1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CAI

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by ROMYER8313, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. Jan 22, 2013 at 11:25 AM
    #1
    ROMYER8313

    ROMYER8313 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Member:
    #91414
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    robert
    medford oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 sport package
    supercharger, 3inch lift, Doug thorley long tube headers and Magnaflow pro series off road exhaust. urd 2.55 pulley, ucon ems, upgraded urd fuel pump, urd seventh injector system, 61lb mulit-fuel fuel injectors, and AFE cai.
    i was wanting to instal either a trd cai or a AFE cai. i was concerned because i was told by toyota that the trd cai was not compatible with my 2008 tacoma and my supercharger. i was looking on line and there were some problems with the cai and the supercharger and the cai would cause a lean code. is there anything that i can do to install the afe or the trd cai without having these cai causing a lean code?
     
  2. Jan 22, 2013 at 11:29 AM
    #2
    Justus

    Justus fucks not given

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94417
    Messages:
    6,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brock
    Paso Robles
    Vehicle:
    not so low, not so slow 2006 6 lug
    stockish
    The afe stage 2 Si is compatable with the trd blower.....lots of guys here and on xru run that setup.....the afe stage 2 Si and original style trd intake work well, its just the newer style trd intake was a hack job and k&n didn't do their homework when they designed it.

    If in doubt u can call gadget at urdusa.com

    He can make a skateboard supersonic if u give him some bubble gum, a no2 pencil and duct tape.
     
  3. Jan 22, 2013 at 11:33 AM
    #3
    Justus

    Justus fucks not given

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94417
    Messages:
    6,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brock
    Paso Robles
    Vehicle:
    not so low, not so slow 2006 6 lug
    stockish
    Btw, the older style trd and afe stage 2 si are 99% the same.....they are both made by afe....TRD does not make intakes, they contract others to do it.

    Afe has a small port in front that u can cover or leave open (google pics)....the older trd is fully sealed but otherwise looks identical for the most part.

    The new trd is flawed, made by k&n, has a goofy lil indicator on the box for filter life, clips on the top, and thrown cel under boost.........gadget at urd can sell u a maf calibrator that's tuned to fix this issue too.

    Id just use the afe tho......buy it from gadget
     
  4. Jan 23, 2013 at 2:04 PM
    #4
    ROMYER8313

    ROMYER8313 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Member:
    #91414
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    robert
    medford oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 sport package
    supercharger, 3inch lift, Doug thorley long tube headers and Magnaflow pro series off road exhaust. urd 2.55 pulley, ucon ems, upgraded urd fuel pump, urd seventh injector system, 61lb mulit-fuel fuel injectors, and AFE cai.
    Thanks for the info, I called and talked to gadget and he confirmed that the AFE was compatible.
     
  5. Jan 23, 2013 at 5:22 PM
    #5
    Justus

    Justus fucks not given

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94417
    Messages:
    6,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brock
    Paso Robles
    Vehicle:
    not so low, not so slow 2006 6 lug
    stockish
    Cool beans
     
  6. Jan 24, 2013 at 7:40 AM
    #6
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    4,706
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    If I recall correctly Toyota does not support a CAI with the SC. So unless you are under warranty, should not be an issue.
     
To Top