1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Bilstein 5100's installed incorrectly?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by haman, Mar 19, 2010.

1. Mar 19, 2010 at 5:25 PM
    haman

haman [OP] Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    SR5
    Hello,

New Taco owner here that thinks this site has been more than helpful. I have a quick question that I hope somebody can answer about an install of my 5100's.

My 2010 DC only has 900 miles on it, but I was approved to have the leaf spring TSB performed and had Bilstein 5100's installed in the front to level it out.

The shocks are set at 1.75" as far as I can tell. I'm not a mechanical guy, but from the bottom side, it looks like the circlip is placed in the second to last groove from the bottom one.

I've read about "Taco Lean", but my driver's left side front end is measuring about .75 inches lower than the driver's side right. Is this the lean? The truck only has 900 miles on it, but I weigh about 250 lbs and didn't think my weight would cause a lean this early.

I called the dealership and they were less than helpful. They told me to wait a couple thousand miles to see if it levels out because the springs need to adjust.

Any insight would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Mar 19, 2010 at 5:30 PM
    bakerla

bakerla Man, Myth, Legend

Member:
    First Name:
    Lyndall
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    '10 4wd OR