1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Auxillary lighting switch

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by keng, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. Jun 14, 2011 at 4:38 PM
    #1
    keng

    keng [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Member:
    #21771
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken
    Saint John, NB Canada
    Vehicle:
    2007 Double Cab SR5 TRD
    Bull Bar, DeZee Nerf Bars, Putco Chrome Grille Insert
    I had a set of Piaa 520 lamps installed on my truck along with the supplied switch which was simply run through the fire wall and left hanging out of my dash.

    It looks like crap and I wanted to replace it with switch the same as the factory switch supplied with the fog lights which fits into the spare slots in the dash. However Toyota wants $87.50 for a switch!

    Does anyone know of a supplier who makes a rocker or magnetic switch which will fit neatly into the spare slots to the left of the steering column?

    Thnaks
    Ken
     
  2. Jun 14, 2011 at 4:42 PM
    #2
    Bfoster133

    Bfoster133 If i asked my dad for money, He'd knock me out

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Member:
    #55492
    Messages:
    1,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Thousand oaks, California
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner TRD offroad
    15% Tint, 5100's at 1.75, Rear Diff Breather, CB radio, Black rattle canned rims, 265/75/16 Goodyear MTR, Magnaflow Offroad pro cat back, hi-lift bed mounted, shovel bed mounted
    i would also like to know this
     
  3. Jun 14, 2011 at 4:45 PM
    #3
    skytower

    skytower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Member:
    #38505
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4
    Hitch and wiring, aux back-up light, rear strobe lights, radio and underseat sub.
    Oznium.com has a lighted rocker switch for the scion that will fit(with a little trimming) in one of the factory knockouts.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Jun 14, 2011 at 4:46 PM
    #4
    MJonaGS32

    MJonaGS32 MJ on a GS

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15949
    Messages:
    10,580
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    MJ
    SF Bay Area (East)
    Vehicle:
    07 Mid-Travel 4x4 DCSB 6spd
    Kings Mid Travel, BAMF bed rack, RTT, dual battery, OBA, ARB locker, 4.56 gears
    ^^ ahh beat me to it

    not as fancy, but you can get some of these from oznium.com

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Jun 14, 2011 at 4:47 PM
    #5
    keng

    keng [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Member:
    #21771
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken
    Saint John, NB Canada
    Vehicle:
    2007 Double Cab SR5 TRD
    Bull Bar, DeZee Nerf Bars, Putco Chrome Grille Insert
    Thanks for the infor guys, they'll do the job!
     
  6. Jun 15, 2011 at 7:37 PM
    #6
    larryde09

    larryde09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Member:
    #39759
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Rochester, NY
    Vehicle:
    (Traded-in) 06 2.7L 5-spd SR5 4x4
    K&N Intake, Magnaflow Cat-back Exhaust, Altezza Tail Lights, Pop&Lock Tailgate Lock, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, PIAA foglights with stock switch, DrawTite Hitch, OBX Shift Knob, Hood Protector, Vent Visors, DIY step bars/sliders/running boards, DIY Bed Lights, DIY Running Board/Ground Lights, DIY Tailgate Electrical Box (12V socket, voltage and current gauges), DIY Internal Lighting (coming soon), Aftermarket switches in stock dash blanks, Sony Head Unit, Illuminated 4x4 switch mod
    oznium is over priced. You can get similar switches via digikey or mouser. Check out my build for more info (link in my signature)...also search the site, there are a ton of threads regarding switches.
     
  7. Nov 3, 2016 at 11:29 AM
    #7
    bigfoote13

    bigfoote13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Member:
    #161099
    Messages:
    2,923
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    187Chad
    South Florida
    Vehicle:
    15 TRD SPORT
    None
    I just ordered a switch from Oznium.com[​IMG]. Where do you have to trim? The face or the inner edge?
     
  8. Nov 3, 2016 at 1:20 PM
    #8
    Badwin45

    Badwin45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Member:
    #39905
    Messages:
    240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    OKC
    Vehicle:
    '10 DC 4x4 & '00 Pre-Runner
    Aries 4" Oval step tubes, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, Weathertech digifit floor liners.
    You might have to do a little trimming on the inside of the hole.

    I also ran across some switches that look factory and are made for Toyotas at mictuning.com. Just found them today and have no idea what the quality is but they look good.
     
