1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

best wireless router for PS3?

Discussion in 'Video Games' started by RCBS, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. Feb 17, 2009 at 3:55 AM
    #1
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    trying to figure out what works best. this topic seems to be undecided as to which router works best with the PS3. i will be using a broadband cable ISP. currently looking at a Netgear WNR834B Rangemax model.

    what do you have?

    any disconnect or download problems?

    can you run multiple PS3's on it with no problems?

    thanks for any input
     
  2. Feb 17, 2009 at 4:14 AM
    #2
    TacticalBacon13

    TacticalBacon13 Sorry for party rockin'

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Member:
    #5480
    Messages:
    16,169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dunk
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    2014 tundra platinum
    baby seat and a muffler
    i went with a lynksis and its really good with speed boost. the only problem if you have alot of people on your net you might get booted or it will boot them, but thats cause i have two desktops and two laptops on with me and some times a wii or xbox360 running.
     
  3. Feb 17, 2009 at 6:22 AM
    #3
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,255
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    I do't know if its the best....but its gotta be pretty good (my husband doesn't cheap-out on that kinda stuff).
    We have a Westell Versalink model 327W.

    I think the only problems we have with it is the location (not the unit). It's upstairs in our computer room and the PS3 is downstairs in the family room. I think the best reception we've got was around 50%. My husband has played COD with no problems but with LBP - we have trouble with online play (not sure if its US or the LBP platform).

    We only have one PS3, one laptop, and 2 computers on it.
     
  4. Feb 17, 2009 at 9:27 AM
    #4
    tcBob

    tcBob Gringo Bandito Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Member:
    #1
    Messages:
    11,250
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner SR5 V6 Black
    gonna recommend the linksys wrt54gl...solid as hell even with stock firmware, and you can flash some better firmware on it like dd-wrt or tomato if you so choose.

    nope. plus it has great range

    easily
     
  5. Feb 17, 2009 at 9:30 AM
    #5
    Jester243

    Jester243 mod status????

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7552
    Messages:
    9,996
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Trail Premium 4Runner w/ KDSS
    This is the one I have, we run 2 pc's PS3 and my son's Xbox 360 with no problems.

    [​IMG]


    • [​IMG]
    NETGEAR - RangeMax Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch Model: WNR3500-100NAS | SKU: 8669899

    Customer Reviews: [​IMG] 4.2 Read reviews (29)
     
  6. Feb 17, 2009 at 9:45 AM
    #6
    spaghettiedy

    spaghettiedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Member:
    #9470
    Messages:
    738
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    09 DC LB Sport in Black 4x4
    Gray Weathertechs, LG Wet Okoles, Tacome OEM Bedmat
    IMHO, I don't run wireless to my xbox. A wired connection is always going to be faster than a wireless one. I wire the xbox to my wireless RTR, and go wireless for all my other wireless devices throughout my house. I have a Linksys gaming RTR, which basically lets me choose the priority of the devices on my network. I've bumped my xbox up to the highest priority, that way it doesn't slow my gaming connection when the g/f starts downloading music. Her bandwidth will get throttled accordingly.

    My xbox 360 is the most important device on my home network. :D
     
  7. Feb 17, 2009 at 9:48 AM
    #7
    TacoCo

    TacoCo Aspiring wrench monkey

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Member:
    #8512
    Messages:
    913
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road DC V6 Magnetic Gray
    Snugtop XV Shell, Yakima Rack, AFE Pro Dry Filter, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Michelin AT2's, Partially Debadged, HID conversion, Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler, Rear leaf spring TSB, Foglights always on Mod, URD Short Throw Shifter, Toytec Coilovers on the way!
    I've had one of those things for 7 or 8 years now, and it's still going strong. Best wireless router money can buy IMHO.
     
  8. Feb 17, 2009 at 11:45 AM
    #8
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Netgear doesn't seem to be as good as the old days, but I haven't tried them in some time.
    Linksys seems to slowly be getting better ever since Cisco acquired them. They are the PBJ sandwich of the router world in my mind.

    I can say it would take a major overhaul for D-Link to ever get my business again. I think the 'D' stands for "Dead".

