1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

cannot figure out how to get torque converter loose from flywheel

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by b.samuels, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. Apr 14, 2012 at 1:15 PM
    #1
    b.samuels

    b.samuels [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Member:
    #76913
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    brandon
    nashville
    Vehicle:
    white 2000 yota sr5 4x4
    well ive ben doin a motor swap on my yota since i threw a rod in it and ive got everything disconnected but the torque converter and y im asking how to do this is because i have no space because the rack and pinion are in the way and the front axle as well the only opening i c is the pass side of motor between rack and axle and its only 2 to 3 inches wide wat do i do
     
  2. Apr 14, 2012 at 4:43 PM
    #2
    4WD

    4WD cRaZy oLdmAn

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Member:
    #19185
    Messages:
    23,950
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Lakeside, Ca / Gardnerville, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    No Truck..well, maybe
    Grey wire MOD, deck plate, diff breather MOD, 2nd gen. OME 883# on Tundra 5100's, OMD custom 3" leafsprings, rear shock relocation, Ivan Stewart TRD rims w/285/75/16's, '02 bumper MOD, Famous Fabrications sliders , LED interior/exterior lights, bed bar, Custom tube bumper, Old school KC day lighters,Red Ring 8" HID flood, Kenwood vhf 2M.. umm some other shit I'm forgetting right now

    You're going to love this.....

    Toyota recommends that the 4x front diff/axle assem. be loosened &/or removed to gain access to said auto trans R&R...

    Fucking wonderful huh..... FML !!!! AGAIN...:facepalm:

    I'm facing the same 'cause my trans shit itself... sux for both of us dude....
     
  3. Apr 14, 2012 at 9:26 PM
    #3
    G scott04

    G scott04 ...

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Member:
    #49443
    Messages:
    4,885
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Garrett
    Mesa
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner
    Get yourself together! then pull the inspection plate off, it'll free up some more room, then use a wrench or a socket and driver if it will fit, I had no trouble getting a closed wrench on the bolts, then get a buddy with a large breaker bar on the pulley to turn the motor, there should be one green or colored bolt head make sure you know where that goes and then there should be six total bolts holding it on. good luck! :thumbsup:
     
  4. Apr 14, 2012 at 9:51 PM
    #4
    4WD

    4WD cRaZy oLdmAn

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Member:
    #19185
    Messages:
    23,950
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Lakeside, Ca / Gardnerville, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    No Truck..well, maybe
    Grey wire MOD, deck plate, diff breather MOD, 2nd gen. OME 883# on Tundra 5100's, OMD custom 3" leafsprings, rear shock relocation, Ivan Stewart TRD rims w/285/75/16's, '02 bumper MOD, Famous Fabrications sliders , LED interior/exterior lights, bed bar, Custom tube bumper, Old school KC day lighters,Red Ring 8" HID flood, Kenwood vhf 2M.. umm some other shit I'm forgetting right now

    Yeah but you don't have a front diff & assorted 4x shit to deal with......

    I think you just need to get your ass over here & show me.......:p
     
To Top