1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

can you easily diable the TPMS light

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by brianbmw, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. Apr 27, 2011 at 5:48 AM
    #1
    brianbmw

    brianbmw [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Member:
    #55235
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Ashland, MA
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD Sport
    If i get new wheels is there an easy way to diasble the TPMS light?

    Brian
     
  2. Apr 27, 2011 at 5:52 AM
    #2
    crf69

    crf69 scraping my emblems off my plasti-dip

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Member:
    #37348
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR BSP cab'n 1/2
    ummm yeah
    your new wheels should accomadate TPMS
     
  3. Apr 27, 2011 at 6:07 AM
    #3
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,974
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Make a pressure vessel using 4" PVC and sealed ends with a valve stem, put your old TPMS sensors in there, and inflate to proper tire pressure and reset the light. Keep this in the truck or use a metal tie to attach it to the frame under the truck or in the bed. It will keep the light off on the dash and you'll still have the sensors if you ever decide to use them.

    You can also use a wheel barrel tire for this.
     
  4. Apr 27, 2011 at 7:22 AM
    #4
    1Biggerwoody

    1Biggerwoody Better to be a Smart Ass than a Dumb Ass

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Member:
    #54115
    Messages:
    255
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    That Guy
    Winter-Peg, Manitoba, Canada
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport Double Cab
    Pugga you have any pictures of this set up?
     
  5. Apr 27, 2011 at 7:28 AM
    #5
    flightcancled

    flightcancled Addicted

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30917
    Messages:
    1,470
    Gender:
    Male
    Syracuse NY/ Nantucket MA
    Camper top with racks, Custom fogs behind lower bumper. Interior LED lighting, Rock Lights, Hella 500s with upraged bulbs behind black billet grill, AAL, Front 5100s
    Search is your friend. There are a number of ways to turn off the idiot light including cutting power to the TMPS computer, or removing the LED from the display.
     
  6. Apr 27, 2011 at 7:28 AM
    #6
    bama trd

    bama trd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Member:
    #34371
    Messages:
    261
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tacoma X-Cab 4x4
    K&N Cold Air Intake , Plasti-dip Bumpers , Painted tool box , Roll on Bedliner , Blacked out Emblems , Tinted Windows , Aftermarket CD player , Bed Linered Fender Flares
    I disconnected my light , instead of installing a wheel under the rear or taping over the light. Search "Disabled my TPMS on my 2008" ,I have pics and instructions.
     
  7. Apr 27, 2011 at 7:36 AM
    #7
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,974
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I do not, I didn't do it and still have all the sensors in my wheels. There was a write up a long time ago but I couldn't find it! You basically buy a short 4" or 6" PVC piece, 2 end caps and a standard tire fill valve. Drill one of the end caps for the valve, place the 4 sensors inside the PVC pipe, seal up both ends and put some air in the system. Then you reset the TPMS to that pressure and as long as it's in the truck, the light will stay off. You can do this with a wheel barrel tire also, just break the tire off the rim, put the sensors in the tire, remount and fill it up.

    Another option is wheel straps. They strap the sensors to the center of the wheel and allow you to use standard valves to fill the tires. It's basically a big hose clamp that holes the sensor to the wheel. This allows the sensors to remain functional in the aftermarket wheels.
     
  8. Apr 27, 2011 at 9:50 AM
    #8
    lvlytaco

    lvlytaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Member:
    #44328
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Allan
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    Got Lip?
    6" procomp basic lift, alpine dbl din, 9" headrest screens, mb quart components, jl amp, yellow top battery, wet okole seat covers all around
    i have my tires in the back yard and as long as the tires are near by it wont trip the light. if the light comes on just be sure ur near the tires when it blinks and searches for them again. i had my sensors off for 6 months now
     
  9. Apr 27, 2011 at 9:54 AM
    #9
    AC13JohnG

    AC13JohnG Señor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53087
    Messages:
    312
    Gender:
    Male
    216
    Vehicle:
    Black 5 lug
    Just turn the sensor 180 when installing them on the new wheels. The only thing you have to be careful about is when installing new tires you'll have to drop the sensors into the tire before breaking the bead.
     
  10. Apr 27, 2011 at 10:02 AM
    #10
    brianbmw

    brianbmw [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Member:
    #55235
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Ashland, MA
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD Sport
    I know they will go in my new wheels. I'm just thinking my stock take offs will be worth more if i leave the TPMS in them. I ride motorcycles so i'm used to checking my tire pressure often and don't really se any point in having the monitors in my new wheels.

    Brian
     
To Top