1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Blue Screen on my PC

Discussion in 'Technology' started by sammy87, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. Jan 19, 2012 at 8:56 AM
    #1
    sammy87

    sammy87 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36576
    Messages:
    1,873
    Gender:
    Male
    co
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD SPORT 4X4
    So for about a month now, it happens about once or twice a week, I get the blue screen. This happened a long time ago when I had a laptop in college and it was done. Is this the beginning of the end? Any adivice on what to do? My PC is about 3yrs old btw.
     
  2. Jan 19, 2012 at 8:57 AM
    #2
    jgwheeler17

    jgwheeler17 I'm a zit. Get it?

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Member:
    #47112
    Messages:
    10,033
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    tint, dents, scratches, two blown speakers and trying to pay her off...
    im in the same boat on everything. do you happen to have a dell studio OP?

    sub'd :popcorn:
     
  3. Jan 19, 2012 at 8:59 AM
    #3
    steve o 77

    steve o 77 braaap

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Member:
    #26726
    Messages:
    19,968
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    In a corn field, OH
    Vehicle:
    1990 Chevy Siveraydo
    245k+ miles, rust, working AC, bald eagles
    :popcorn:

    there are some smart computer dudes on here, hopefully they see this.
     
  4. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:00 AM
    #4
    Maverick904

    Maverick904 Resident Fishing Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Member:
    #23084
    Messages:
    4,894
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kameron
    Northeast Florida
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Rugged Trail 4x4
    3" Procomp Lift, BDF Light Bar, Borla Stainless Cat-Back System, 2 10" Polk MM Subs, LED Interior Lighting, Pioneer Touch Screen, Kicker Speakers up front, Sonys in the back, Grillcraft grill, 20% tint, Weathertechs, Projector Retrofit Headlights. BHLM
    Ive got a studio, no problems in about 2 years.
     
  5. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:00 AM
    #5
    Oat

    Oat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Member:
    #61992
    Messages:
    1,169
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prerunner
    Gibson Exhaust, Painted factory steel wheels, Chrome wheel caps, K&N Air intake, Tint, Regular Bilstein (yellow/blue) all around, Leveling spacer kit upfront, Partially de-badged, Westin Bullbar with skidplate, White, Double Cab Prerunner SR5
    It just goes blue screen? No codes or anything to say what's failing?
     
  6. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:01 AM
    #6
    chadderkdawg

    chadderkdawg Don't ask questions you don't want the answer to..

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Member:
    #55763
    Messages:
    8,163
    Gender:
    Male
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    09 FX4 F150
    Any info on the blue screen reference a hard disk failure? That's the most common cause.
     
  7. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:01 AM
    #7
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,730
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    Maybe bad hardware? If it only happens occasionally I would suspect bad RAM and when the OS tries to access that portion of the memory it blue screens.
    Or it could be a failing hard drive.
    If it was corrupted OS I would think it would happen all the time, not just once in a while.
     
  8. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:02 AM
    #8
    sammy87

    sammy87 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36576
    Messages:
    1,873
    Gender:
    Male
    co
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD SPORT 4X4
    Yeah I figured I would ask, Im sure someone has seen this. I was just wondering if there is an easy fix or not. I dont want to dump a lot of money into this pc, I'm replacing it with a MAC when it's gone. I just wanted to get another yr out of it.

    It's an HP from Costco btw. Nothing fancy.
     
  9. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:02 AM
    #9
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,730
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    Also have you ever cleaned out the dust bunnies inside? Maybe the CPU is overheating but usually it'll just shutdown as a failsafe to keep the CPU from cookin.
     
  10. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:03 AM
    #10
    sammy87

    sammy87 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36576
    Messages:
    1,873
    Gender:
    Male
    co
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD SPORT 4X4
    Yeah there is a reference to the hard disk.
     
  11. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:03 AM
    #11
    steve o 77

    steve o 77 braaap

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Member:
    #26726
    Messages:
    19,968
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    In a corn field, OH
    Vehicle:
    1990 Chevy Siveraydo
    245k+ miles, rust, working AC, bald eagles
    Yeah I would start with simple stuff, like re seating the ram and cleaning inside the case.

    edit: nevermind looks like the hard drive is the problem. New ones are cheap, i would just replace it.
     
  12. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:04 AM
    #12
    kryten

    kryten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Member:
    #18813
    Messages:
    1,474
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport 6MT
    Get the error code or take a photo of the screen when it happens and post it here so we can get an idea whats wrong with it.
     
  13. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:04 AM
    #13
    sammy87

    sammy87 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36576
    Messages:
    1,873
    Gender:
    Male
    co
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD SPORT 4X4
    It starts right up pretty quickly, and seems to be running fine afterwards. It just happens once a week or so.
     
  14. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:04 AM
    #14
    chadderkdawg

    chadderkdawg Don't ask questions you don't want the answer to..

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Member:
    #55763
    Messages:
    8,163
    Gender:
    Male
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    09 FX4 F150
    Replace it, 3 years is all those cheapo's can handle
     
  15. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:04 AM
    #15
    sammy87

    sammy87 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36576
    Messages:
    1,873
    Gender:
    Male
    co
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD SPORT 4X4
    Will do, thanks....Man these are quick replies...Thanks!
     
  16. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:05 AM
    #16
    Oat

    Oat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Member:
    #61992
    Messages:
    1,169
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prerunner
    Gibson Exhaust, Painted factory steel wheels, Chrome wheel caps, K&N Air intake, Tint, Regular Bilstein (yellow/blue) all around, Leveling spacer kit upfront, Partially de-badged, Westin Bullbar with skidplate, White, Double Cab Prerunner SR5
    Take off the case cover take compressed air to it. If you are using a air can that is fine, but if you are using an air compressor set it to low pressure
     
  17. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:07 AM
    #17
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,730
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    If the hard drive is failing back up your stuff ASAP. You never know when itll fail and never come back to life.
     
  18. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:09 AM
    #18
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Does it happen when you are executing certain actions? Also, does it occur right when your computer comes up, or are you usually on it for a while before it goes?
     
  19. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:11 AM
    #19
    03coma

    03coma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Member:
    #203
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB TRD, SR5
    Toyota TRD Pro Grille, Skid Plate, ARE Series II Lid,
    ahh the blue screen of death, I hate when that happens thats why I switched to Mac computers. that has nothing to do with dust or over heating, its a software issue. It could also happen if you just installed something that does not want to work with what you have installed in your pc.

    Do you have the OS cd's that came with the pc?
     
  20. Jan 19, 2012 at 9:14 AM
    #20
    sammy87

    sammy87 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36576
    Messages:
    1,873
    Gender:
    Male
    co
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD SPORT 4X4
    It can happen any time. I dont use the PC for a whole lot, just internet, MS office, and storing photos and music. So nothing really sets it off.
     
To Top