1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

can't adjust sub level

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Gieser, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. Oct 26, 2010 at 11:48 AM
    #1
    Gieser

    Gieser [OP] Official Flatlander

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39110
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    MB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 tundra yamaha edition
    scion Head Unit and magnaflow muffler...so far
    ok so installed my sub and now the only way i can adjust the power is by turning up or down the bass level. the sub setting on my deck is on and it still does nothing at all.
    i dont know what to do but heres a pick of the amp settings. so maybe i set it wrong. also it is a two channel amp bridged to my sub

    [​IMG]

    please help if you can.

    thanks
     
  2. Oct 26, 2010 at 2:05 PM
    #2
    Killer

    Killer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Member:
    #37417
    Messages:
    592
    Gender:
    Male
    Mobile, Al.
    Vehicle:
    98 4x4 TRD V6 3.4L SR5 XCab Gold with Tan Int
    19,000 Original Miles, Factory Alarm, Factory Tow Package, Low Profile UWS Black Tool Box, 20ft. of Dynamat Xtreme, Pioneer Double Din DVD 3200BT, IPod Holder, Q Form Kick Panels, 3 Pairs of MB Quart component speakers, JL Audio Stealthbox, Alpine PDX-5 amp, PIAA Foglights, WeatherTech Floor Mats, Maxxis Big Horn Mud Tires 32 x 11.5 R x 15, Wet Okole Seat Cover for 60/40 Bench, 5100's Front & Rear, Wheeler's Single Leaf AAL, Warn 8,000 Winch, Warn Transformer Brush Guard, Stebel Nautilus Compact Horn
    I am guessing that amp is getting its input by speaker level jacks off of your head unit? I am guessing this because Line Input RCA look blocked off.

    If my guess is right, the sub setting on your Head Unit is not going to work.

    Normally you hook the amp up with RCA cables from the Sub Out on your Head Unit to the Line Input. Then for a starting spot turn your LPF to about 80 hz. Then adjust the sub level until it blends in with your other speakers by using the level knob.

    I also recommend turning the Bass EQ to zero db.

    If you need anymore help, please tell us more about how your stereo is hook up. Ohm level of the sub, does the sub have one voice coil or two voice coils and a picture of the what wires out of the amp you are using to bridge it (since the Mode Switch is in stereo)
     
  3. Oct 26, 2010 at 2:13 PM
    #3
    xroller

    xroller Blowin by em sideways

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36060
    Messages:
    2,356
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma Xrunner Speedway Blue
    1 hp mod
    First off - Is your switch set to LPF or HPF? I can't tell by the pic. Either way it will have to be set to LPF unless you have a crossover and are connecting it to your mids and highs

    2nd - Change your Bass EQ to middle, Next set your LPF (this is what gives you bass) HPF sets your voice and mids sound. Turn your level down to about 1/4 until you have the previous 2 set then you can up the level which will raise the entire sound quality.

    3rd - The bridge connection i'm guessing is speaker wire from (+) channel 1 and (-) channel 2 leading to your (+) and (-) of your subwoofer correct?
     
  4. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:08 PM
    #4
    Gieser

    Gieser [OP] Official Flatlander

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39110
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    MB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 tundra yamaha edition
    scion Head Unit and magnaflow muffler...so far
    so if i plug the rca cables into the other ports it should work?

    it was on hpf so ill change that

    and yes ill make the other ajustments suggested.

    its only an 8" with a jenson 400 amp.
     
  5. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:10 PM
    #5
    xroller

    xroller Blowin by em sideways

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36060
    Messages:
    2,356
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma Xrunner Speedway Blue
    1 hp mod
    are you getting sound? I'm guessing you are not.... Line in is where those RCA cables should go if they are coming from your deck....
     
  6. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:17 PM
    #6
    Gieser

    Gieser [OP] Official Flatlander

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39110
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    MB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 tundra yamaha edition
    scion Head Unit and magnaflow muffler...so far
    i am getting sound just not alot. so i figured something was wrong. ill go try this right away

    thanks!!!
     
  7. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:28 PM
    #7
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    1) As others have said, put the RCA's where it says "in"
    2) Set the crossover switch to LPF
    3) Set the dial on the LPF to the 9 o'clock position
    4) Turn that bass EQ dial all the way down.
    5) Set the Level to the point where it blends well with the system.
     
  8. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:31 PM
    #8
    mrp192

    mrp192 REALLY!!

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Member:
    #13911
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    Cheney WA
    Vehicle:
    98 V6 4x4 limited
    Stereo, boobies
    +1
     
  9. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:31 PM
    #9
    Gieser

    Gieser [OP] Official Flatlander

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39110
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    MB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 tundra yamaha edition
    scion Head Unit and magnaflow muffler...so far
    did all this just now with no change.
    it seems to only adjust with the bass with the speakers
     
  10. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:37 PM
    #10
    Gieser

    Gieser [OP] Official Flatlander

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39110
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    MB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 tundra yamaha edition
    scion Head Unit and magnaflow muffler...so far
    got no idea what it is now. :confused: any suggestions.
     
  11. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:38 PM
    #11
    xroller

    xroller Blowin by em sideways

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36060
    Messages:
    2,356
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma Xrunner Speedway Blue
    1 hp mod
    we need to see the other connections... is the sub or amp even turning on?
     
  12. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:41 PM
    #12
    Gieser

    Gieser [OP] Official Flatlander

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39110
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    MB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 tundra yamaha edition
    scion Head Unit and magnaflow muffler...so far
    ya the fuse is lit up so there is power going there
     
  13. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:51 PM
    #13
    xroller

    xroller Blowin by em sideways

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36060
    Messages:
    2,356
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma Xrunner Speedway Blue
    1 hp mod
    is your sub working?
     
  14. Oct 26, 2010 at 5:15 PM
    #14
    Gieser

    Gieser [OP] Official Flatlander

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39110
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    MB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 tundra yamaha edition
    scion Head Unit and magnaflow muffler...so far
    yes you can definetly hear it
     
  15. Oct 26, 2010 at 5:27 PM
    #15
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Touch the cone and confirm you can feel it moving.
     
  16. Oct 26, 2010 at 5:31 PM
    #16
    Gieser

    Gieser [OP] Official Flatlander

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39110
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    MB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 tundra yamaha edition
    scion Head Unit and magnaflow muffler...so far
    ya definently on but not that loud
     
  17. Oct 26, 2010 at 5:51 PM
    #17
    81shark

    81shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10567
    Messages:
    1,680
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Base Access CP1
    On the stereo, are the rca's hooked up to the sub out
     
  18. Oct 26, 2010 at 6:27 PM
    #18
    xroller

    xroller Blowin by em sideways

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36060
    Messages:
    2,356
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma Xrunner Speedway Blue
    1 hp mod
    WE NEED MORE PICS!!.... pics of the amp connections preferably
     
  19. Oct 26, 2010 at 6:31 PM
    #19
    RAT PRODUCTS

    RAT PRODUCTS RAT Products

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    13,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    01 CUMTOY and 16 Sierra Denali
    View the build. Too much to list.
    I would also switch it from stereo to mono in you are only running one sub off it.
     
  20. Oct 26, 2010 at 8:00 PM
    #20
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Something is fishy...

    You were getting sound from the subwoofer when the RCA's were plugged into the OUT section? That just doesn't make sense.
     
To Top