1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Can TPMS psi be displayed?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by OutDoorMoto, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. Jan 5, 2012 at 5:46 AM
    #1
    OutDoorMoto

    OutDoorMoto [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Member:
    #66852
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Upstate NY
    Vehicle:
    11 2WD 2.7l
    Hi All, I was wondering if there were any readers that would display the individual tire pressures. If we have this junk in our tires and trucks, it would be nice to get more out of it!
     
  2. Jan 5, 2012 at 5:59 AM
    #2
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I don't believe there is any way to get a PSI read out from the sensors. They monitor pressure differential from a set point and turn on a light when a sensor malfunctions or one of the tires falls out of the acceptable range. No pressure read out although that would be a neat feature.

    Welcome from a former Upstate New Yorker!
     
  3. Jan 5, 2012 at 6:08 AM
    #3
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    you can see the pressures with a diagnostic tech tool but i do not believe there is an option to see it on the gauges or display. my buddy has a launch control tool and it reads the pressures(among a million other things), it's a pretty neat tool, he just reset one of my tpms sensors last week when i had to replace it. bad news is the tool isn't cheap, although you may be able to find something that works through the obd2 port like his scan tool does.

    keep us updated
     
  4. Jan 5, 2012 at 6:18 AM
    #4
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    20,184
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm pretty curious as well, the system knows when one tire is low depending on how it's calibrated.
     
  5. Jan 5, 2012 at 6:19 AM
    #5
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Your buddies diagonstic tool plugs into the OBD2 port and could read tire pressures?? A Scangauge or Ultragauge should be able to pull them if that's the case. I'll have to play with the UG and see if it will pull them up...
     
  6. Jan 5, 2012 at 6:25 AM
    #6
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    20,184
    Gender:
    Male
  7. Jan 5, 2012 at 9:35 AM
    #7
    Thundjet

    Thundjet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Member:
    #68756
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012, V6, Sport TRD, Auto, 4 wd
    I know for sure it can be done because both my previous Corvette (01) and my current one (09) shows the exact psi for any tire on the car and it will show them as LF, RR, etc. so the technology has been around to do it for at least 11 years.
     
  8. Jan 5, 2012 at 9:39 AM
    #8
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    That's on a Chevy, my dad's truck does the same. Obviously the technology exists, measuring tire pressure is not difficult. The problem is our trucks aren't equipped read it out without the addition of some aftermarket accessory.
     
  9. Jan 5, 2012 at 9:48 AM
    #9
    bizjettech

    bizjettech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Member:
    #47165
    Messages:
    725
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 MGM DCSB 4x4 TRD OR
    undercover flex bed cover
    my guess is this system is strictly a switch type TPMS. That is when the tire press falls below xx psi, the switch triggers to turn on the light. I dont think the sensors are the type that transmit an exact psi, such as the systems some of the other mfgr are using that show an exact tire press at each tire position.
     
  10. Jan 5, 2012 at 9:49 AM
    #10
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    if you find it on the ultra gauge let us know. my buddies scan/diagnostic tool cost 3 grand so it does a lot more than an ug or scangauge. it doesn't tell you the location of the sensors though, just the readings for each one of them
     
  11. Jan 5, 2012 at 10:24 AM
    #11
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Will do, I'll actually read the user's manual tonight :eek:
     
  12. Jan 6, 2012 at 5:05 AM
    #12
    OutDoorMoto

    OutDoorMoto [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Member:
    #66852
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Upstate NY
    Vehicle:
    11 2WD 2.7l
    Thanks for all the responses everyone! I don't work with the same EEs anymore so i doubt I'll turn it into a project. Love to hear if a ready made solution turns up!
     
  13. Jan 6, 2012 at 5:40 AM
    #13
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I wasn't able to find a way to get the Ultragauge to show the tire pressures. I'm not going to say it can't be done, but with the user manual that comes with it and just messing with the gauge, I couldn't figure it out.
     
  14. Jan 6, 2012 at 5:53 AM
    #14
    shawnd2

    shawnd2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Member:
    #8497
    Messages:
    531
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 TRD Offroad
    I have seen GM cars that do this, which is a neat feature.
    Although I have always wondered how useful it is once you rotate the tires and have to constantly remember the sensors original location or have them reprogrammed everytime you rotate.

    Shawn
     
  15. Jan 6, 2012 at 9:54 AM
    #15
    Thundjet

    Thundjet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Member:
    #68756
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012, V6, Sport TRD, Auto, 4 wd

    Just to toss it out here, but on the Corvettes they have different sized tires for the front and back and the tires are directional so they are designed not to be rotated.
    Still, I think this feature is more of a gimmick than anything. I for one wish they would do away with TPMS cause it sure screws up trying to add another set of winter tires/wheels!
     
  16. Jan 6, 2012 at 10:06 AM
    #16
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You can remove the LED from the dash and be done with it if you don't care if the system works. Others have made a PVC pressure vessel and put their sensors in it, metal zip tied to the frame or in one of the storage compartments so the light would stay off.
     
  17. Jan 6, 2012 at 12:59 PM
    #17
    Whitster

    Whitster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Member:
    #63656
    Messages:
    341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Whit
    Golden, CO
    Vehicle:
    '09 AC w/SR5 & TRD, 6' bed
    Sure a shame the Taco engineers haven't figured out how to get PSI readouts on the 5 wheels. Maybe they should go over to GM and others to see how they did it. Lexus doesn't have it either...probably same engineers.

    Kind of disappointed in the limited Customizations available on Tacos too.
    There are only 4...

    1. Eng oil maintenance data - where you can change the interval of oil change notifications.

    2. Tire pressure warning system - setting new limits.

    3. Wireless remote control - to beep or not to beep.

    4. Seat belt chime - can be done with selective button pushing on ODO.


    The first three have to be done by dealer with their laptop.

    Their Avalon has about 20 parameters that can be configured for customer preferences. Lexus LS460 has over two pages of options.

    Maybe that's what we pay the extra $8K for.

    Whit
     
To Top