooked up properly, ie + from battery into + on the amp and vice versa for grounding wire. You've got the speaker wires hooked up right?
     
  5. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:45 PM
    #5
    davestaco

    davestaco TW's number one gear whore

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42134
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Schofield Barracks
    Vehicle:
    00' tacoma xtra cab trd v6 4x4
    is your remote wire connected?
     
  6. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:46 PM
    #6
    PcBuilder14

    PcBuilder14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Member:
    #58522
    Messages:
    19,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    Missouri
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tacoma TRD/SR5 4x4
    Suspension: Front - Bilstein 5100's/Eibach coils Rear - All Pro Expo Leafs/Rear Icon Remote Reservoir Shocks Wheels & Tires: 33x12.50x15 KM2's/Summit Racing 85 Black 8 Series Wheels/15x8/3.75" Backspacing [U]Armor:[/U] - [URL="http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/relentless-fabrication/152694-just-released-re
    Also make sure you ran a remote wire, sounds simple but a lot of people forget.
     
  7. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:48 PM
    #7
    Warhorseforever

    Warhorseforever Will The Thrill

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Member:
    #56023
    Messages:
    4,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Sand Lapper
    Vehicle:
    2001 Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner SR5
    Kenwood KDC-348U HU Kicker DS65 Front Doors Only 2 Polk Audio MM840 Kenwood KAC 8105D for subs SuperCrewSound.com behind rear seat sub box
    If nothing else set your MM to Ohms and check for continuity in the positive and negative of the amp then do the same for the speaker hook up points. Your head unit is set to run the amp isn't it? Maybe you criss crossed the RCA's or the high inputs. All stuff that has happened to me. It's easy to make a mistake with all those wires.
     
  8. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:49 PM
    #8
    lonzorizo

    lonzorizo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Member:
    #42784
    Messages:
    1,073
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lonnie
    Chester, Ca
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD Tacoma
    Deck Plate Mod, AFE Pro Dry-S Filter, Gray Wire Mod, Wicked Flows Max Muffler, Nitrochargers & 882's w/10mm spacer, 10" 5125's & 3" standard all-pro leafs, AP Shackles, 33x12.50 mtr kevlars, projector retrofit...etc etc.
    All the above done. Amp's turn on fine...just not sending any power out of the speaker outputs. And if the remote wire wasn't connected the amps wouldnt turn on. Has to be a problem with the rca's not sending anything to either of the amps...have no idea why that would be though.
     
  9. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:52 PM
    #9
    ttran

    ttran Expert Mallcrawler

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48975
    Messages:
    787
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    06 DCLB Prerunner Sport
    TRD Sport Prerunner
    Get an rca cable that you can hook up an ipod/mp3 player to and plug it straight into your amp instead of through the head unit. This way you'll be able to narrow your search down. It could be the amp.
     
  10. Oct 27, 2011 at 8:55 PM
    #10
    onesixseven

    onesixseven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Member:
    #48210
    Messages:
    761
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Santa Clarita California
    Vehicle:
    02 Prerunner SR5
    3.5" Kind Coilovers Total Chaos UCA's 31" BFG A/T's 8000k hi/lo HID kit Flowmaster Super 44 5% tint all around exterior LED's Deck Plate Mod bedlined flares debadged Full Fosgate/JL Audio Stereo
    yea firs thought was remote wire. borrow a friends amp, and see if it works, if it does then u know its your amp, it prolly is faulty, if the amp doesnt work, then its your rca's. first, double check your rca's in the headunit, i know its easy to pull them out on accident when installing it into the dash. lastly, check your amps fuses. my buddy got a jl 4 channel through ebay one time and the fuses in it were already blown :confused:
     
  11. Oct 27, 2011 at 9:19 PM
    #11
    lonzorizo

    lonzorizo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Member:
    #42784
    Messages:
    1,073
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lonnie
    Chester, Ca
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD Tacoma
    Deck Plate Mod, AFE Pro Dry-S Filter, Gray Wire Mod, Wicked Flows Max Muffler, Nitrochargers & 882's w/10mm spacer, 10" 5125's & 3" standard all-pro leafs, AP Shackles, 33x12.50 mtr kevlars, projector retrofit...etc etc.
    I just had the mono amp hooked up to another system last week, I know it works. This pioneer hu is confusing as far as outputs are concerned. I swear everything is set up right...I have the hu pulled out and went over the wiring a bunch of damn times. Frustrated as hell.
     
  12. Oct 27, 2011 at 9:22 PM
    #12
    ttran

    ttran Expert Mallcrawler

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48975
    Messages:
    787
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    06 DCLB Prerunner Sport
    TRD Sport Prerunner
    I'm thinking your rca's
     
  13. Oct 27, 2011 at 9:26 PM
    #13
    lonzorizo

    lonzorizo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Member:
    #42784
    Messages:
    1,073
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lonnie
    Chester, Ca
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD Tacoma
    Deck Plate Mod, AFE Pro Dry-S Filter, Gray Wire Mod, Wicked Flows Max Muffler, Nitrochargers & 882's w/10mm spacer, 10" 5125's & 3" standard all-pro leafs, AP Shackles, 33x12.50 mtr kevlars, projector retrofit...etc etc.
    I have like 3 pairs of rca's that I tried on each amp...none of them changed the outcome. Looked over my HU manual a bunch too to see if my HU isn't sending the output to the amp. Can't find any setting like such though.
     
  14. Oct 27, 2011 at 9:36 PM
    #14
    ttran

    ttran Expert Mallcrawler

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #48975
    Messages:
    787
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    06 DCLB Prerunner Sport
    TRD Sport Prerunner
    I'm able to turn my sub on/off with my HU while the amp remains on. Maybe your HU has something along the lines of that?
     
  15. Oct 27, 2011 at 9:42 PM
    #15
    lonzorizo

    lonzorizo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Member:
    #42784
    Messages:
    1,073
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lonnie
    Chester, Ca
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD Tacoma
    Deck Plate Mod, AFE Pro Dry-S Filter, Gray Wire Mod, Wicked Flows Max Muffler, Nitrochargers & 882's w/10mm spacer, 10" 5125's & 3" standard all-pro leafs, AP Shackles, 33x12.50 mtr kevlars, projector retrofit...etc etc.
  16. Dec 13, 2011 at 7:10 AM
    #16
    saitcho

    saitcho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Member:
    #65596
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    '11 DC 4x4 trd off road
    Did you double check that you have the speakers wired? I've definitely put a speaker in a door before and forgotten to actually hook up the wires!
     
  17. Dec 14, 2011 at 8:17 PM
    #17
    lonzorizo

    lonzorizo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Member:
    #42784
    Messages:
    1,073
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lonnie
    Chester, Ca
    Vehicle:
    03 DC TRD Tacoma
    Deck Plate Mod, AFE Pro Dry-S Filter, Gray Wire Mod, Wicked Flows Max Muffler, Nitrochargers & 882's w/10mm spacer, 10" 5125's & 3" standard all-pro leafs, AP Shackles, 33x12.50 mtr kevlars, projector retrofit...etc etc.
    Lol yeah man...the problem wasn't on my end. The damn amp didnt work in the first place...hooked a multimeter to the oututs and nothing. Sonic electronix refunded me and I got a rockford fosgate amp instead. All is well now.
     
To Top