1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

"Bridging HU" ???

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by bendbolden, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. Feb 12, 2011 at 9:04 AM
    #1
    bendbolden

    bendbolden [OP] Come and take them.

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42009
    Messages:
    611
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Moscow, TN
    Vehicle:
    07 FJ Cruiser
    None but soon......
    Let's say I have a HU that produces 19 watts rms to each channel. Is it possible to "bridge" the front and rear left and front a rear right channels together to effectively get 38 watts on two different channels and still run at 4 ohms without sparks and flames and heartache?:confused:
     
  2. Feb 12, 2011 at 9:07 AM
    #2
    mrmumbels

    mrmumbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46331
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    Land O Lakes, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    none
    Not unless it says you can. And I doubt it does. I've never seen it.
     
  3. Feb 12, 2011 at 9:12 AM
    #3
    bendbolden

    bendbolden [OP] Come and take them.

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42009
    Messages:
    611
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Moscow, TN
    Vehicle:
    07 FJ Cruiser
    None but soon......
    I haven't looked at the manual yet as I'm at work but I didn't really think it would be possible. Just thinking outside the box until the wife lets me buy another amp. Otherwise I'll be running 19 watts each to a set of kicker components but I will have a sub so maybe it'll disguise some of the bad sound. haha
     
  4. Feb 12, 2011 at 9:50 AM
    #4
    Boring

    Boring This space intentionally left blank.

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Member:
    #36129
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    5-lug regular cab
    More than a few.
    I saw a review posted of a head unit (on Crutchfield maybe?) and the guy said he bridged the head unit amp. I doubt I could find it again. I was amazed that it worked. I guess you bridge the front and the rear to power the fronts.
     
  5. Feb 14, 2011 at 6:56 AM
    #5
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,872
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    I've actually seen some HU instructions that say that this is allowed for bridging the REAR channels only (can't recall specifically, but some older Pioneers are coming to mind), of course that particular HU must say it's supported. Have not heard of a F/R left or right channel bridge though. I'd think this capability would be pretty rare.
     
To Top