  9. Nov 3, 2016 at 1:23 PM
    #9
    bigfoote13

    bigfoote13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Member:
    #161099
    Messages:
    2,923
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    187Chad
    South Florida
    Vehicle:
    15 TRD SPORT
    None
    Thank you! I really like the look of the oznium switches. They look nice and clean when installed.
     
  10. Nov 3, 2016 at 1:27 PM
    #10
    Badwin45

    Badwin45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Member:
    #39905
    Messages:
    240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    OKC
    Vehicle:
    '10 DC 4x4 & '00 Pre-Runner
    Aries 4" Oval step tubes, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, Weathertech digifit floor liners.
  11. Nov 3, 2016 at 1:38 PM
    #11
    bigfoote13

    bigfoote13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Member:
    #161099
    Messages:
    2,923
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    187Chad
    South Florida
    Vehicle:
    15 TRD SPORT
    None
  12. Nov 3, 2016 at 1:43 PM
    #12
    Badwin45

    Badwin45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Member:
    #39905
    Messages:
    240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    OKC
    Vehicle:
    '10 DC 4x4 & '00 Pre-Runner
    Aries 4" Oval step tubes, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, Weathertech digifit floor liners.
    I wanted the amber light as a pilot light and the green to come on when the switch is on. I wish they had a blue/amber lens so the blue would match my high-beam indicator. I found that the "dot" in the oznium switch just wasn't bright enough.

    I had 3 Hella FF500's on an Aries Bull Bar that got buggered in a wreck. I'm replacing them with a 30" light bar and probably a N-Fab front light bar mount.
     
    bigfoote13 likes this.
  13. Nov 3, 2016 at 1:44 PM
    #13
    MJonaGS32

    MJonaGS32 MJ on a GS

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15949
    Messages:
    10,580
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    MJ
    SF Bay Area (East)
    Vehicle:
    07 Mid-Travel 4x4 DCSB 6spd
    Kings Mid Travel, BAMF bed rack, RTT, dual battery, OBA, ARB locker, 4.56 gears
    Yea just minor trimming inside the hole. With the switch inside, it covers everything so it still looks clean. I've actually moved away from that set up pictured above. Now I have switches all from OTRATTW
     
    bigfoote13 likes this.
  14. Nov 3, 2016 at 1:56 PM
    #14
    bigfoote13

    bigfoote13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Member:
    #161099
    Messages:
    2,923
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    187Chad
    South Florida
    Vehicle:
    15 TRD SPORT
    None
    I want to add a light bar but I don't have a need for one. Hard to justify it if I'm not going to use it.

    IMHO the otrattw switches don't fit in looks wise with the stock switches.
     
  15. Nov 3, 2016 at 2:06 PM
    #15
    TexasGunGuy88

    TexasGunGuy88 #HillaryForPrison2016

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Member:
    #197881
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW, TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    17 White TACOMA SR5
    WEATHER TECH's / TRD intake/ DerpDipped
  16. Nov 3, 2016 at 3:24 PM
    #16
    bigfoote13

    bigfoote13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Member:
    #161099
    Messages:
    2,923
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    187Chad
    South Florida
    Vehicle:
    15 TRD SPORT
    None
  17. Nov 5, 2016 at 12:29 PM
    #17
    LINCOLN45

    LINCOLN45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Member:
    #130561
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    john
    sac
    Vehicle:
    2014 TACOMA DCSB
    265/70/17 TOYO OC AT Bilstein 6112 Coil and Strut Combo Tacoma Stealth 32" LED SOS SKID PLATES AND SLIDERS RIGID LED FOG LIGHT UPGRADE
  18. Nov 6, 2016 at 11:17 AM
    #18
    Pnwoutdoors

    Pnwoutdoors Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Member:
    #198170
    Messages:
    237
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma sr5 4x4 DCLB
    So question... these lights have 4 wires? 2 are usually red? The generic eBay light bars have a harness with a generic switch with 3 wires.

    So if I were to connect 3 wires from generic switch to only 3 wires of the mictuning switch, then the mictuning switch will only light up when pressed in? Other than that it will never light up when headlights on etc...?
     
  19. Nov 6, 2016 at 7:55 PM
    #19
    TexasGunGuy88

    TexasGunGuy88 #HillaryForPrison2016

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Member:
    #197881
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW, TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    17 White TACOMA SR5
    WEATHER TECH's / TRD intake/ DerpDipped
    Yes the extra wire I jumped from an "ignition on" fuse that way when the truck is on the words light up. When the button pressed the top lights up.
     
To Top