1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Bad fuel pump or circuit opening relay

Discussion in '4 Cylinder' started by George Schenfeld, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. Jul 4, 2011 at 12:45 PM
    #1
    George Schenfeld

    George Schenfeld [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Member:
    #59295
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    95tacoma
    1995 Tacoma 2.7L will not start. No fuel pump running. EFI relay good. Can't find the circuit opening relay. It is not where the Chilton book says it is, just under the steering column in the cab. I want to check the relay before ordering a fuel pump. Does anybody know where it is?
     
  2. Jul 6, 2011 at 3:19 PM
    #2
    George Schenfeld

    George Schenfeld [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Member:
    #59295
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    95tacoma
    Guess what. I found the relay way down the steering column above the brake pedal linkage. It is on the left side of the column, almost on top of it. Fortunately it can be pulled off the mounting bracket for checking.
     
  3. Aug 8, 2011 at 5:35 PM
    #3
    ashok1999

    ashok1999 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Member:
    #61315
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Mamou, La.
    Vehicle:
    99 taco
    Well, What was the final outcome? relay? fuel pump?
     
  4. Aug 9, 2011 at 9:07 PM
    #4
    George Schenfeld

    George Schenfeld [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Member:
    #59295
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    95tacoma
    I have come to the conclusion that it is the ECM. I can remove the COR which is wired after the EFI relay and jump the leads from B+ to FP and the pump works. When I try starting the truck in this configuration it won't, even though there is fuel pressure. The COR tests ok using battery voltage and checking resistance with an ohm-meter. The ignition fires when cranking. I have checked voltage and resistance on all the circuits associated with the EFI system and can find nothing else out of spec. I am trying to find an ECM with the proper numbers on ebay and have looked at several sites on the internet. Will post again when I get an ECM installed.
     
  5. Aug 16, 2011 at 10:33 PM
    #5
    George Schenfeld

    George Schenfeld [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Member:
    #59295
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    95tacoma
    The problem was the ECM. All of the relays and fuses connected with the fuel pump and starting circuits tested ok. I put a different ECM in it today and it started right up. Runs fine.
     
  6. Apr 6, 2014 at 12:14 PM
    #6
    kriskross

    kriskross Shits & Giggles

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Member:
    #64585
    Messages:
    1,467
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Northwest Florida
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma Sport DCLB
    See Build Thread
    Where did you get your new ECM?
     
  7. Apr 9, 2014 at 1:25 AM
    #7
    George Schenfeld

    George Schenfeld [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Member:
    #59295
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    95tacoma
    I got it online from an auto recycler out Spokane Washington. I don't remember the name. Cost $100 which I thought was cheap compared to $900 from the Toyota dealer. I think most recyclers will guarantee what they send out so go ahead and google a "Toyota ECM" and you should find pages of them available. One word of caution is to make sure you have the part number off of the old unit as each engine and transmission configuration can/may require a different module. My Toyota hasn't missed a beat since replacing the ECM. Good Luck
     
To Top