1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Can the alternator keep up???

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by CrazyDiamond, Apr 18, 2013.

  1. Apr 18, 2013 at 5:09 AM
    #1
    CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Member:
    #98956
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 TRD / DC / SB
    I'm installing an 800W monoblock (80 amp fuse), and a 4 channel 300W Alpine amp (50 amp fuse). My basic math skills tell me that is potentially 130 amps at full draw (rare). If I draw 75% of this max possible load, that is close to 100 amps - which is a lot of current.

    Can the alternators in our Tacos keep up? Is there anyone running a similar setup that can comment? I have aV6 with the outlet in the bed (thought I read during my searches that the taco's with outlets got a bigger alt(?)).

    I've killed alternators before with lesser systems - I just want to do it right up front to avoid extra cost later.
     
  2. Apr 18, 2013 at 5:24 AM
    #2
    acdronin

    acdronin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    If you have the tow package then you have the 140 amp alternator, I have about 80 amps in lights on my truck and from what I have been told, the alternator can handle it (and so far it has for the last year) but it's tough on batteries and the alternator. The impression I got is that it will "shorten the life of the alternator", by what amount, I don't know, this is what the dealership told me. I take it your not going to be driving around at 1100 watts all the time or even 800 all the time so you should be fine at least for the foreseeable future but if you want to be 'industrial-grade' sure, then either see if an alternator shop can rebuild it for a higher output or buy a higher-output one.
     
  3. Apr 18, 2013 at 5:40 AM
    #3
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    15,986
    Gender:
    Male
    Carry a spare alternator with you, and always have a fully charged 400A jump starter.
     
  4. Apr 18, 2013 at 5:52 AM
    #4
    CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Member:
    #98956
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 TRD / DC / SB
    LOL, this is not the vote of confidence I had hoped for...
     
  5. Apr 18, 2013 at 10:25 AM
    #5
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,259
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes it can keep up.. I run a 600watt mono and a 400watt (a/b) 4 channel, never drop below 13.75 volts, I do have the 140watt alt.
     
  6. Apr 18, 2013 at 10:55 AM
    #6
    CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Member:
    #98956
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 TRD / DC / SB
    Ok, thanks guys. Glad to hear that I have the 140 A alternator with my towing package. No, I won't be driving the system too hard - I'm more into SQL than SPL.

    I'm planning on running a 0 gauge line to the amps in order to support a 130 Amp breaker - just to be safe. It's probably overkill, but when in doubt make it stout.
     
  7. Apr 18, 2013 at 8:53 PM
    #7
    acdronin

    acdronin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    Cool man, let us know how it goes:)
     
To Top