    Jan, I think your router is most likely specific to your service provider and not sold commercially.

    Unless you get wild with an industry grade router like a Cisco, I wouldn't sweat too much.
    If you can manage to get dual band N, you will have better signal. Also, if you can get external, removable attennas, they are usually better than internal antennas. If you get nuts, you could remove the antennas and add high gain antennas.
     
  9. Feb 17, 2009 at 11:48 AM
    #9
    RCBS

    RCBS [OP] "Cause I'm mighty proud of that ragged old flag."

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5845
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Appalachia
    Vehicle:
    06 Main Runner OR
    first...thanks to everyone replying! keep it coming! secondly, i'm not very tech savy....so bear with me please.

    i have been looking at a Netgear WNR834B...is this a decent model?

    tcBob...have seen quite a few people that recommend that model. have also read some people saying it's junk, but i attest that to the fact that they are not updating their firmware <--(not sure what that is yet) as i've seen in my research. have read that some units...Netgear i think will do the updates automaticaly.

    what i'm looking for is basically this: a wireless router that will run at good speed, has good compatibility with the PS3, and doesn't need much in the way of updates/programming to work whenever i need it.

    am i better off getting a "G", or going ahead and getting an "N" model? also what is AOSS and MIMO? have read that the units with these features work well with the PS3.

    i don't have a bunch of cash to throw at this, so i would like to keep it under $100. also, not wanting something that requires more computer skills than i have...which is not much. honestly, i don't know how everyone keeps up anymore...i think i was doing pretty good back when Win95 came out and have been steadily falling behind ever since :)

    obviously, a wired connection would be the best option, but i can't run a hard wire where i need to go...so WiFi it shall be.

    again, thanks everyone for your help and keep it coming...i may even learn something!! :D
     
  10. Feb 17, 2009 at 11:52 AM
    #10
    FlawedXJ

    FlawedXJ mall crawlin', web wheelin', concrete cowboy

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Member:
    #10334
    Messages:
    5,961
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    NorAla
    Vehicle:
    13 F150 FX4, 99 jeep xj, 04 msm miata
    I actually have a jeep now. Imagine that.
    I have a d-link. Most reliable and fastest I have used. I'm in college so it's got 3 xboxes, 3 desktops, and 3 laptops on it at all times. It's blazing fast. Very in depth settings too.
     
  11. Feb 17, 2009 at 11:59 AM
    #11
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco

    I use this router also. I have the Wii on the opposite end of my house connecting to the WRT, i dont have any reception problems.
     
  12. Feb 17, 2009 at 12:02 PM
    #12
    TacoCo

    TacoCo Aspiring wrench monkey

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Member:
    #8512
    Messages:
    913
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road DC V6 Magnetic Gray
    Snugtop XV Shell, Yakima Rack, AFE Pro Dry Filter, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Michelin AT2's, Partially Debadged, HID conversion, Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler, Rear leaf spring TSB, Foglights always on Mod, URD Short Throw Shifter, Toytec Coilovers on the way!
    If cash is a concern, then get the Linksys. I think it's relatively cheap considering the longevity and performance that I've gotten out of mine... It's outlasted a couple of desktops and a laptop of mine. It's a 20x customer choice award winner on Newegg, with tons of excellent reviews... there's something to be said for that.

    As for Draft N, I think it's rather expensive, so if you're looking for something cheap, I'd stay away from it. As for MIMO and AOSS, I have no idea what either of those mean.
     
  13. Feb 17, 2009 at 12:24 PM
    #13
    Salsashark

    Salsashark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Member:
    #12896
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Idaho
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Offroad
    I use a Linksys WRT160n, have a computer wired and a wii and PS3 wireless. Was a giant pain in the ass to get the wireless part going on the wii and ps3...but ive never done it before so probly just user error, otherwise no problems with disconnects.
     
  14. Feb 17, 2009 at 1:49 PM
    #14
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    MIMO just means it uses multiple antennas for better communication performance. That's those routers with the hojillion antennas on them.

    AOSS is made by Buffalo Technologies, it's a one-touch button that tries to set up some network firewall/protection. The standard is built in to the Nintendo Wii and some models of the PS3. Might be nice, but not necessary.

