1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Can Disable Tire Pressure Warning Light?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by timbo143, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. Sep 22, 2011 at 9:55 PM
    #1
    timbo143

    timbo143 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Member:
    #63962
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Sault Ste Marie, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma SR5
    Added 1 extra leaf spring on each side of rear end
    I have a 2007 Tacoma & the tire pressure warning light came on. WHen I took it to the dealer they said a sensor in one of the wheels & the part itself was around $300. I asked them if they could disable the warning light & they said no. Is anyone aware if is is possible to disable the Tire Pressure monitoring/warning system? If yes, can you tell me how to do it myself or provide a bulletin # I can quote to my dealer?
     
  2. Sep 22, 2011 at 10:06 PM
    #2
    ouyin2000

    ouyin2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Member:
    #44773
    Messages:
    4,500
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Arlington, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    '11 DCSB TRD Sport
    Leer 100XL Canopy, OEM Side steps, TRD Oil Cap, TRD License Plate Cover, WeatherTech Digital Fit Liners, Elite O/R Hitch Shackle, Katzkin Leather Interior, LED Interior Lighting, Foglight Anytime mod, Illuminated 4x4 switch, Grom Audio Aux adapter, Redline Goods leather shift boot console cover and door handle pulls, Sockmonkey bedside decals, Dynolock electric tailgate lock
    You just need to fill up the tires to proper pressure, and then reset the light with the button located on the bottom underneath your steering console. That will fix it, unless it's actually a problem with the pressure monitor itself. I think you have to hold the button down for 3 or 5 seconds for it to reset; the info is in your manual, and located all over the forum.

    Edit, and make sure you check your spare too, as it also has a TPMS in it.
     
  3. Sep 23, 2011 at 4:27 AM
    #3
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    That sounds like about three times what the sensor actually costs to buy at retail.

    Call wheel/tire stores and ask them what they would charge to install and program an OEM replacement sensor.
     
  4. Sep 23, 2011 at 4:32 AM
    #4
    Blackshirts

    Blackshirts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Member:
    #32057
    Messages:
    3,958
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    Headlight mod, sound system. MB Motor Sport Rims. Black Tails. 5100's, 885, grill craft, Fogs, N-Fab Step Sides. BFG TKO Tires, Wet Oks, LED map lights and dome, LED gauge mod
    Welcome to TW

    Or you could disable that led. or put a lil piece of black tape over it or live with it. OR pay the money to get it fixed.
     
  5. Sep 23, 2011 at 6:48 AM
    #5
    07TaCo07

    07TaCo07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34167
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    oregon
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab 6" lift
    6" fab tech lift, 35" toyo m/t, 17" teflon wheels
    Do a search specific to a 07. Disable tpms 07. Ill try and find the one I used. Its also easy to reverse
     
To Top