1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

best method for replacing shackles?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by David M, Feb 10, 2012.

1. David M

David M [OP] New Member

Member:
    I searched the forum a little for this question but didn't find exactly what I'm after. Hopefully it's not common a question!

I just purchased a set of ToyTec 1" lift shackles for my 2004 DC Tacoma. I've never done any work with suspension before so no idea what's involved. I know I need to relieve the spring tension somehow, but I don't have a floor jack. I do have a 2 bottle jacks, a hi-lift and an two jack stands. Can I make this work with that equipment or do I need a floor jack?

I've read about two methods for doing this. 1) jack up truck at rear diff; place jack-stands under frame; lower diff until springs are hanging free. 2) place jack between leaf spring and frame; open jack until spring is arched enough to relieve pressure on the shackle.

What's the best method? Safest?

Thanks,
    David

2. 97yota4wd

97yota4wd Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Eric
    Mesa, AZ
    Vehicle:
    alot of metal, small engine, decent travel.
    caged, camburg long travel, 50t leafpack (soon to be installed) light rack over cab, 5pt harnesses etc
    hmm i would use your bottle jack you got under the diff, then support the frame with jack stands. but you may need to lower and lift the vehicle alot, i used a floor jack on my tow hitch, that way was really easy

3. Cr250jumper

Cr250jumper Señor member

Member:
    The moon
    Vehicle:
    50 shades of tan
    Tacoma with some stuff melted to it