1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

browser hikacked

Discussion in 'Technology' started by coffeesnob, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. Jan 21, 2011 at 4:21 AM
    #1
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,072
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    :mad:My wife and I both have a laptop and both pc's have yahoo for home page. Both pc's now do not go to yahoo either via the home icon or typing it in. It goes to a site called mediaplex.com I can go to all other sites ie: google etc.. It's odd how both pc's became infected overnight even though we both log off. Anyways I would like/need help removing this as my mcafee or hers didn't even see it. If I need to get into the registry I need good directions so I don't hose us up...thanks:mad::confused:
     
  2. Jan 21, 2011 at 4:32 AM
    #2
    Taco-NB

    Taco-NB MMMMM Taco's

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16662
    Messages:
    1,744
    Gender:
    Male
    New Brunswick
    Vehicle:
    '09 4X4 SR5 Access Cab V6 - Black Sand Pearl
    Did you try resetting the browser. I know you can do this with Mac but not sure about PC. You could try emptying the browser cache and history to see if that will work.

    Good luck!
     
  3. Jan 21, 2011 at 4:36 AM
    #3
    i30nes

    i30nes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9499
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa Palms, FL
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 Impulse Red
    De-badged, Grillcraft grille w/ devil horns. Work in progress :)
    If you can get to Google lookup malwarebytes. If you are able to get to the site download it. However some malware/viruses may block it. If you do manage to install it, before you actually run the program goto its install folder. Should be along the lines of c:\program files\malwarebytes. In that folder should be a file called mbam.exe. Right click and rename it to something else: ie 1234. Run it and see if it helps.

    Or it could be a setting within your browser that got tweaked. Just don't remem
     
  4. Jan 21, 2011 at 4:37 AM
    #4
    i30nes

    i30nes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9499
    Messages:
    530
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa Palms, FL
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 Impulse Red
    De-badged, Grillcraft grille w/ devil horns. Work in progress :)
    Remember the place off the top of my head...

    Sorry for the goofy post hit the post button on the phone too soon.
     
  5. Jan 21, 2011 at 4:43 AM
    #5
    SuperTacoma

    SuperTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Member:
    #43118
    Messages:
    644
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clint
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    11 Toyota Prerunner TRD PKG
    Factory Mods Ventshades Bug Deflector Magnaflow Muffler Solid Fold Extang Cover Pop Lock Helix Power Tower Westin Brush Guard Westin Nerf Bars color match Scoop Hood
    Do a web search fro the site.
    Then look for reputable sites for a fix. CNET, Kim Komando etc
     
  6. Jan 21, 2011 at 4:54 AM
    #6
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    11,948
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    I roll with firewall, malware and AVG anti-virus here, never an issue. All free stuff. My suggestion would be to throw in the OS install disk and delete partition, create new partition, format & reinstall OS and rest of software. Trying to fuck with registry and clean shit up is time wasting and possibly inaffective depending on what happened. This is why I have all my important shit on an external drive or at least a 2nd drive in a desktop so if or when this happens you can just punt and have clean start. It also protects you against drive failure to some degree as well. Redundant backup of important shit is important. Always have OS disk, oem restore disk & whatever other software that you can't get from net & worry much less. Good luck with it.
     
  7. Jan 21, 2011 at 6:43 AM
    #7
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,072
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    that sounds easy I will check
     
  8. Jan 21, 2011 at 6:53 AM
    #8
    rex99

    rex99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Member:
    #27492
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    TArdCOMAWORLD
    Vehicle:
    Proton Cruiser
    Rocket Boosters, Flux Capacitor, Escape Pod, Throttle Body Spacer, Homeroshi, ATRAC disable
    amazing quote of the day.... "Redundant" statement is, in fact, redundant.
     
  9. Jan 21, 2011 at 6:57 AM
    #9
    woody6047

    woody6047 McGrubber

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Member:
    #26254
    Messages:
    4,696
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Beau
    Austin/ Waco Texas
    Vehicle:
    05 tacoma 4x4 dc
    100%stock, except for the exhaust leak and custom windshield crack mod
    I just had that happen to my work computer, the IT guy went and got Super anti-spyware, it was a free download and it cleared it right up.
     
  10. Jan 21, 2011 at 8:52 AM
    #10
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,072
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd

    I have been googling and I think I may have router issue. Since the two laptops were infected at the sametime. Need to clear the dns cache, which i wil try later
     
  11. Jan 21, 2011 at 12:01 PM
    #11
    penguins_cc

    penguins_cc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Member:
    #41874
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    Timberland Mica Limo!
    Perkins Performance Sliders, Warn 9000, Brute Force Fab front & rear bumper, OME/Dakar lift, full ATO skids and hi-lift mount, satoshi, Wet Okoles, illuminated 4x4 switch, Diff Breather.
    OP, IMHO I don't believe you have a router issue. The first thing I would try is to open Addd/Remove programs and look for any program that looks to be the culprit(s). Try to uninstall those. Then open Internet Explorer Add-Ons, and remove any Add-Ons that you don't want. These would be programs that open when IE opens, such as a Google Toolbar. A lot of these little pesky programs run as IE Add-Ons. Reboot. Then run your currently installed Spyware program and run a deep scan. Do it twice. If you don't have one installed, install a basic one, such as Microsoft Security Essentials and run it twice like mentioned above. Then run your anti-virus through a deep scan. Reboot and take an assessment of how much this fixed.

    If the issue is fixed, move on. If not, I would suggest backing up up your data and trying to a System Restore to an earlier time before this happened. If that doesn't work, there's a few things you can try, but I'd probably save my time and do like a previous poster suggested, which is to wipe the OS and start clean. If you aren't a Windows pro, and you install/uninstall a lot of stuff, you'll probably want to do this every couple of years anyways.
     
