1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Any Malware experts?

Discussion in 'Technology' started by TRDSport2006, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. Dec 5, 2009 at 11:33 AM
    #1
    TRDSport2006

    TRDSport2006 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18392
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    02 Corolla
    So I download a lot of music off of rapidshare and mediafire, and I've dealt with Malware viruses before, but this one is a bit tricky. They call it 'Advanced Virus Remover.' I googled it, but I need to access the registry and task manager to manually remove it.
    It disabled my task manager, sound card, registry, and install shield. So I can't download any potential malware removers. I have spyware doctor, but it hasn't been doing much to remove it.
    I tried deleting the file, but that's as far as I can get before it comes right back.
    Any ideas on what to do? I don't have an external hard drive available and really don't want to wipe the hard drive, I have a lot of important programs that I don't have the install discs for anymore and I really don't want to get rid of them. :eek:
     
  2. Dec 5, 2009 at 11:36 AM
    #2
    Yoytoda

    Yoytoda The Little Truck That Could

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Member:
    #23690
    Messages:
    4,949
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roland
    Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4
    completely stock
    :eek: Sounds like "antivirussystemPRO" :goingcrazy: < me when trying to get it off the gfs laptop.
     
  3. Dec 5, 2009 at 11:40 AM
    #3
    4low2go

    4low2go Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26896
    Messages:
    731
    Gender:
    Male
    Coatesville, PA
    Vehicle:
    10 RC 4x4 5sp MGM
    Curt hitch, OBX Shift
    Sounds like a a job for "Wipedrive".
     
  4. Dec 5, 2009 at 11:56 AM
    #4
    mrp192

    mrp192 REALLY!!

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Member:
    #13911
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    Cheney WA
    Vehicle:
    98 V6 4x4 limited
    Stereo, boobies
    NO NO NO use a program called ESET. out of all the anti-virus/firewall/spyware/malware programs this one is the best ive used..
     
  5. Dec 5, 2009 at 11:57 AM
    #5
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,741
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Where do you get ESET?
     
  6. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:00 PM
    #6
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    4,272
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 F150
    download and run both malwarebytes and superantivirus. They are both free and they got rid of that pesky anti virus system pro on a guy's computer at work(took me three hours).

    Turn off your computer and start it in safe mode if you can then run those programs. I couldn't start the computer in safe mode so I had to shut the computer down. I downloaded the programs on another computer and then I would turn the computer on and here is the key-you have to get the program going before the virus starts working. So as soon as your icons pop up start installing the program. Then the virus will start and block any other actions from occuring but if you have the install going you're good. Next, you will have to shut the computer down again because the virus will block you from running any programs.

    Repeat the first step. Turn the computer on and as soon as the icons pop up double click the icon of the antispyware program you installed. It should scan without issue as long as you do it before the virus pops up on start up.

    Now malwarebytes did not get everything so I used superantispyware as well and went through the same process as I did with the first program. Hope this helps.
     
  7. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:04 PM
    #7
    TRDSport2006

    TRDSport2006 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18392
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    02 Corolla
    I don't think I failed to mention my install wizard has been tampered with as well. I can't install any new software, everything is going to have to be completely manual.
    When I try to open task manager or my registry, it says my administrator has disabled these privileges. (I am the admin?) I booted in safe mode and tried the administrator profile and it still had the same issue.
    I'm running XP by the way.
     
  8. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:09 PM
    #8
    fatty ac1d

    fatty ac1d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Member:
    #25387
    Messages:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Liberal, Kansas
    Vehicle:
    15 MGM DCSB SR5
    If you can't run malwarebytes or superantispyware, try installing them to a flash drive on another computer and update them, then run the programs on your computer from the flash drive. Also, rename the .exe file on both to something other than what they already are. (Example: mbam.exe to cornflakes.exe)
     
  9. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:10 PM
    #9
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    4,272
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 F150
    Sorry, I edited my post. I gave a little more info on what worked for me.
     