    The only reason for N models is for large transfers between computers in your house, or if you need dual band N for range/communication concerns (such as heavily insulated houses or lots of interference). Your network connection to the outside world is much slower than what any router should be able to process, so don't get someone to try telling you that G is too slow - it's 5 times faster than my home connection, if that says anything (and I have Verizon FiOS which has a hefty price tag).

    I'd say your best bet is the Linksys WRT54G or WRT54GL. They are the MOST common models for people to have, easy to set up, and has a one touch security setup (should you need that).
     
  15. Feb 18, 2009 at 12:22 AM
    #15
    DesmoBob

    DesmoBob Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Member:
    #12009
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5
    I also have a Linksys WRT54G. It worked well on the PS3 in a separate room, later moved the PS3 into the same room and am now running the PS3 wired. The Wii is now in the other room, and it also works fine with it.

    My first unit just flat out died just under a month, all the lights went on and stayed on, and froze. Luckily it was still under warranty, so I did the online chat with customer service, ended up getting an RMA, and they sent a new one. So props to the customer service, pretty painless.

    Other than the first one that died, I've been happy with the Linksys.
     
  16. Feb 18, 2009 at 12:43 AM
    #16
    genxer36

    genxer36 Lord of Tomfoolery

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Member:
    #3442
    Messages:
    10,581
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Bethlehem,GA
    Tow package, XM Satellite radio, K & N Air filter, & Channel Vent Visors
    I didn't go wireless on mine. But I did buy a gaming router. It gives the games priority over anything else. I have my PC, PS3,DVR hooked up to it. Never any problems with any kind of hesitation or lag. I can't remember the brand. I will look when I get home from work.
     
  17. Mar 2, 2009 at 9:15 AM
    #17
    peglegbiker

    peglegbiker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Member:
    #14243
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a WRT54g in my livingroom with a wired connection to a computer. On the other end of the house I have another computer with a wireless connection. I get a 90% connection most of the time. I just installed a PS3 in the same room. If the two computers are on, as soon as I try get the PS3 online, it kicks the computers offline. With the computers off I have been able to only download a couple demos before I get a connection error. I also have a wii (wireless) in the same room as the router but have not had this problem. The Linksys software recognizes the ps3 as part of the network. I don't have encryption enabled on the network. It's a headache that the ps3 won't consistantly connect to the internet but it's worse when my daughters get kicked off of their myspace. Why is the PS3 causing these issues? Thanks, bob
     
  18. Mar 2, 2009 at 9:28 AM
    #18
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Try restarting the router (unplug router, hold down restart button, plug in while holding restart, let go of restart after 20 seconds). Turn on the wireless if it isn't already on. Get everything connected and test. If it's good, start adding security and re-test. If it doesn't work, try borrowing a friend's router.

    I have found networking to be the most unreliable and convoluted process in regards to computing (this is coming from a guy with a BS in Computer Science and an IT background). Some products don't play nice together, some products take a severely long time to connect, and sometimes things require periodic restarts.
     
  19. Mar 2, 2009 at 9:54 AM
    #19
    TacoCo

    TacoCo Aspiring wrench monkey

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Member:
    #8512
    Messages:
    913
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road DC V6 Magnetic Gray
    Snugtop XV Shell, Yakima Rack, AFE Pro Dry Filter, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Michelin AT2's, Partially Debadged, HID conversion, Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler, Rear leaf spring TSB, Foglights always on Mod, URD Short Throw Shifter, Toytec Coilovers on the way!
    Make sure that you don't have something else on the network acting as a DHCP server. That would definitely cause problems if your networked devices are getting conflicting IP addresses from multiple DHCP servers.
     
  20. Apr 2, 2009 at 1:33 PM
    #20
    techgeekwill

    techgeekwill Captain Funk

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Member:
    #15497
    Messages:
    200
    Gender:
    Male
    Spring, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 Tiberland Mica DC LB
    For basic Wi-Fi, you can't beat a Linksys WRT54G running DD-WRT. Granted it's only B/G, but it does the job well.

    I am about to upgrade though. Need an N router that can take DD-WRT or Tomato.
     
To Top