1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

AVN6620 E-brake bypass

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Whipple81, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. Feb 6, 2009 at 1:39 PM
    #1
    Whipple81

    Whipple81 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Member:
    #5638
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Livermore, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 4X2
    15% side tint & 5% back, debadged, BHLM, 3/4 DJM drop w/c-notch, X-runner wheels & tires, Eclipse SAT/NAV HU
    Alright, so I'm getting my truck all ready for UPS to show up with the HU, and I'm plotting all my antenna routes and whatnot. I also want to ground out that damn E-brake wire I hear everyone talking about so I can mess with the GPS and DVD while driving (well, so someone else can mess with it ;) ).

    I have heard that the Eclipse HU is a direct plug and play application with a Toyota harness. So my question is this: Which wire, from the TRUCK side, is the E-brake wire? I looked at the switch down by the E-brake, and it's a Green & Yellow wire, but there is no green and yellow wire on the harness. I know I could do a continuity test and this would all be good to go, but since I dont have one, and dont feel like going to get one, I was hoping someone here had the answer for me!

    BTW, I have a base model regular cab (no bells and whistles).

    Thanks again!
     
  2. Feb 6, 2009 at 1:44 PM
    #2
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    Try and just ground the E-brake wire into the wiring harness ground wire, this is how I did my JVC and Kenwood
     
  3. Feb 6, 2009 at 2:06 PM
    #3
    Whipple81

    Whipple81 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Member:
    #5638
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Livermore, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 4X2
    15% side tint & 5% back, debadged, BHLM, 3/4 DJM drop w/c-notch, X-runner wheels & tires, Eclipse SAT/NAV HU
    Yeah, that's what I want to do, but the problem here is that I am not using an aftermarket wiring harness to connect the HU, I am using the existing harness from the truck, since the Eclipse supposedly plugs right in since they make the GPS for Toyota.

    Do you know which wire, if you're looking at the wires coming out of the dash of the truck, goes to that switch for the e-brake? The one coming from the E-brake is Green with a yellow stripe, and there is no such wire in the factory harness.
     
  4. Feb 6, 2009 at 2:58 PM
    #4
    sooner07

    sooner07 1/2 man 1/2 amazing

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4783
    Messages:
    1,400
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    A A Ron
    DFW, Texas
    Vehicle:
    Debadged 2008 Rugged Trail
    Always working on the stereo, painted the front skid plate black to match the truck, debadged , toy tech ultimate lift kit, light racing UCAs, ARB bumper Looking into a supercharger and new exhaust.
    You are supposed to tap into the e-brake regardless of a wiring harness or not. With the Pioneers, I have found that they were smarter about the ground than Kenwood or JVC. The ground must be a switched ground. So if you ground it to the wire that goes directly to the HU (which is a black wire) or to bare metal you get the same result, it won't work. It detects if there is a ground present on that wire at startup and won't work unless it switches at some point.

    I wired in a switch. So now I just have to toggle the switch to get the screen to display video without the e-brake.
     
  5. Feb 6, 2009 at 3:01 PM
    #5
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    I was able to bypass my pioneer by tapping into the factory harness ground directly. I dont think you're going to find that e-brake wire in the factory harness...

    edit - i changed the pin location on the pioneer instead of installing a switch.
     
  6. Feb 6, 2009 at 3:17 PM
    #6
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
  7. Feb 6, 2009 at 3:37 PM
    #7
    TorenApart

    TorenApart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Member:
    #6665
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport
    Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit, Total Chaos UCA's, 18'' Black XD Monster, 285/60R18 Cooper Zeon LTZ, OEM Skid Plate, Weather Tech Floor Mats, Lund Tonneau, Custom 2-tone gray leather, Aero Turbine 2525 muffler with AR25 resonator, Aero Turbine Exhaust Tip, Mr. Marv subwoofer enclosure w/ 2 JL 10W3v2's, AFE Pro Dry S, TRAIN HORNS, Eclipse AVN-6620, Pioneer PRS-D2100T, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5'' Front Components, Black Headlight Mod, Tinted tail lights, PL5300 with Eclipse BEC-109
    Dude, you're making it way harder on yourself than need be. The wire that comes with the head unit and plugs into the HU can be ran straight to a ground spot. I did it right behind the HU. You don't need to worry about the factory brake wire. In fact I don't think you would want to ground it because your brake light would always be on then.

    Good luck!
     
  8. Feb 9, 2009 at 5:05 AM
    #8
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    grounding the HU e-brake wire has no effect on your brake light, it will not stay on.
     
