1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Auto windows

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Doug86, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. Apr 19, 2011 at 7:03 PM
    #1
    Doug86

    Doug86 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Member:
    #24687
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Greater Boston
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma
    Does anyone know or has anyone tried to fit additional auto window switches in a Tacoma. I was also wondering about auto up but think it is more than just the switch and probably the motor.
    Doug
     
  2. Apr 19, 2011 at 7:12 PM
    #2
    sambojee

    sambojee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53629
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD OffRoad
    Bilstein 5100 all around set at 2.5. 1.5 AAL in the rear. 265/75/16 Hancook Dynapro MTs on Black Moto Metal 951s. Black badges. Aftermarket grill. TRD seat covers.
    i guess u could do it but u would have to buy a new door panel
     
  3. Apr 19, 2011 at 7:13 PM
    #3
    sambojee

    sambojee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53629
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD OffRoad
    Bilstein 5100 all around set at 2.5. 1.5 AAL in the rear. 265/75/16 Hancook Dynapro MTs on Black Moto Metal 951s. Black badges. Aftermarket grill. TRD seat covers.
    oh whoops my bad, i was thinking about something else
     
  4. Apr 19, 2011 at 7:15 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    What else is there?
     
  5. Apr 19, 2011 at 7:16 PM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I thought I read somewhere that you would have to replace the entire switch panel in the door with one that already had the auto down/up in it....:confused:
     
  6. Apr 19, 2011 at 8:31 PM
    #6
    knayrb

    knayrb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Member:
    #32473
    Messages:
    979
    Gender:
    Male
    Somewhere in the square states
    Vehicle:
    2010 Dbl-Cab Off-Road
    Pure stock
  7. Apr 20, 2011 at 5:42 AM
    #7
    patpatpat

    patpatpat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Member:
    #52399
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '11 Prerunner SR5 4cyl 2WD DC
    This is what I know.

    The "auto" function works by having (2) things that the normal ones don't
    1) a coil - for induction purposes
    2) a locking clip - to initiate its automatic mode

    Not going to explain how an inductor works, but the way a window switch works is by electrical contact (like a telegram). The stored energy in the inductor is released when you pass a certain mechanical threshold (push the button beyond half a click).

    In other words, the stock window operation assembly/enclosure has room only for 1 set of items list above.
     
  8. Apr 22, 2011 at 11:28 AM
    #8
    53flattie

    53flattie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Member:
    #48677
    Messages:
    168
    Gender:
    Male
    Upstate, SC
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC
    2.5" OME
    Funny that this came up because I've been thinking about it lately too... My wife has a Sequoia and I really like that the drivers side has an auto down button for the passenger side, as well as auto up for both. I started thinking about whether it would be possible to swap the buttons from a Sequoia to a Tacoma (she probably wouldn't compain for long:D). I pulled the switch panel out of the door of my truck and looked underneath. It looks like the external "buttons" sit atop a "box" (for lack of a better term) which probably contains all the electronics. I then figured that it wouldn't be as easy as just swapping the buttons, but that it might require switching out the "box" that's underneath the buttons as well.

    Does that make sense, and/or sound possible?
     
  9. Apr 22, 2011 at 3:15 PM
    #9
    07TaCo07

    07TaCo07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34167
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    oregon
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab 6" lift
    6" fab tech lift, 35" toyo m/t, 17" teflon wheels
    I was thinking the same. My friend has auto up for all windows in his toyota prius or however its spelled. Swapping the switches would be an easy fix if it could be done
     
To Top