1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

can i use my fog light relay for off road lights

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by blaks 06 pre, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. Mar 20, 2013 at 12:11 PM
    #1
    blaks 06 pre

    blaks 06 pre [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Member:
    #91826
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    brandon
    kent,WA
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner
    So I have a 2006 pre runner with no fog lights can I use the fog light relay to run my off road lights
     
  2. Mar 20, 2013 at 12:20 PM
    #2
    Jerez

    Jerez SoCal LED Dash Swap

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30488
    Messages:
    15,735
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roderick aka Royer
    Ontario/Chino Area (CALI)
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD ESport DCLB
    Half LT dont count
    So you're truck came with no fogs? And you know for sure it has the relay?
     
  3. Mar 20, 2013 at 12:23 PM
    #3
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,094
    Gender:
    Male
    If the relay is there, then sure you can use it.
     
  4. Mar 20, 2013 at 12:24 PM
    #4
    Seabass

    Seabass I need to go return some videotapes...

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Member:
    #34455
    Messages:
    5,196
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    '06 Sport 4x4
    <insert thief bait here>
    Depends on the amperage of your off-road lights, which are probably too high for the fog relay. Best to use the fog relay to activate another new relay for your other lights.
     
  5. Mar 21, 2013 at 8:05 AM
    #5
    blaks 06 pre

    blaks 06 pre [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Member:
    #91826
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    brandon
    kent,WA
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner
    My Pisa are 110watts together pulling about 10 amps and from another post I read that the relay can handle 15 amps
     
  6. Mar 21, 2013 at 8:08 AM
    #6
    blaks 06 pre

    blaks 06 pre [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Member:
    #91826
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    brandon
    kent,WA
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner
    Yea they had no fogs so I bought a switch and a got a factory relay from the junk yard to test them
     
  7. Mar 21, 2013 at 8:11 AM
    #7
    Jerez

    Jerez SoCal LED Dash Swap

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30488
    Messages:
    15,735
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roderick aka Royer
    Ontario/Chino Area (CALI)
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD ESport DCLB
    Half LT dont count
    Ya iirc, the stock relay is 15 amps with a either 10 or 15 amp fuse

    Alot of guys who run aftermarket lights when they add a tube or plate bumper and just wire them into their stock wiring/relay/switch.
     
  8. Mar 21, 2013 at 8:24 AM
    #8
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,925
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You can use the stock relay to run those lights but do not oversize the fuse. The stock fog light fuse I believe is only a 10A fuse. The fuse will blow before you have any issues with the relay.

    There are 2 members local to me who have tried to run PIAA 510 lights off the stock fog light wiring. One was successful, the other one keeps blowing fuses. The PIAA's draw 9.2A so you're right at the upper limit of what the stock 10A fuse will handle. I've got 2 pairs of PIAA 520 lights, one will run on a 10A fuse, the other pair won't so it'll be hit or miss whether your stock fog light wiring will work for your lights.
     
  9. Mar 21, 2013 at 8:39 AM
    #9
    Seabass

    Seabass I need to go return some videotapes...

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Member:
    #34455
    Messages:
    5,196
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    '06 Sport 4x4
    <insert thief bait here>
    I tried to run my PIAA fogs off of that factory fog light circuit and I popped it immediately. Had to wire them into my Blu-Sea fuse block and just use the fog circuit as the trigger only.
     
To Top