1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

anyone install DAYSTAR 1000 series lights??

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by jhodge83, May 13, 2009.

  1. May 13, 2009 at 7:05 PM
    #1
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 [OP] Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    I got my package w/ 2 daystar 8.5" lights....they have no instructions, about a foot of 3x wires, and no harness. i can easily run the black for ground and red for power, but there is a third wire of brown. have no idea whats its for. the daystarweb.com sites sucks donkey balls and have no listing of any offroad lights. i also bought one of their lighted rockers and is shows which wires go where, but nothing for the actual lights. thinking of installing them w/ nothing on the brown if i cant find anything else
     
  2. May 13, 2009 at 7:08 PM
    #2
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    the extra wire is probably for the switch.....especially if the switch lights up. is it a 3 pole switch?
     
  3. May 13, 2009 at 7:12 PM
    #3
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 [OP] Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    the switch is just on/off. it has a connector for power in, ground, and power out. the brown puzzles me...:D
     
  4. May 13, 2009 at 7:15 PM
    #4
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    well,ok......so are you saying its a 3 pole switch?? normally, on a 3 pole switch, there is the earth(ground), supply(12v +) and accessory(light)...if thats the case, try hooking it up that way. post a pic of the switch if you dont mind.
     
  5. May 13, 2009 at 7:18 PM
    #5
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 [OP] Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    shouldnt the power on the lights come through the switch? every other set i've wired up have had only 2 wires and the power came from the switch. ground was ground, but power came from the power out on the switch and the switch had 3 connections for power to lights, ground, and power from the battery/fuse
     
  6. May 13, 2009 at 7:21 PM
    #6
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    hmm....with a 2 pole switch, way i always run lights is........1 from swith to battery with a fuse, other to lights, and ground from lights to battery. on a 3 pole switch, and both ways im mentioning are without relays.......is what i posted above. you wouldnt/shouldnt need a power in and out separate i wouldnt think. and i have never had any problems with any lights i have wired........and most of the time, i've never used a relay with them.

    the switch had 3 connections for power to lights, ground, and power from the battery/fuse.......this is correct.
     
  7. May 13, 2009 at 7:29 PM
    #7
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 [OP] Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    if ur asking me, that is correct...but it still doesnt explain what the brown wire on the lights is for
     
  8. May 13, 2009 at 7:30 PM
    #8
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    :annoyed::D.......................does the switch appear as if it will be a light up switch when its on???
     
  9. May 13, 2009 at 7:31 PM
    #9
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 [OP] Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?

    yes...
     
  10. May 13, 2009 at 7:34 PM
    #10
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    ok.....one will go to the battery with a fuse link, one will definitely go to a ground, and the other will go to the lights. it may be trial and error since we arent sure how their switch is set up...............but im guessing brown is either accessory or ground......., so try black as ground,brown as lights and red as battery with fuse.....if it aint right, just swap them around a bit. the fuse.......for trying it out...use a 10 amp fuse.
     
  11. May 13, 2009 at 7:38 PM
    #11
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 [OP] Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?

    sweetheart.....the brown is on the lights....not the switch. each light has black/brown/red. i know how to wire the switch, my question is the lights. the lights wont require a 12V, ground, AND connection back to the switch

    PS--get in the damn chat and make this go faster...haha
     
  12. May 13, 2009 at 7:40 PM
    #12
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    ah......i didnt realize the friggin lights had 3 wires.:eek:
     
  13. May 13, 2009 at 7:42 PM
    #13
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 [OP] Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,102
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    read the first line i wrote in the first post...
     
  14. May 13, 2009 at 7:42 PM
    #14
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    blah,blah.....go to chat room!
     
To Top