1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ATM Mini Add-A-Circuit?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by n2advnture, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. Mar 16, 2010 at 10:17 AM
    #1
    n2advnture

    n2advnture [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30694
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    New Market, MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Double Cab 4x4 TRD Sport Longbed
    Front skid plate color matched to wheels, Weather Tech floor mats, Window visors, Bug deflector, Exhaust tip, Bed mat, EZ down tail gate, Redline hood struts, Cover Wet Okole custom seat covers w/ heaters, FJ Anthracite Special Edition Wheels, 265/75/R16 BFG All-Terrain KOs, Pioneer Avic Z110BT, Back up cam in Pop N Lock, XTang Solid Fold tonneau, Escort Xi45 hardwired radar detector, Scan Gauge II
    I'm trying to add a circuit for my hard wired radar detector to the fuse panel located in cab but can't seem to locate an "Add-A-Circuit" designed for the atm mini (new gen short legs).

    Anyone have any idea where to find an "Add-A-Circuit" that fits or an alternative method for tapping into in an existing fuse?

    TIA!

    ~Mark
     
  2. Mar 16, 2010 at 10:19 AM
    #2
    NAAC3TACO

    NAAC3TACO Just east of crazy

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Member:
    #8350
    Messages:
    4,257
    Gender:
    Male
    Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 DCLB 4x4
    Color matched door handles, Weathertech floor liners, bed mat, Durafit seat covers, tailgate clamp, 2016 TRD Sport 17" wheels with Toyo A30 tires, Toyota exhaust tip, Toyota/Yakima bike rail mount, Toyota wheel locks, Toyota hitch cover.
    The regular atm add a circuit works fine. I used one for my fog light install. They just stick up a little higher, but are the same size.
     
  3. Mar 16, 2010 at 10:25 AM
    #3
    Bryan07sport

    Bryan07sport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Member:
    #23363
    Messages:
    360
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Newark, Delaware
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport Access 6spd
    Hardwire GPS, 110v power outlet in cab, foglights anytime, mudflaps removed, pa-15 ipod interface, rear leaf tsb, URD short shift, integrated third brake/cargo light, ABS disable switch, BHLM, Dynomax super turbo muffler, Nitto Terra Grapplers 265/70/17, Front Bilstein 5100's at 1.75, Weathertech floormats, sockmonkey bedsides, bestop supertop, spidertrax
    ditto. buy a regular one. they work great. pepboys, autozone, wherever. i've got 2 in there. one in one of the blank spots for my gps (only gets power when the car is on, and one for my cargo lights that i ran out of the power door lock fuse (gets power all the time)
     
  4. Mar 16, 2010 at 11:12 AM
    #4
    PreRunner

    PreRunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30930
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    just make sure it's still the mini. but yeh, it would work fine. just dont expect to pull out an OEM fuse and put it in the ad-a-circuit. buy extras with longer legs for that. and use the radio to power it.
     
  5. Mar 16, 2010 at 11:16 AM
    #5
    NAAC3TACO

    NAAC3TACO Just east of crazy

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Member:
    #8350
    Messages:
    4,257
    Gender:
    Male
    Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 DCLB 4x4
    Color matched door handles, Weathertech floor liners, bed mat, Durafit seat covers, tailgate clamp, 2016 TRD Sport 17" wheels with Toyo A30 tires, Toyota exhaust tip, Toyota/Yakima bike rail mount, Toyota wheel locks, Toyota hitch cover.
    Good advise, but the add a circuit usually comes with extra fuses of different amps to use with the install. At least the one I bought did.

    http://www.littelfuse.com/data/en/Data_Sheets/FHM02FHA02.pdf
     
  6. Mar 16, 2010 at 11:17 AM
    #6
    PreRunner

    PreRunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30930
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    i will also suggest a visor clip for the radar, and clip it to the actual headliner itself. i also use a short stip of velcro for added grip.
     
  7. Mar 16, 2010 at 11:39 AM
    #7
    n2advnture

    n2advnture [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30694
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    New Market, MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Double Cab 4x4 TRD Sport Longbed
    Front skid plate color matched to wheels, Weather Tech floor mats, Window visors, Bug deflector, Exhaust tip, Bed mat, EZ down tail gate, Redline hood struts, Cover Wet Okole custom seat covers w/ heaters, FJ Anthracite Special Edition Wheels, 265/75/R16 BFG All-Terrain KOs, Pioneer Avic Z110BT, Back up cam in Pop N Lock, XTang Solid Fold tonneau, Escort Xi45 hardwired radar detector, Scan Gauge II
    Sweet, headed to the store shortly. Thanks a TON!

    BTW - PreRunner, I hard wired a Qi45 (sensor mounted in the grill) since I live in the only state where detectors are illegal (rrrrr).

    Thanks again guys, I really appreciate it.

    ~Mark
     
  8. Mar 17, 2010 at 3:39 AM
    #8
    n2advnture

    n2advnture [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30694
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    New Market, MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Double Cab 4x4 TRD Sport Longbed
    Front skid plate color matched to wheels, Weather Tech floor mats, Window visors, Bug deflector, Exhaust tip, Bed mat, EZ down tail gate, Redline hood struts, Cover Wet Okole custom seat covers w/ heaters, FJ Anthracite Special Edition Wheels, 265/75/R16 BFG All-Terrain KOs, Pioneer Avic Z110BT, Back up cam in Pop N Lock, XTang Solid Fold tonneau, Escort Xi45 hardwired radar detector, Scan Gauge II
    Ok, picked up the ATM add-a-circuit and installed in into the 7.5a fuse marked "gauge" (couldn't find the for the radio).

    Turn on and seemed to work fine. Driving in this morning the unit said "check receiver wiring" and the "maint reqd" light came on (but could be a coincidence since I need an oil change).

    I assume that since the gauges are on a dimmer that this may affect the amount of power going to the radar detector which may cause the unit to read "check receiver wiring"?
     
  9. Mar 17, 2010 at 6:33 AM
    #9
    PreRunner

    PreRunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30930
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    top row of fuses, third slot in from the right.
     
  10. Mar 18, 2010 at 3:36 AM
    #10
    n2advnture

    n2advnture [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30694
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    New Market, MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Double Cab 4x4 TRD Sport Longbed
    Front skid plate color matched to wheels, Weather Tech floor mats, Window visors, Bug deflector, Exhaust tip, Bed mat, EZ down tail gate, Redline hood struts, Cover Wet Okole custom seat covers w/ heaters, FJ Anthracite Special Edition Wheels, 265/75/R16 BFG All-Terrain KOs, Pioneer Avic Z110BT, Back up cam in Pop N Lock, XTang Solid Fold tonneau, Escort Xi45 hardwired radar detector, Scan Gauge II
    Thanks!

    Btw - I figured out the problem. It's was "PLBSWAS" (problem lies between steering wheel and seat) :D

    I didn't have the receiver hooked up correctly. Works like a charm now!

    Thanks again for all the help, I really appreciate it

    ~Mark
     
    Bigskybob likes this.
To Top