1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Another Laptop advice thread

Discussion in 'Technology' started by rcchris, Apr 27, 2015.

1. Apr 27, 2015 at 4:16 PM
    rcchris

rcchris [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Halifax
    Vehicle:
    '12 v6 4wd access cab auto black
    I am looking for some advice on a laptop. I am not that tech savvy and cannot build my own laptop that's for sure. I have been researching as best I can, and seem to be more overwhelmed with all the options that are out there. So basically I am looking for a laptop to replace my old desktop. I am not into gaming, and not really looking at apple products either. What I want it mostly for is for basic Internet duties, some photo/video editing and multi-media stuff. And the woman will be using for some light work stuff, basically Microsoft office stuff.
    So I guess what I find confusing is, what specs i need for this stuff, while having something that will last me a few years, without becoming slow as hell after only a little bit.
    I am looking for a 15" screen, as that seems big enough to me. I wouldn't say it has to be very portable, wouldn't be lugging anywhere other than in the house really. After all my research, I think I would rather a 7600rpm Hdd over a 5400. Now I know SSD's are better, but expensive for the size differential of Hdd.

This laptop is about the top I would want to spend on one, any thoughts on this one? Is it overkill for what I need?
    Edit, got link to work.
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicati...p?EdpNo=9545225&SRCCODE=MDOTCA&MobileOptOut=1

Last edited: Apr 27, 2015
  2. Apr 28, 2015 at 2:58 PM
    snowbrdd