  10. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:14 PM
    #10
    TRDSport2006

    TRDSport2006 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18392
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    02 Corolla
    Thanks a bunch. I'll give this a go. :)
     
  11. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:14 PM
    #11
    mrp192

    mrp192 REALLY!!

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Member:
    #13911
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    Cheney WA
    Vehicle:
    98 V6 4x4 limited
    Stereo, boobies
    www.eset.com
     
  12. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:24 PM
    #12
    4low2go

    4low2go Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26896
    Messages:
    731
    Gender:
    Male
    Coatesville, PA
    Vehicle:
    10 RC 4x4 5sp MGM
    Curt hitch, OBX Shift
    I like the cornflakes.exe. A bug tore up my mbam.exe on contact. Everytime I clicked it things got worse.
     
  13. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:32 PM
    #13
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    4,272
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 F150
    That must have been a nasty sucker. One good reason to run the OS on a separate drive.
     
  14. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:43 PM
    #14
    4low2go

    4low2go Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26896
    Messages:
    731
    Gender:
    Male
    Coatesville, PA
    Vehicle:
    10 RC 4x4 5sp MGM
    Curt hitch, OBX Shift
    Actually, I run a separate internet PC. When things start acting funny, I just Wipedrive it. Saves so much time.
     
  15. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:46 PM
    #15
    Taco-NB

    Taco-NB MMMMM Taco's

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16662
    Messages:
    1,744
    Gender:
    Male
    New Brunswick
    Vehicle:
    '09 4X4 SR5 Access Cab V6 - Black Sand Pearl
    Gotta stop looking at porn sites that require you to install a porn viewer. .... Or so I hear ..... I wouldn't know from personal experience. :eek::eek:

    .
    :D:D:D
     
  16. Dec 5, 2009 at 12:59 PM
    #16
    i30nes

    i30nes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9499
    Messages:
    529
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa Palms, FL
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 Impulse Red
    De-badged, Grillcraft grille w/ devil horns. Work in progress :)
    Well... I have used malwarebytes alot to help remove some malware. However I had some at my work that were just a PITA to remove so I had to use some other programs. With luck I was able to use Avast AV to remove it since the program allowed to perform a scan upon boot. Since the program or files in question in question weren't running they wouldn't be able to stop the programs from running just yet. Also you may want to check your startup programs to see if you can disable it there.
     
  17. Dec 6, 2009 at 12:21 AM
    #17
    TRDSport2006

    TRDSport2006 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18392
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    02 Corolla
    No luck so far. When I boot into safe mode, I get the same error at startup before any programs are loaded - even before explorer.exe, so it's impossible to start a program before the virus begins to operate.
    Grr
     
  18. Dec 6, 2009 at 7:50 AM
    #18
    i30nes

    i30nes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9499
    Messages:
    529
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa Palms, FL
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 Impulse Red
    De-badged, Grillcraft grille w/ devil horns. Work in progress :)
    Did you try using avast? It doesn't require a boot into safe mode.

    Whats the error you get during startup?
     
  19. Dec 8, 2009 at 10:09 AM
    #19
    kingston73

    kingston73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,453
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    Just a shot in the dark, do you have your xp installation cd? If yes, you might be able to use that and use sytem restore to go back to before you had the virus. If you put the cd in and boot from that it gives you options for system restore or fixing windows errors. If you've tried everything this can't hurt.
     
  20. Dec 8, 2009 at 10:30 AM
    #20
    jammdogg

    jammdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18600
    Messages:
    859
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    Hillsboro, OR
    Vehicle:
    13 Spruce Mica DCLB
    6" ProComp lift on 35 MT's. ARB Bumper.
    I have occasionally had this happen to some of my customers. If you can remove the hard drive, and add it to a second system as a slave, it would not run any programs at startup, as windows is not running on that drive. You might try a BART_PE boot disk with malware tools also.

    HTH

    James
     
To Top