  12. Jan 21, 2011 at 12:12 PM
    #12
    2010Tacoma4x4

    2010Tacoma4x4 "Man Ho"

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Member:
    #49556
    Messages:
    644
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 SR5
    Tinted windows, Bug deflector, Rain guards, Bed mat, Rear leaf TSB, Bilsteins front & rear (front set @ 1.75), 16x8 chrome Helo wheels, Toyo open country AT P265/75/R16 tires. CBI bolt on sliders. BSP color matched M1 Satoshi grill. BHLM. UWS low profile black powder coat crosover truckbox. Pioneer DVD/CD head unit - 4 channel amp - front mids & highs - 8" sub box.
    I second the malwarebytes removal tool. You can d-load the free version from malwarebytes.org
    Once you install it update it right away then perform a quick scan. Once the scan completes just follow the instructions to complete the spyware removal.
     
  13. Jan 21, 2011 at 1:12 PM
    #13
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,072
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd

    Thanks for all the tips guys. I have been at work so I have not been able to try these things out, but it seems like Linksy's has an issue with their routers that allows stuff like this to go on.. even heard where someone had 1800.00 taken from bank account. If you guys have a linksys router better watch out for this problem. At the same time I hope you are right and it is not the router. I would like to choke people who do this crap!
     
  14. Jan 23, 2011 at 1:04 PM
    #14
    BuckNakedBooda

    BuckNakedBooda There's no place like 127.0.0.1

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Member:
    #36937
    Messages:
    1,484
    Woodbridge, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Limited 4x4
    Your Linksys router is not the issue in this case.

    You may want to try AdAware if MalwareBytes does not pick this up. I just had the same thing happen to one of my users home PCs last week and Adaware removed it by doing a FULL SCAN...
     
  15. Jan 24, 2011 at 2:16 AM
    #15
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,072
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    This is the weird thing. Both mine and my wifes laptop both were "infected" for lack of a better word, at the same exact time. No matter what I tried to fix it didn't help, so we went to work and came home later that day and the problem had fixed itself.
     
  16. Jan 24, 2011 at 11:49 AM
    #16
    penguins_cc

    penguins_cc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Member:
    #41874
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    Timberland Mica Limo!
    Perkins Performance Sliders, Warn 9000, Brute Force Fab front & rear bumper, OME/Dakar lift, full ATO skids and hi-lift mount, satoshi, Wet Okoles, illuminated 4x4 switch, Diff Breather.
    Agree that this is not a routing issue. I personally don't care for Linksys consumer routing gear, but in terms of packet filterning and packet inspection, the Linksys router is doing nothing different than other routers. There may obviously be an issue with how security is configured on your router thus allowing someone to connect to your network and compromise security. However, this would not be a problem caused by Linksys routers. As far as this being a router-specific issue, I would still suggest looking elsewhere for the root cause.
     
  17. Jan 25, 2011 at 1:27 PM
    #17
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,072
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    thanks, but...if you google it lots of people say it is a router issue i'm just saying :)
     
  18. Jan 28, 2011 at 3:01 PM
    #18
    Digiratus

    Digiratus Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Member:
    #34006
    Messages:
    13,741
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Roaming the PNW
    Vehicle:
    The RedHead
    2002 XtraCab TRD 4x4 Auto Trans With Lots of Mods King Extended Travel COs Camburg Uniball UCAs Alcan Custom 8-Leaf Rear Spring Packs Fox 2.0 Resi Rear Shocks FrankenFab Rear Shock Relocate All-Pro U-bolt Flip w/Timbren bumps Toytec 1" Extended Shackle 4.88 Nitro Gears ARB Front Locker ARB Twin Compressor 15x8 D Window Steelies 33" BFG KM2s Limited Edition Relentless Front Bumper Smittybilt X2O 10K Winch Rugged Ridge 3" LED Pods w/Amber covers Mini D2S Projectors XB35 Ballasts + 4500K Bulbs Badland Sliders FrankenFab Tire Carrier Swingout bumper w/kitchen BudBuilt Front & Bellypan Skids BAMF Rear Diff Skid Whynter 65 qt. Fridge/Freezer CVT Mt Bachelor RTT Badland Custom Bed Rack GM 140 amp alternator Dual Northstar 24F AGM batteries BlueSea 7622 ML-ACR Battery controller Peak DBI Dual Battery Voltage Monitor Magnaflow 18" Muffler Braided Steel Brake Lines AFE Pro Dry S air filter ScanGauge II OBDII Scanner Kenwood TM-71A Dual Band Ham Radio Larson 70CM/2M Antenna Uniden 520xl CB radio 3' Firestik Adjustable tip antenna Pioneer DEH-P9400BH HU Alpine Amps & Type R components (F) and coaxials (R) Wet Okole Seat Covers Weathertech Digital Liners Deck Plate Mod 1" Diff Drop Carrier Bearing Drop
    Blaming the router for this issue is like blaming the road for a flat tire.
     
  19. Jan 28, 2011 at 3:31 PM
    #19
    ian408

    ian408 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Member:
    #25619
    Messages:
    11,415
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    Santa Clara, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma
    3" lift, custom rims, snug top shell, shrockworks bumper, warn winch.
    Some of the more "innocent" malware hijacks the host file. Windows has a file called "hosts"--do a search for it and make sure there's nothing in it.

    In addition, you should go through the other suggestions. Especially the ones suggesting firewalls and increased router security--at a minimum, I would make certain the router was up to date with respect to firmware.
     
  20. Jan 29, 2011 at 4:43 AM
    #20
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,072
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    you ever driven through a pot hole?
     
To Top