  9. Feb 9, 2009 at 6:38 AM
    #9
    TorenApart

    TorenApart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Member:
    #6665
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport
    Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit, Total Chaos UCA's, 18'' Black XD Monster, 285/60R18 Cooper Zeon LTZ, OEM Skid Plate, Weather Tech Floor Mats, Lund Tonneau, Custom 2-tone gray leather, Aero Turbine 2525 muffler with AR25 resonator, Aero Turbine Exhaust Tip, Mr. Marv subwoofer enclosure w/ 2 JL 10W3v2's, AFE Pro Dry S, TRAIN HORNS, Eclipse AVN-6620, Pioneer PRS-D2100T, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5'' Front Components, Black Headlight Mod, Tinted tail lights, PL5300 with Eclipse BEC-109
    Good to know! Thanks for clearing that up!
     
  10. Feb 10, 2009 at 2:52 PM
    #10
    Whipple81

    Whipple81 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Member:
    #5638
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Livermore, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 4X2
    15% side tint & 5% back, debadged, BHLM, 3/4 DJM drop w/c-notch, X-runner wheels & tires, Eclipse SAT/NAV HU
    I figured out my problem. I didn't wait for the unit to get here to see which harnesses did what! I was under the impression that the e-brake wire was in the wiring harness on the truck, but obviously upon receiving the HU, I realized this was not the case. I now know that it is located in a completely different harness! Sorry for the pointless post, but now that I have all of your attention...

    How important is it to hook up the Speed Pulse wire? I figured I'd put it off till later since the GPS seems to be working just fine as it is. Am I correct in assuming that the wire will make it more accurate and also register speed and whatnot to the HU? Is hooking it up going to tell the unit that I am in fact moving and overrule the e-brake bypass? These may be stupid questions, but this is my first NAV install.

    Thanks!
     
  11. Feb 10, 2009 at 3:06 PM
    #11
    TorenApart

    TorenApart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Member:
    #6665
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport
    Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit, Total Chaos UCA's, 18'' Black XD Monster, 285/60R18 Cooper Zeon LTZ, OEM Skid Plate, Weather Tech Floor Mats, Lund Tonneau, Custom 2-tone gray leather, Aero Turbine 2525 muffler with AR25 resonator, Aero Turbine Exhaust Tip, Mr. Marv subwoofer enclosure w/ 2 JL 10W3v2's, AFE Pro Dry S, TRAIN HORNS, Eclipse AVN-6620, Pioneer PRS-D2100T, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5'' Front Components, Black Headlight Mod, Tinted tail lights, PL5300 with Eclipse BEC-109
    From what I've read, it is not necessary, but does improve performance of the GPS, especially in areas where poor satellite reception may be common.The first day I had it installed, my GPS for some reason wasn't registering the fact that I was moving, even though the night before it was functioning fine.

    When I was installing, I was really dreading this part and faced the same temptation to not do it. I sucked it up and used a little clamp on connector and am very glad I just did it. It's really quite simple.
     
  12. Feb 10, 2009 at 3:08 PM
    #12
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    +1

    I didnt hook it up at first, but within a few days, I ended up tackling the job.
     
  13. Feb 10, 2009 at 3:14 PM
    #13
    Whipple81

    Whipple81 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Member:
    #5638
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Livermore, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 4X2
    15% side tint & 5% back, debadged, BHLM, 3/4 DJM drop w/c-notch, X-runner wheels & tires, Eclipse SAT/NAV HU
    Where abouts did you locate it (the speed pulse wire)? I havent spent all that much time looking into it to be honest...
     
  14. Feb 10, 2009 at 3:40 PM
    #14
    TorenApart

    TorenApart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Member:
    #6665
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport
    Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit, Total Chaos UCA's, 18'' Black XD Monster, 285/60R18 Cooper Zeon LTZ, OEM Skid Plate, Weather Tech Floor Mats, Lund Tonneau, Custom 2-tone gray leather, Aero Turbine 2525 muffler with AR25 resonator, Aero Turbine Exhaust Tip, Mr. Marv subwoofer enclosure w/ 2 JL 10W3v2's, AFE Pro Dry S, TRAIN HORNS, Eclipse AVN-6620, Pioneer PRS-D2100T, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5'' Front Components, Black Headlight Mod, Tinted tail lights, PL5300 with Eclipse BEC-109
  15. Mar 16, 2009 at 10:00 PM
    #15
    saregister

    saregister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Member:
    #14814
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    san diego, ca
    Vehicle:
    no truck :(
    Does anyone know if the speed pulse wire is the same for a 97 Lexus ES300? I think the PCM is in the same location (behind the glove box) and can think of no reason why the wire color schemes would be different between the different toyota models....
     
  16. Mar 17, 2009 at 8:09 AM
    #16
    trtripoli

    trtripoli lower management

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Member:
    #8266
    Messages:
    344
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    07 4,0 L, 6M, Dbl Cab, TRD Off Road
    Eclipse AVN6620 JL 500/1 amp JL 13TW5 sub JL 300/4 JL XR-650CSi Mr Marv Box Blu tooth XM radio Back Up camera, RAAMmat and Ensolite everywhere but ceiling

    no idea, but this is the write up I used when I was installing my head unit.
    http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/showthread.php?t=138609&highlight=vss
     
To Top