1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Brake Controller Issue

Discussion in 'Towing' started by VolNut, Jun 19, 2013.

  1. Jun 19, 2013 at 1:23 PM
    #1
    VolNut

    VolNut [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    I wired up a Reese Pilot in my 09 Tacoma using the factory supplied harness. Everything seems to be working fine but now when I tap the brake, the R on the dash gear indicator lights up. It also threw a code P0705.

    I wired it as follows

    Toyota factory harness to Reese

    Black/red tracer to black
    Red to Blue
    brown to white
    green/white tracer to red

    Any ideas? Thanks for the help
     
  2. Jun 19, 2013 at 3:26 PM
    #2
    WHPLSH3

    WHPLSH3 Fortified with horsepower-adding goodness...

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Member:
    #99302
    Messages:
    688
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Vance
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    Supercharged Spruce Mica 6spd 4x4
    Build thread coming soon!
    Do you mean you used the one that came in the glovebox with the truck? They have a 5th wire that's supposed to be grounded...
    I bought a 4 wire plug & play that was color coded the same as the harness off the back of my Teknosha and have had 0 issues
     
  3. Jun 19, 2013 at 6:18 PM
    #3
    VolNut

    VolNut [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    Yes I used the harness out of the glove box. The wiring diagram that came with the controller said the green wire wasn't used. Brown from the Toyota harness goes to white on the controller and is labeled as the ground.

    Now I'm having a separate issue. The display on the controller has a red dot when wired correctly, I have the dot. It will display a c when a trailer is connected. I'm no longer having the first issue but now I can't get the "c", like it's not connected and I don't have control of the trailer brakes. Tail lights and blinkers work on the trailer though. I'm stumped! Please help!
     
  4. Jun 19, 2013 at 6:26 PM
    #4
    WHPLSH3

    WHPLSH3 Fortified with horsepower-adding goodness...

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Member:
    #99302
    Messages:
    688
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Vance
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    Supercharged Spruce Mica 6spd 4x4
    Build thread coming soon!
    About the only thing I can think of is maybe you're only getting a partial ground through the ball on the truck. Whenever mine sees no action for a while and has a scale of rust, I have lights & brakes that come and go. Hit it with some WD-40 and some steel wool or something and see what happens...
     
  5. Jun 19, 2013 at 6:33 PM
    #5
    VolNut

    VolNut [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    I'll give that a shot tomorrow.

    Is there a fuse somewhere I may be missing?

    Thank you
     
  6. Jun 19, 2013 at 8:17 PM
    #6
    WHPLSH3

    WHPLSH3 Fortified with horsepower-adding goodness...

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Member:
    #99302
    Messages:
    688
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Vance
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    Supercharged Spruce Mica 6spd 4x4
    Build thread coming soon!
    There might be. I can't remember for sure... haven't needed to be in my fusebox for much!
    What say you, crowd?
     
  7. Jun 20, 2013 at 5:35 AM
    #7
    VolNut

    VolNut [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20770
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    TN
    Ok, the pin in the middle of the 7 pin connector had some rust and dirt on it. Scraped it off and I'm connected.

    Now, the display on the brake controller displays the voltage (0-12). If I turn it up past 5 volts the reverse R on the dash lights up dim and the backup camera turns on in the rearview mirror. The more voltage, the brighter the R and the quicker the camera turns on.

    Not sure if I got a bad controller but I think I'll count this as a lesson learned and spring for a better controller.

    Thanks for the input!
     
To Top