1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cant get ipod to play

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by umbach, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. Aug 1, 2010 at 8:39 AM
    #1
    umbach

    umbach [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Member:
    #40328
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    10 dbl cab TRD sport
    I have a 2010 taco. In process of installing wiring harness. I have followed directions to a T. However, when I plug in my ipod nothing happens. Doesnt matter what I try. Any thoughts would be appreciated as I currently have the dash apart and cannot figure out what to do differently.
     
  2. Aug 1, 2010 at 8:40 AM
    #2
    j1999t

    j1999t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17165
    Messages:
    820
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Northern Colorado
    Vehicle:
    traded it in
    do you have the satellite radio option? if you do, you cant install the ipod adapter
     
  3. Aug 1, 2010 at 8:43 AM
    #3
    paintdiddy

    paintdiddy Machine gun shits

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9924
    Messages:
    10,307
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    shithead
    nj and not from "the jersey shore"
    Vehicle:
    silver bullet
    i thought you could use either the satellitle OR the ipod adaptor???
     
  4. Aug 1, 2010 at 9:12 AM
    #4
    umbach

    umbach [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Member:
    #40328
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    10 dbl cab TRD sport
    I do have the satellite radio option and the way I understood it was that you could use either or. Maybe I should try and figure out if one of the pre outs is the sat plug and unplug it to see.

    Any chance my ipod could be to old? Not more than a couple years but I'm not sure what generation it is.
     
  5. Aug 1, 2010 at 9:16 AM
    #5
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    4,272
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 F150
    More info is needed. What are you trying to install? What ipod do you have?
    What is the audio option for your truck?
     
  6. Aug 1, 2010 at 11:08 AM
    #6
    umbach

    umbach [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Member:
    #40328
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    10 dbl cab TRD sport
    I have installed the factory made ipod interface module that I ordered from toyota. I have an ipod classic. My audio option is the JBL upgraded package with the xm satellite, 6 disc cd changer, sub, and bluetooth, all controlled from either the deck or the steering wheel.
     
  7. Aug 1, 2010 at 11:15 AM
    #7
    03coma

    03coma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Member:
    #203
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB TRD, SR5
    Toyota TRD Pro Grille, Skid Plate, ARE Series II Lid,
    You know I heard that the I-Pod adapter does not work with the 6 disc changer. I would check into that more if I was you.
     
  8. Aug 1, 2010 at 11:56 AM
    #8
    umbach

    umbach [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Member:
    #40328
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    10 dbl cab TRD sport
    More in depth reading/surfing is not looking good. Looks like the either xm or ipod is indeed the case. However, you have to get a factory headunit that does not already have the xm installed. Because once the xm has been installed, even though there is a place for the interface cable to plug in, it doesn't work!! So, anyone want to buy a discounted interface setup?!! Say $200 and ship for free?? I'll do some checking with my dealer mon or tuesday to find out for sure.......
     
To Top