1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Arizona emissions

Discussion in 'Arizona' started by 05RedTaco, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. Jan 4, 2012 at 11:19 AM
    #1
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    I am thinking of getting set of JBA long tube headers, those delete front cats. I will get o2 sim so no check engine light. I am wondering if anyone with long tubes here in Phoenix Arizona has trouble passing emissions...

    Even if they would give me crap I can always put stockers back in, its only few hours of work and the LT headers are worth the BRAAAAAAAAAAP.

    Also how is it if you have cut exhaust? Will they give me any crap for that? My exhaust terminates right after rear axle. Again its not a big deal... I have the piece I cut and I can easily just clamp it back together...
     
  2. Jan 4, 2012 at 11:38 AM
    #2
    Specalt

    Specalt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Member:
    #56173
    Messages:
    852
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2011 SR5 4x4
    This has to do with were the exhaust dumps. You technically can't have it under the vehicle, due to carbon monoxide .. bla bla bla.. passenger compartment .. even though no none rides in the bed.. You exhaust needs to be blown clear of the vehicle.

    I'm think I'm cut the same way you are. I come out just past the rear axle but it does not vent to "open air".
     
  3. Jan 4, 2012 at 11:39 AM
    #3
    PLC721

    PLC721 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Member:
    #28268
    Messages:
    18,246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Chandler, Az
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab
    See Build in Sig
    i have long tubes....but have not gone thru emissions yet....but i really am not worried about it, it will pass :thumbsup:
     
  4. Jan 4, 2012 at 11:55 AM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    104,117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    All they do at emisions is check the fuel cap, and plug an OBDII reader into the diag. port. If no engine light, then your good to go! They dont care about headers, or anything else.
     
  5. Jan 4, 2012 at 2:25 PM
    #5
    OH-MAN

    OH-MAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Member:
    #16324
    Messages:
    2,279
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Sunny Az.
    Vehicle:
    10 4X4 O.R. White
    TRD skid painted black,
    If you are not throwing a code when they check then you are cool.
    However they will want to see the exhaust out from under the body.
    That is what I encountered many years ago with a Camero my son had.
     
  6. Jan 4, 2012 at 2:50 PM
    #6
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    Thanks for the quick responses! Nice to know that with long tubes and o2 sim I will be good to go! Gonna put the exhaust on I cut off with a clamp before I go...
     
  7. Jan 4, 2012 at 3:29 PM
    #7
    Cr250jumper

    Cr250jumper Señor member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47033
    Messages:
    10,350
    Gender:
    Male
    The moon
    Vehicle:
    50 shades of tan
    Tacoma with some stuff melted to it
    Im actually qualified to do emissions for a fleet so its a little different than an inspection station. The law says the inspectors are supposed to make sure all of the factory supplied emissions equipment is still operable (cats, air injection system, purge assy, etc) but they never do. All they really do is plug in to OBD and make sure the light comes on and goes back off after starting. Now when the inspectors come by and do our testing they will fail me if I do not get under the unit to check the cats and other systems. So once again you will probably be ok, but AZ law states you must have all OEM emissions equipment to pass inspection
     
  8. Jan 4, 2012 at 4:20 PM
    #8
    Andrew H

    Andrew H What is this "search" you speak of?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Member:
    #10545
    Messages:
    4,256
    Gender:
    Male
    Dirty Tucson
    Vehicle:
    2010DCSB4X4TRDORMGM
    See build thread.
  9. Jan 5, 2012 at 2:48 AM
    #9
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,624
    Gender:
    Male
    Yup, I used to work for the emissions here. Chris4x4 is right. Don't worry about it.
     
  10. Feb 2, 2012 at 1:04 PM
    #10
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    They didn't care about my cut exhaust, however my truck failed because the gas cap is bad...UGH!
     
  11. Feb 2, 2012 at 1:05 PM
    #11
    97yota4wd

    97yota4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Member:
    #42280
    Messages:
    13,014
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Mesa, AZ
    Vehicle:
    alot of metal, small engine, decent travel.
    caged, camburg long travel, 50t leafpack (soon to be installed) light rack over cab, 5pt harnesses etc
    and let me guess, they took your money, then told you you didnt pass huh?
     
  12. Feb 2, 2012 at 1:10 PM
    #12
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    of course. its bullshit. you can run NO cats and still pass if you don't have check engine light on... retarded and waste of time
     
  13. Feb 2, 2012 at 1:12 PM
    #13
    TRDguyKC

    TRDguyKC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Member:
    #9316
    Messages:
    998
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Glendale, AZ
    It seems you have your answer now. I was going to say I had my subaru catless and ran through emissions with the code cleared and I passed.

    i have been running DT longtubes for the last... 3 years.... and JUST bought the o2 sensor from URD because I HAVE to take my 07 through emissions this month boo.
     
  14. Feb 2, 2012 at 1:13 PM
    #14
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,624
    Gender:
    Male
    Ha this is so true. I used to run my 99 civic , b16 turbo kit, 11psi Turbo setup, no cat at all.. They'd plug in the obd2, it'd pass, test my gas cap, I'm all set. Never even had to fire up the car, just turn on the ignition.
     
  15. Feb 2, 2012 at 1:15 PM
    #15
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    So in the goverment's eyes you can run catless, but if you gas cap is bad they fail you. Wonder whats worse... Running catless or bad gascap...hmmm
     
  16. Feb 2, 2012 at 1:18 PM
    #16
    Cr250jumper

    Cr250jumper Señor member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47033
    Messages:
    10,350
    Gender:
    Male
    The moon
    Vehicle:
    50 shades of tan
    Tacoma with some stuff melted to it
    A Cat just helps "trim" the emissions. If your check engine light is not on and you do not have a O2 simulator then you are not running high levels of CO or HC's. If your gas cap doesnt work you are venting fuel vapors to the atmosphere
     
  17. Feb 2, 2012 at 2:53 PM
    #17
    05TacoRunner

    05TacoRunner You say tomato..........I say fuck you!

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Member:
    #55578
    Messages:
    2,561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Peoria, Az
    Aftermarket nuts and bolts
    I am pretty sure if you fail you get two free attempts to pass before they charge you again.
     
  18. Feb 2, 2012 at 6:05 PM
    #18
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,658
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    New gas cap for $16.80 at a local dealer and the Taco passed... I thought of getting cheapo gas cap at O'reilys, but I like OEM parts on my Taco...
     
To Top